upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby fishtoprecords » 2011-07-30 02:08

I have a server that was happily running Lenny. Last reboot was over 100 days ago. So I decided to fix it and install Squeeze.

the upgrade went well, booted into grub. (with the grub2 test menus).

When I login using the console, I get the nice GUI login, and something looks like the graphics world is being setup. The screen goes to a pretty light blue background. But there are no icons, no toolbars, no windows.

I could believe something in the Xconfig is broken, say it thinks I have a much larger screen, and all the icons are off the edges. But that is only a guess.

I've tried both the default grub2 and the old grub menu, no difference.

How do I debug this?

Thanks
Pat
User avatar
fishtoprecords
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-07-09 04:01
Location: outside Washington DC

Re: upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby paivakil » 2011-07-30 08:07

It just may be that metacity and gnome-panel are not installed. Check if the basic gnome desktop is installed.
It's not the software that's free; it's you.
paivakil
 
Posts: 434
Joined: 2009-02-15 11:57

Re: upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby kiyop » 2011-07-30 10:25

If you do not know how to enter into terminal and/or tty, try the following.
At grub2 menu, type "E" and add "single" to the end of the line starting with "linux", and type "CTRL" and "x" at the same time.
You may enter into recovery menu. Select "(root) shell" then you can use CLI shell.

If GUI login manager has started, press "CTRL" and "ALT" and "F2" at the same time. You will enter into tty2.
Login as root. Or login as ordinary user and type
Code: Select all
su


If you do not know how to check if gnome-panel is installed or not, type at CLI shell as root user,
Code: Select all
apt-cache policy gnome-panel


Edit at 7:30 on 2011-07-31 at Japan
4D696B65 wrote:You do not need to be root for apt-cache policy, normal user is fine.

Thanks 4D696B65. I has not known that. :oops:
Last edited by kiyop on 2011-07-30 22:29, edited 1 time in total.
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 2325
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby 4D696B65 » 2011-07-30 10:34

kiyop wrote:If you do not know how to check if gnome-panel is installed or not, type at CLI shell as root user,
Code: Select all
apt-cache policy gnome-panel

You do not need to be root for apt-cache policy, normal user is fine.
User avatar
4D696B65
 
Posts: 1779
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09

Re: upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby fishtoprecords » 2011-07-30 17:44

Looks like gnome-panel is not there:


pfarrell@beatles:~$ apt-cache policy gnome-panel
gnome-panel:
Installed: (none)
Candidate: 2.30.2-2
Version table:
2.30.2-2 0
500 http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ squeeze/main i386 Packages


First attempt to install it with apt-get failed, lots of dependancies.

Now trying a quick
apt-get -f install to fix that stuff.

I'll let you know if that fixes it all.

Thanks so far
User avatar
fishtoprecords
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-07-09 04:01
Location: outside Washington DC

Re: upgrade to Squeeze from Lenny, no icons or toolbar

Postby fishtoprecords » 2011-07-30 18:14

That all worked fine. Thanks.

Any guesses as to what caused this? Normally I find Debian upgrades to be totally painless. Could it have been something I did wrong (wrong order, wrong step, etc.). or perhaps it was just because this is a pretty old system, at least 8 or 9 years.

Thanks again
User avatar
fishtoprecords
 
Posts: 46
Joined: 2008-07-09 04:01
Location: outside Washington DC


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

fashionable