[Solved] Grub error 17 on fresh install. Help please?

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[Solved] Grub error 17 on fresh install. Help please?

Postby davidh » 2010-05-13 12:44

I am a Linux Newb but not a pc newb so bear with me.

Have installed Debian 5.0.4 AMD64 bit version on my Pentium D 64 bit system (checked Debians site and it said this was the right version for Intels architecture despite the AMD name).

Tried a number of fresh installations from auto default to advanced and still getting the grub error 17 every boot.

I have two hard drives. One (the master) is IDE and is ntfs formatted with files on it I want to keep. It shows up I believe as hda.
The Linux drive is an SATA drive and has default partitions (in most recent fresh install I made the new Linux root partition only 133 GB but it is still the main and first primary partition on drive two). The Linux drives root part shows as SDA and the partition number 1 contains the / partition.

When I boot I get the following:

Code: Select all
Root (hd1,0)
Filesystem type unknown
Partition type 0x7
Kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.26-2-amd64 root=/dev/sda1 ro
error 17: cannot mount selected partition
Press any key to continue

I know when installing other Linux systems I had to change the grub boot loader location from mbr to the main drive or had to change where Grub installed but as it is Grub is at least loading, it is not Grub2 just standard Grub.

Could someone suggest what I`m doing wrong, I`m a newb but I`m guessing that it is trying to mount the wrong partition and maybe I just need to edit something?