Intel microcode

Kernels & Hardware, configuring network, installing services

Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-01-23 04:42

I upgraded to wheezy. Most packages are working. During bootup, there is an error regarding the intel microcode. But the system seems to function.
Code: Select all
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.629988] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.631533] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.631649] microcode: CPU1 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.633164] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.633239] microcode: CPU2 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.634817] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.634933] microcode: CPU3 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.636425] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.636559] microcode: CPU4 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.638085] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.638218] microcode: CPU5 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.639660] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.639750] microcode: CPU6 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.641297] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.641387] microcode: CPU7 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x2, revision=0x11
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.642855] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.642979] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba
Jan 22 17:01:52 shum-i7 kernel: [    5.783818] EXT4-fs (sda5): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)

How do I resolve this? Thanks.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby dilberts_left_nut » 2013-01-23 07:01

AdrianTM wrote:There's no hacker in my grandma...
User avatar
dilberts_left_nut
 
Posts: 5060
Joined: 2009-10-05 07:54
Location: enzed

Re: Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-01-23 18:26

Thanks. I already have the package for wheezy installed. I also installed microcode.ctl as in this thread
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=51476&p=296049&hilit=intel+microcode#p296049
But, I cannot use any of the commands mentioned.
I do not understand the use of the microcodes, since my system seems to function. Please someone explain. Thanks.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby roseway » 2013-01-23 22:18

Are you sure that you have an Intel processor?
Eric
User avatar
roseway
 
Posts: 1514
Joined: 2007-12-31 22:50
Location: Kent, UK

Re: Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-01-24 02:22

Yes, intel i7 920
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby emariz » 2013-01-24 03:58

The package microcode.ctl was replaced by iucode-tool a couple of months ago in Backports, a change that should have also happened in Wheezy. The latest firmware version even conflicts with microcode.ctl.
emariz
 
Posts: 2926
Joined: 2008-10-17 07:59

Re: Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-01-24 04:29

Thanks. I also have iucode-tool installed. Not sure how this will help. Please elaborate.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby emariz » 2013-01-24 19:05

oldboy wrote:Thanks. I also have iucode-tool installed. Not sure how this will help. Please elaborate.

Purge all three packages, restart and then install the latest version of intel-microcode. It should pull iucode-tool as a recommended dependency and correctly update your firmware.
emariz
 
Posts: 2926
Joined: 2008-10-17 07:59

Re: Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-01-30 20:02

Thanks. I have given up and returned to squeeze. However, I have installed Wheezy on another drive, just to play, and there is no error on the intel microcode. The gdm3 is so different that it is hard to get used to, besides, I cannot get my cpu temperature to be displyed on the panel. I will continue to play with it, but I do not think I will bother to upgrade my desktop for now.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby steve_v » 2013-02-01 02:05

FWIW, I also ran into this. Purging then (re)installing intel-microcode should download the non-free non-redistributable microcode files (as part of the postinst)?
steve_v
 
Posts: 695
Joined: 2012-10-06 05:31
Location: New Zealand

Re: Intel microcode

Postby oldboy » 2013-02-02 14:13

Thanks. I'll keep it in mind. I think the problem might be that my initial upgrade did not include calib and non-free. Right now, I am still trying to find out about where things had gone in this new gdm3 and desktop environment, e.g, I do not know how to remove items from the applet-panel (the top strip of the screen where all the applications used to reside in squeeze). I drag the icons and put them on the applet-panel, but I cannot remove them or reposition them once they are there. Also, the weather applet cannot be found. I'll keep trying and searching, and until I got those back, I will not upgrade to wheezy on the production pc.
This oldboy has a lot of time in his hands
Linux slows down my Alzheimer and dementia
oldboy
 
Posts: 716
Joined: 2007-08-09 12:45

Re: Intel microcode

Postby sdothum » 2013-05-17 21:52

Is it safe to assume that this error means the microcode firmware is not loaded, so it is safe to remove the intel-microcode and uicode-tool packages to eliminate the boot up error messages?

Tx.
sdothum
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 2013-05-17 21:44

Re: Intel microcode

Postby PAP » 2013-06-21 08:55

I had a similar problem today, which was solved, so I thought it might be useful for others to post my experience about it here.
Today, apt-get switched from kernel 3.2 to 3.9. After that, rebooting the new kernel caused a warning message to appear, very similar to the one oldboy reported in this thread. The only difference was the hexadecimal number in the end, which I assume it corresponds to the intel proccessor:
Code: Select all
platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-0f-0b (not found?)

In my case, installing the package intel-microcode (which also installed lucode-tool as a dependency) solved the problem. So I am guessing installing intel-microcode, if not installed, or purging and reinstalling it, if it was already installed, is the way to go, as emariz suggested.

Hope it helps anyone having the same problem, especially after switching kernels from 3.2 to 3.9.
Linux Salix 3.10.17 #2 SMP Fri Feb 14 16:45:28 CST 2014 x86_64
Last Debian used: Linux debian 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt9-3 (2015-04-23) x86_64 GNU/Linux
PAP
 
Posts: 67
Joined: 2007-03-02 13:34

Re: Intel microcode

Postby lithopsian » 2013-06-21 13:14

The installation will also rebuild your initramfs. The correct microcode bin for your CPU is copied in there so it can be applied as early as possible when booting. Just having the microcode on your machine isn't sufficient.

There are no "commands" to use with microcode, just a small program that can be loaded onto your CPU if necessary by the kernel. You can force it to happen by using the command (as root):
Code: Select all
echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload


The kernel will then look in /lib/firmware to see if there is a microcode version for your CPU that is newer than the firmware already on it. If so then it will load it. A message will go in the logs (see dmesg). Usually nothing will happen if you do this because the latest version will already have been loaded during boot (again see dmesg).
lithopsian
 
Posts: 241
Joined: 2013-05-28 13:11

Re: Intel microcode

Postby improper » 2013-06-23 07:28

I have the same problem too on Jessie after installing kernel: 3.9-1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.9.6-1 x86_64 GNU/Linux
[ 7.268734] microcode: CPU0 sig=0x106a5, pf=0x1, revision=0x11
[ 8.131809] platform microcode: firmware: agent aborted loading intel-ucode/06-1a-05 (not found?)
... (previous two lines repeated for all Intel CPUx cores i have)
[ 8.165125] microcode: Microcode Update Driver: v2.00 <tigran@aivazian.fsnet.co.uk>, Peter Oruba

I have purged and reinstalled intel-microcode and iucode-tool but the messages stay.
I also ran "echo 1 > /sys/devices/system/cpu/microcode/reload" which adds more messages above.

Code: Select all
cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor   : 0
vendor_id   : GenuineIntel
cpu family   : 6
model      : 26
model name   : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU           E5520  @ 2.27GHz
stepping   : 5
microcode   : 0x11
cpu MHz      : 1596.000
cache size   : 8192 KB
physical id   : 0
siblings   : 8
core id      : 0
cpu cores   : 4
apicid      : 0
initial apicid   : 0
fpu      : yes
fpu_exception   : yes
cpuid level   : 11
wp      : yes
flags      : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx rdtscp lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts nopl xtopology nonstop_tsc aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm dca sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt lahf_lm ida dtherm tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority ept vpid
bogomips   : 4521.93
clflush size   : 64
cache_alignment   : 64
address sizes   : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

... (the above 16 times for all (hyper threading) cores)


p.s.
In case any of you kernel experts could comment on an unanswered question viewtopic.php?f=7&t=86740 of mine that worries me more, then please do.
improper
 
Posts: 55
Joined: 2006-07-15 08:02

Next

Return to System configuration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

fashionable