Default sound card

Getting your soundcard to work, using Debian on non-i386 hardware, etc

Default sound card

Postby Chipman » 2011-04-24 23:24

Hi all, am new to the Debian forum but I have used this distribution in the past and the truth is that except for some minor things like I'm going to ask this distribution is my favorite.

My question is about sound cards. I personally listen to the audio I have two sound cards, and ubuntu with the configurator could predetermine one of the two easily, but in Debian I have not found how to do it and hes me very uncomfortable because one of my audio devices unusable .. ..
My question is simple, as I can predetermine again and sound card to the audio sound that I want?
Thank you very much before and greetings.
Image
Chipman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-04-24 23:19

Re: Default sound card

Postby emariz » 2011-04-25 00:02

Can you select the preferred sound card within alsamixer?
emariz
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: 2008-10-17 07:59

Re: Default sound card

Postby Chipman » 2011-04-25 08:50

emariz wrote:Can you select the preferred sound card within alsamixer?

That's what I know because I do not know ....

nullifygirls wrote:I don't understand.
Please explain.


I have two sound cards, one for headphones and one for the speakers. I wish I could predetermine one of them in order to select where to hear the sound ....
In ubuntu I pulseaudio eg, predetermined one of the two cards and she can hear the sound in debian to use alsamixer I do not know how to do and that's my problem.

With pulseaudio I mean this:

Image
Image
Chipman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-04-24 23:19

Re: Default sound card

Postby peter_irich » 2011-04-25 11:55

You can set a soundcards order in alsa configuration files.
Suppose sound card what you want make the default card has driver snd-0,
other card has driver snd-1. Then in /etc/modprobe.d/aliases.conf
it needed place records
Code: Select all
alias snd-card-0 snd-0
alias snd-card-1 snd-1

in /etc/modprobed/alsa-base.conf place records
Code: Select all
options snd-0 index=0
options snd-1 index=1

and restart alsa by command
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/alsa-utils restart


If this actions will be not enough, try create file ~/.asoundrc like
Code: Select all
pcm.!default {
type hw
card 0
}

ctl.!default {
type hw
card 0
}


But I have only one sound cars, I'm not sure that are right.

Peter.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 938
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Default sound card

Postby Chipman » 2011-04-25 16:38

I suppose it will work but not very useful because I usually change several times from card and is very long you are editing a file at a time.
There is no simple choice?
Image
Chipman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-04-24 23:19

Re: Default sound card

Postby peter_irich » 2011-04-25 19:05

Perhaps, create two soundrc files, ~/.soundrc0 and ~/.soundrc1,
in first point card0, in second card1 and when it needed make link
to that what is needed, for example in $HOME
Code: Select all
ln -sf .soundrc0 .soundrc


Peter.
peter_irich
 
Posts: 938
Joined: 2009-09-10 20:15
Location: Saint-Petersburg, Russia

Re: Default sound card

Postby Chipman » 2011-04-25 19:23

I have a question, you could install pulseaudio in Debian to have the configurator and Ubuntu and it work like this?



peter_irich wrote:Perhaps, create two soundrc files, ~/.soundrc0 and ~/.soundrc1,
in first point card0, in second card1 and when it needed make link
to that what is needed, for example in $HOME
Code: Select all
ln -sf .soundrc0 .soundrc


Peter.


It's a good idea, I will prove when you reinstall Debian soon ....
Image
Chipman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2011-04-24 23:19


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

fashionable