I cannot install flash player 10 in iceweasel?

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask

I cannot install flash player 10 in iceweasel?

Postby lego » 2008-10-31 21:46

I don't understand what I am missing...

I want to install the flashplugin for iceweasel. I have done it several times, but it's my first time with the flash player 10:

I go to adobe's downloads site, and I download the .tar.gz file. Extract, and cd into the new directory... and

$ sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins/

no results!

$ sudo cp libflashplayer.so ~./mozilla/plugins/

no results!

$ sudo cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/iceweasel/

no results!

I also tried to run the installer.. no good news.. I also downloaded the .deb file from adobe... I cannot install the flash plugin!!
It has the correct permissions.. what am I missing??

Thank you for the help!
lego
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-01-09 09:43

Postby BioTube » 2008-11-01 03:18

You need it in your home folder, last I checked. chown the copy you put there to your user - there's no reason to put it there as root.
Image
Ludwig von Mises wrote:The elite should be supreme by virtue of persuasion, not by the assistance of firing squads.
User avatar
BioTube
 
Posts: 7551
Joined: 2007-06-01 04:34

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 04:07

I always install flash in 4 easy steps
1. download it from adobe site
2. tar xf installFlashPlayer.tar.gz (or whatever it is called)
3. cd to the folder it extracted to
4. cp libflashplayer.so ~/.mozilla/plugins/

you may have to create ~/.mozilla/plugins/ if it doesn't already exist.

DONE, flash works
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 04:08

NOTE: it seems you have already copied libflashplayer.so to the plugins folder. Use root to delete that first. Otherwise you are apt to get permission errors.
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby lego » 2008-11-01 12:14

I have done the following:
- A brand new installation of debian.
# aptitude install iceweasel ...

Ok, I download the .tar.gz file from adobe, and:
$ tar -xzvf installflashplayer.tar.gz
$ cd installflashplayer
$ cp libflashplayer.so ~./mozilla/plugins/

I restart iceweasel, and in the navigation toolbar I type:
about:plugins.
...No plugins installed!!

The file libflashplayer.so has the right permissions.

I have done many succesful installations of the flash player before, but never for the flash player 10. I don't know if this is a bug, or I am missing something really strange.
Please help!
lego
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-01-09 09:43

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 13:17

go to ~/.mozilla and check that the folder plugins actually exists. On fresh installs it usually doesn't
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby lego » 2008-11-01 14:35

Thats true, I also did

$ mkdir ~.mozilla/plugins

in the above steps.

Do you have flash player 10 installed? No? please try to do the following:

$ mv /path-to-plugins/libflashplayer.so /path-to-plugins/libflashplayer.so~

and then install the flash player 10.
Can you tell me if you are sucessful installing flash player 10?
lego
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-01-09 09:43

Postby Aerial » 2008-11-01 14:56

I just installed it :D

What I did is:
download Flash Player 10 from http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/
in a terminal: #cd **location where you downloaded it**
tar xvzf install_flash_player_10_linux.tar.gz
cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins
and then open flashplayer-installer (double clic on the icon or launch from a terminal)
don't forget to close iceweasel before installing :wink:
Now I can watch Youtube's videos :wink:
Aerial
 
Posts: 37
Joined: 2008-10-31 17:25

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 15:01

lego wrote: Do you have flash player 10 installed? No? please try to do the following:

$ mv /path-to-plugins/libflashplayer.so /path-to-plugins/libflashplayer.so~

and then install the flash player 10.
Can you tell me if you are sucessful installing flash player 10?

Just did that,
rm -fr .mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
restart firefox, flash obviously didn't work.
download it again
followed the steps I mentioned above
restart FF, it works.

For the note, I installed flash player 10 in iceweasel last week and it worked. I have since upgraded to minefield 3.1b2pre, but nothing with flash changed in the upgrade process.
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby lego » 2008-11-01 18:17

It's really strange...
I still can't get it to work. I've tried all the installation methods: just copying the libflasplayer.so file, launching the flashplayer-installer script, the .deb file available,...
I opened the flashplayer-installer script with my editor to see in detail what it does, but essentially if firefox is your default browser it just creates the directory ~/.mozilla/plugins (if it didn't already exists) and cp libflashplayer.so.
I have tried to copy the file both in ~/.mozilla/plugins and in /usr/lib/iceweasel/plugins, and no results until now.

I use a 32 bit computer, with debian 4.0 r5, iceweasel 2.0.017 and fluxbox 0.9.14.
lego
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-01-09 09:43

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 18:22

lego wrote:I use a 32 bit computer, with debian 4.0 r5, iceweasel 2.0.017 and fluxbox 0.9.14.
I was just about to ask if you were using 32 bit or not. iceweasel 2, that may be the cause. I was doing it with iceweasel 3 because I use lenny. If iceweasel 3 is in backports you could try using that, it should fix your issue.
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby lego » 2008-11-01 18:50

Thank you for your patience, I think probably is some iceweasel problem.
I could try to get iceweasel 3 from the backports.. but also I like to have my system "purely stable".
If I don't find any answer in a week, I'll install the iceweasel 3 version from backports.
lego
 
Posts: 56
Joined: 2008-01-09 09:43

Postby 987687 » 2008-11-01 19:07

lego wrote:Thank you for your patience, I think probably is some iceweasel problem.
I could try to get iceweasel 3 from the backports.. but also I like to have my system "purely stable".
If I don't find any answer in a week, I'll install the iceweasel 3 version from backports.
iceweasel 3 is stable, and has been for a while because firefox 3 has been stable for a while. iceweasel 2 is just slow and outdated. But if you want flash on iceweasel 2 you can always use flash 9 which works just fine. If you can't find it anywhere online I bet I still have the installer somewhere, I could email it to you or something.
Desktop - 3.2GHz core2 quad
Laptop - 2.4GHz core2 duo ancient macbook
Bring back the penguin!! http://tinyurl.com/d57jwv
User avatar
987687
 
Posts: 2121
Joined: 2007-06-11 10:58
Location: Vacation Land

Postby Eck » 2008-11-02 03:22

The debian-multimedia.org lenny repo has Adobe Flash 10 now. Their flashplayer-mozilla package installs everything needed automatically. Of course if you want to stay all Etch (Debian Stable) then that wouldn't be the way to go I guess. But even then, as long as that package doesn't have any dependencies upon anything else in lenny (Debian Testing), you could install just that package then comment out the repo.
Lenovo z560 Laptop Nvidia GeForce 310m Hitachi 500GB HD Intel HD Audio 4GB RAM
Eck
 
Posts: 740
Joined: 2007-06-27 16:13

Postby craigevil » 2008-11-02 04:17

There should be a giant RED flashing warning when someone installs stable on a desktop.

"This is a stable release made for servers, if you want bleeding edge programs you need to run testing or Unstable. If not having shiny new apps is OK please click Accept."

99% of the bitching and problems you see concerning stable are about people that want shiny new apps.
Debian Sid KDE Kernel 3.17 Thinkpad R40 Intel M 1.3 CPU 2GB RAM Radeon Mobility 7500
Debian - "If you can't apt-get something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"
Debian upgrade script smxi | sysinfo script inxi
User avatar
craigevil
 
Posts: 5192
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz

Next

Return to General Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

fashionable