prob with SPM

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

prob with SPM

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-25 17:34

after the internet at my school shut down due to power failure, i was only able to download half a file. when i go to system package m.. i am unable to do anything.... this is all i see

E: dpkg was interrupted, you must manually run 'dpkg --configure -a' to correct the problem.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report.

what do i do to correct this? never done this before and i dont want to mess up my computer.
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college

Postby industrialpunk » 2008-09-25 17:52

have you tried what the error message says?

run 'dpkg --configure -a'
-Josh Willingham
User avatar
industrialpunk
 
Posts: 733
Joined: 2007-03-07 22:30
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-25 20:03

dont know how
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college

Postby industrialpunk » 2008-09-25 22:18

1. Open a terminal some how. Its usually called "terminal" in the menu.

2. Type 'su' hit enter, then the administrator password when prompted to get a root prompt

3. at the root prompt run the command

If this is confusing you should slow down and read up on basic linux administration before using Debian.
-Josh Willingham
User avatar
industrialpunk
 
Posts: 733
Joined: 2007-03-07 22:30
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-26 00:38

terminal never stays open longer than a second
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college

Postby industrialpunk » 2008-09-26 19:20

Something is broken then. How exactly are you opening a terminal?

Another way to get to a terminal is to use a virtual terminal.

Hit CTRL+ALT+F1 to get to a virtual terminal and try running the command. Hit CTRL+ALT+F7 to get back to the graphical desktop.
-Josh Willingham
User avatar
industrialpunk
 
Posts: 733
Joined: 2007-03-07 22:30
Location: San Diego, CA, USA

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-27 17:54

thanks ill give it a try, ever since i had the computer the terminal has never worked. i always wondered what was wrong..
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-27 18:02

my administration psw. is not working.
i tried that and my root password.
i typed slow to insure correct spelling so i know they are correct...?
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college

Postby RAMACE » 2008-09-27 19:54

my mistake got psw working, however it dosent recognize su or is it
'su' or su
RAMACE
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 2008-08-05 18:35
Location: spartan aero......college


Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests

fashionable