[SOLVED] No Sound with Testing

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

[SOLVED] No Sound with Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-07-31 15:33

I have the 2.6.25-2-686 kernel installed on my Compaq N600c laptop and have read many How To's, the ALSA Project website data but to no avail. Alas, still no sound. Below is the result of several terminal queries:

# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82830 830 Chipset Host Bridge (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82830 830 Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #1 (rev 01)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #2 (rev 01)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801CA/CAM USB Controller #3 (rev 01)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 41)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801CAM ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev 01)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801CAM IDE U100 Controller (rev 01)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon Mobility M6 LY
02:03.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1420 PC card Cardbus Controller
02:03.1 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCI1420 PC card Cardbus Controller
02:04.0 Communication controller: Agere Systems LT WinModem (rev 02)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82801CAM (ICH3) PRO/100 VM (KM) Ethernet Controller (rev 41)
02:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)


# modinfo soundcore
filename: /lib/modules/2.6.25-2-686/kernel/sound/soundcore.ko
alias: char-major-14-*
license: GPL
author: Alan Cox
description: Core sound module
depends:
vermagic: 2.6.25-2-686 SMP mod_unload 686


# cat /proc/asound/cards
--- no soundcards ---


# lspci | egrep -i audio
02:09.0 Multimedia audio controller: ESS Technology ES1988 Allegro-1 (rev 12)


From the ALSA Project

The module options for snd-maestro3
description: 
ESS Maestro3 PCI
author: 
Zach Brown, Takashi Iwai
license:
GPL
parm: 
index:Index value for ESS Maestro3/Allegro/Canyon3D-2 soundcard. (array of int)
parm: 
id:ID string for ESS Maestro3/Allegro/Canyon3D-2 soundcard. (array of charp)
parm: 
enable:Enable this soundcard. (array of bool)
parm: 
external_amp:Enable external amp for ESS Maestro3/Allegro/Canyon3D-2 soundcard. (array of bool)


# modprobe -l |grep maestro3
/lib/modules/2.6.25-2-686/kernel/sound/pci/snd-maestro3.ko

I have run <alsaconf> several times but still can't get any sound. Can anyone out there help?
Last edited by m_vrik on 2008-12-02 02:56, edited 1 time in total.
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby freek » 2008-07-31 16:44

no support in lenny kernel for ESS Allegro/Maestro3 .. install alsa-firmware

http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=464191

succes, Freek
there's no business like .. your own business ..
User avatar
freek
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2007-04-03 01:36
Location: Nederland

No Sound with Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-07-31 18:23

Freek,

I loaded <alsa-firmware-loaders> from the Debian packages contrib repository as there was no <alsa-firmware>. That didn't seem to change anything nor fix the lack of sound. When I look for any reference to sound statements in the kernel config file, I can't find any references to "CONFIG_SND_MAESTRO3_FIRMWARE_IN_KERNEL."

When I try to test the sound under Preferences/Sound I get the following error message:

"audiotestsrc wave=sine freq=512 ! audioconvert ! audioresample !
gconfaudiosink profile=music: Could not open audio device for
playback."

Can you think of anything else? Thanks!
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby freek » 2008-07-31 19:43

they say you have to use the alsa-firmware

direct link:
ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/firmware ... 16.tar.bz2

be happy, Freek
there's no business like .. your own business ..
User avatar
freek
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2007-04-03 01:36
Location: Nederland

No Sound with Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-07-31 20:05

Freek,

OK, I've got alsa-firmware 1.0.16 bz2 tarball on my desktop. I know how to unzip it but I'm not sure what to do with it from there?
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby freek » 2008-07-31 20:31

--quote--

Get the firmware package

ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/firmware ... 16.tar.bz2

and run ./configure && make && make install

After this you should have the following files present:

/lib/firmware/ess/maestro3_assp_kernel.fw
/lib/firmware/ess/maestro3_assp_minisrc.fw

Then, run rmmod snd_maestro3 and modprobe snd_maestro3 again.

--end quote--

this should do it ....
there's no business like .. your own business ..
User avatar
freek
 
Posts: 73
Joined: 2007-04-03 01:36
Location: Nederland

No Sound with Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-07-31 21:27

Freek,

I'm almost there, but not quite. After configuring alsa-firmware (configure, make, make install) I do have the two files (/lib/firmware/ess/...) and I then ran rmmod snd_maestro3 and modprobe snd_maestro3 in the root directory. Now, in the desktop Preferences/Sound dropdown menu, I get a test tone in all categories and through alsamixer I can adjust the sound volume. I was able to play a (.wmv) file in an email. However, my sound icon on the gnome desktop shows an "x" and I cannot play system sounds (not a big deal, but I wonder why)? By the way, I have ESD ckecked on the Preferences/Sound tab. If you have any other ideas please pass them on. I really appreciate your help.
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby kontagion » 2008-11-11 23:13

I've been trying to get the same up and going with an HP omnibook XE3. Thank you for the firmware heads up. Yet I am still getting the following:

modprobe says:

FATAL: Error inserting snd_maestro3 (/lib/modules/2.6.26-1-686/kernel/sound/pci/snd-maestro3.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)

and dmesg says:

[22386.142697] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_resume
[22386.142731] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_resume
[22386.143746] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_mixer
[22386.143752] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_mixer
[22386.143958] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_bus
[22386.143964] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_bus
[22386.144676] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_suspend
[22386.144684] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_suspend
[22386.146830] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_write
[22386.146836] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_write
[22386.280652] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_resume
[22386.280678] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_resume
[22386.281696] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_mixer
[22386.281702] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_mixer
[22386.281909] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_bus
[22386.281914] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_bus
[22386.282538] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_suspend
[22386.282544] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_suspend
[22386.284754] snd_maestro3: disagrees about version of symbol snd_ac97_write
[22386.284762] snd_maestro3: Unknown symbol snd_ac97_write

This is getting frustrating :(
kontagion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-11-11 23:04
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

No Sound With Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-11-14 01:11

Kontagion,
I have never got my sound to work satisfactory with my Compaq N600c. However, I have got it partially working with the info from "Freek" above on a newer laptop, a DELL 1420. I'm still struggling with the Compaq when I have the time and energy, which is not every day. Sorry, that I don't have an anwser for you.
m_vrik
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby kontagion » 2008-11-14 16:23

No worries, I'm looking for a solution on my own and poking the computer every now and then. I've been searching and searching in google for leads this is the only thing that came up with some ounce of hope, pointing me in directions I would've missed.

So having the problem "out there" and sharing is all I can do for now, until I can share the solution - that is if I ever find it.

But it seems you've made more progress than I have, as you had the chance to load the modules.

Best of luck.
kontagion
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-11-11 23:04
Location: Istanbul, Turkey

Postby RawMustard » 2008-11-15 03:54

Why don't you try OSS4.1

Worked a treat for me.
User avatar
RawMustard
 
Posts: 119
Joined: 2008-09-15 12:06

No Sound With Testing

Postby m_vrik » 2008-12-02 02:54

Kontagion,
I got the sound to work on by Compaq N600c with Freek's suggestions. The problem was that I needed to install "esound" in addition to the alsa files. Also, on this laptop I have to start the sounds with one of the buttons on the front of the laptop, otherwise all sounds are muted.
m_vrik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: 2007-09-13 21:13

Postby Eck » 2008-12-02 05:11

You got the card going through alsa so now, for Gnome system notification sounds, it is purely a specific package problem.

It has been found by myself and many that installing libesd-alsa0 will remove the default libesd0, replacing it with the version that will play the Gnome system sounds. Once it's installed, maybe a logout and in could be needed, the X's in that control panel will be gone and the sounds will be able to be activated normally. And they'll work.

Installing the esound package isn't necessary.
Lenovo z560 Laptop Nvidia GeForce 310m Hitachi 500GB HD Intel HD Audio 4GB RAM
Eck
 
Posts: 738
Joined: 2007-06-27 16:13

Postby billj » 2009-01-25 02:02

I wish I could find the post that fix this for me on a Compaq EVO N600c. I'd like to give the user a thanks.

What worked was:

#apt-get remove alsa*
#apt-get install alsa-utils alsa-base
#alsaconf

That wildcard is needed.

I had previously added the /lib/firmware files but it was still no go at that point.

billj
billj
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 2009-01-25 01:54

Re: [SOLVED] No Sound with Testing

Postby N4RPS » 2014-02-10 13:04

Hello, All!

This got MY sound going: https://wiki.debian.org/snd-maestro3

Afterwards, in LXDE, I installed the volume control applet to the toolbar, logged out and back in, and the volume control is now present.

Hope this can help someone else who's searching for it, as I had to...

73 DE N4RPS
Rob
N4RPS
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-02-10 12:57


Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable