[SOLVED New installation refuses to boot

Help with issues regarding installation of Debian

[SOLVED New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-13 17:15

I am trying to install Debian Wheezy on a new computer, the installation works perfectly. But when I try to boot from the HDD it does not recognize it as a bootable media with error: "Reboot and Select proper Boot device, or Insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

The partition sda2 are set as bootable and the HD are first in boot order, and I have tried both grub and lilo. It did boot the original Win7-installation when I bought the computer, and if I boot from a liveCD I am able to see and access the harddrive.

Do anyone have any ideas about this?

The computer are a Packard Bell imedia i9509.

/Lisa
Last edited by LisaO on 2011-09-16 07:58, edited 1 time in total.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-13 17:39

I think you have to enter the BIOS and set the HDD as the first device to boot, save the changes and reboot. The "Reboot and Select proper Boot device" message is because the BIOS is set to boot only from the cdrom/DVD. But if as you say it's already selected, then, maybe the partition isn't flagged to boot or something.
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-13 17:45

kedaha wrote:I think you have to enter the BIOS and set the HDD as the first device to boot, save the changes and reboot. The "Reboot and Select proper Boot device" message is because the BIOS is set to boot only from the cdrom/DVD.


Which I have already done. The HDD are first in boot order - which I noted, no CD are present and it still does not boot. And the partition are bootable, which I also noted.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-13 17:58

What is the root partition called?
/dev/sda2 ?
Sounds to me as though the installation of grub failed. Did you install Debian from a live cd?
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-13 18:03

kedaha wrote:What is the root partition called?
/dev/sda2 ?
Sounds to me as though the installation of grub failed. Did you install Debian from a live cd?


/dev/sda2, yes. I have reinstalled it several times, from different CDs. I have also tried both lilo and grub with same problem.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-13 18:42

I wonder if you would have had better luck with Stable rather than testing?
Just a suggestion but you might like to try a disk rescue utility CD such as rescatux. Alternatively you could use your installation cdrom in rescue mode and reinstall grub that way.
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-13 19:43

kedaha wrote:I wonder if you would have had better luck with Stable rather than testing?
Just a suggestion but you might like to try a disk rescue utility CD such as rescatux. Alternatively you could use your installation cdrom in rescue mode and reinstall grub that way.


I have know tried both of these, with no change. It is frustrating, my next move are to install debian on an external HD and boot fram that one and use the internal as /home.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-13 20:08

It might also help if you posted the output of this command?
# fdisk -l

Another idea would be to open the computer and remove the BIOS battery for a couple of minutes, replace it, adjust the clock time and reboot which will clear the BIOS should the setting, in spite of selecting the HDD as the first boot device, somehow be stuck on the CDROM.

I had a few experiences of this kind of thing in the past but I was always to boot the system eventually one way or another so I trust you will solve the problem too.
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-14 06:16

kedaha wrote:It might also help if you posted the output of this command?
# fdisk -l

Another idea would be to open the computer and remove the BIOS battery for a couple of minutes, replace it, adjust the clock time and reboot which will clear the BIOS should the setting, in spite of selecting the HDD as the first boot device, somehow be stuck on the CDROM.

I had a few experiences of this kind of thing in the past but I was always to boot the system eventually one way or another so I trust you will solve the problem too.


I think I found the problem
While browsing Packard Bells supportsite I noticed that for slightly older computers but the same model have a downloadable BIOS for Linux. So it seems lika it is the BIOS that refuses to boot due to something and I need to flash it. I will contact them and ask them about this as soon as I am able.

This is very frustrating since I did not find any information about this either on Packard Bells och the resellers site.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-14 08:39

Something like this may be occurring: It may be that the BIOS cannot boot sda2 because Grub gets installed to the boot sector on sda1. A hard drive can only have one bootable partition and if Grub is in sda1, since that partition is not marked to be booted, it can boot neither Debian nor Windows. Having 2 partitions is like having 2 hard drives. The BIOS looks for Grub or Windows on sda2 and can't find it because it is located in the other, unbootable partition and then you get the error message. So the solution would be to flag sda1 as bootable.
For example, on my system, you can see that /dev/sda1 is marked with as asterisk as the bootable device. If I were to flag another partition, for example, /dev/sda7 as bootable, then I would get the same error because my my Grub bootloader is on the boot sector in /dev/sda1.
Code: Select all
[size=85]# fdisk -l
  Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        1836    14745600   83  Linux
/dev/sda2            1836       60802   473636865    5  Extended
/dev/sda5            1836        2821     7909376   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda6            2821       26013   186290039+  83  Linux
/dev/sda7           26013       27849    14745600   83  Linux
/dev/sda8           27849       28822     7811072   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda9           28822       60802   256877568   83  Linux[/size]

Did you install grub to sda1 or sda2?
Grub needs to be in the bootable partition.
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-14 10:58

Debian is installed on /dev/sda2, which is bootable. I have also tried to install grub both at /dev/sda and /dev/sda2.

I did a few hours ago notice another possible problem. My computer uses UEFI, and if that is correct it can't and won't boot a linux-partition that are BIOS/MBR. When I get home from work I will look into that ans see if I can get a version of grub that support UEFI and use that.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kiyop » 2011-09-14 14:33

I do not know well about UEFI.
http://ja.wikipedia.org/wiki/Extensible ... _Interface

I think Grub2 can be installed on HDD with GPT.
But in order that Grub2 can deal GPT, module part_gpt.mod should be loaded.
Code: Select all
insmod part_gpt

To use grub command line, the directory /boot/grub or BIOS BOOT partition should be available by grub2.
It is better to prepare Bios Boot partition if GPT is used.
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux ... y/l-grub2/

Could you please execute boot info script and post the contents of RESULTS.TXT?

I am not sure whether grub-efi is good or not.
http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/grub-efi
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=995704
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 1862
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kedaha » 2011-09-14 16:05

This GRUB GPT HOWTO using gparted looks very clear.
Stable: 3.2.0-4-amd64, 7.2 "wheezy"
Gnome 3.4.2-7 (Stable)
Raspberry Pi, Raspbian (LXDE)
User avatar
kedaha
 
Posts: 2211
Joined: 2008-05-24 12:26
Location: At my Gnome 3 Classic Desktop

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby LisaO » 2011-09-14 19:47

Well, the IBM-page did not mention EFI. But I did run the bootinfoscript and noticed something that might be a problem. But then I tried the howto provided by kedaha and it destroyed my partition table and I had to restart everything. But I am not certain that it are a real problem, a missing core.img. That file are almost never mentioned in any descriptions and there are several different howtos with very different methods. None are really that clear and most are about Mac.

At the moment I think that the information at https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GR ... FI_Systems are most clear, but it still does not work. Debians installationsCDs does not seem to have native support for EFI, which is a problem. Ubuntu does on the other hand, so my next step is trying to boot with a ubuntu disk and try to set up EFI so the harddrive can boot. Afterwards I should be able to install Debian.
LisaO
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 2011-09-13 17:06

Re: New installation refuses to boot

Postby kiyop » 2011-09-14 23:17

If only posting RESULTS.TXT before you changed partition table...
LisaO wrote:I did run the bootinfoscript and noticed something that might be a problem. But then I tried the howto provided by kedaha and it destroyed my partition table and I had to restart everything.

If you only change partition table, the real data of partition and the partition boot record is not damaged. Then you can fix with some tool like testdisk.

But, thanks to and according to kedaha's link, it may be necessary to incorporate EFI function to kernel.

I used Ubuntu before this May and I read in Ubuntu Japanese forum that some guy succeeded to install Ubuntu with GPT for a HDD larger than 2TB, by starting installer of Ubuntu without doing extra things.
God bless you!
Openbox: Wheezy, Sid, Arch / Win XP (on VirtualBox) and 7
http://kiyoandkei.bbs.fc2.com/
User avatar
kiyop
 
Posts: 1862
Joined: 2011-05-05 15:16
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Next

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

fashionable