More ATI/Mesa problems

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

More ATI/Mesa problems

Postby superstubby » 2008-06-16 17:41

Hi, relative noob here...

I had been running Etch on a AMD64 with Radeon X1650 and ALSA supported audio card. I bought a laptop and had issues with hardware in Etch. So, I decided to upgrade to Lenny. I noticed a big difference as a majority of my hardware worked "out of the box". So, I decided I would upgrade my main computer (AMD64 listed above) to Lenny x86. Didn't have any problems on the first install. Got all the drivers loaded and working well. A kernel update came down the line and I had to reinstall all the drivers again, no problems. However, after a month or so, I noticed in the gnome system monitor that it was only recognizing one of two cores and only 1GB of 2GB memory. I found a similar problem somewhere in this forum which suggested recompiling the kernel with hardware specific options enabled. Had no problems there either. Both cores are now recognized and all available RAM is recognized. I got the ALSA driver running again, but I can't get the fglrx driver properly installed.

I realized this is a similar thread to many others. But none of the other fixes seems to be working for me. The last time the kernel went from 2.22 to 2.24 all I had to do was run the module assistant and everything was fine. Now, it's not working.

Please, forgive any missing information....

Code: Select all
fglrxinfo
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: Mesa project: www.mesa3d.org
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect
OpenGL version string: 1.4 (2.1 Mesa 7.0.3)

m-a prepare
Getting source for kernel version: 2.6.24-custom1
Kernel headers available in /usr/src/linux-headers-2.6.24-custom1
apt-get install build-essential
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
build-essential is already the newest version.