Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

What is the "DEBIAN WAY"?

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
edbarx

What is the "DEBIAN WAY"?

#1 Post by edbarx »

I have been using Debian for at least 8 months now, although I have been experimenting with it for more than 2 years. However, I haven't installed anything using the mysterious debian way! I fear that, if I install a package that way, I may not be able to remove it afterwards!

I think, the so mysterious debian way, has to do with commands like:

Code: Select all

./configure
make install
Am I right? I think, I am not...
Debian == { > 30, 000 packages }; Debian != systemd
The worst infection of all, is a false sense of security!
It is hard to get away from CLI tools.

Lavene
Site admin
Site admin

#2 Post by Lavene »

The mysterious Debian way is using apt-get/ aptitude/ synaptic

edbarx

#3 Post by edbarx »

So, I am already using it. :D

Lavene
Site admin
Site admin

#4 Post by Lavene »

:D

rickh

#5 Post by rickh »

Of course, the "Debian Way" is also a philosophical and historical mindset which, like all philosophies, can lead to disagreements.
Debian-Lenny/Sid 32/64
Desktop: Generic Core 2 Duo, EVGA 680i, Nvidia
Laptop: Generic Intel SIS/AC97

souneedalink

#6 Post by souneedalink »

the debian way - no quick shortcuts today that leads to problems tommorrow, take the long way and do it right

the debian way - purchased bread is fine ONLY IF you know how to make your own if needed

the debian way - sustenance before style

Mikuro

#7 Post by Mikuro »

souneedalink wrote:the debian way - no quick shortcuts today that leads to problems tommorrow, take the long way and do it right