Debian Squeeze: No Sound

Desktop Environments and Multimedia
Message
Author
proveyourselfthom
Posts: 67
Joined: 2009-05-15 00:45

Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#1 Post by proveyourselfthom »

Hi, after upgrade to Debian Squeeze, my sound isn't working.
Here is my situation

Code: Select all

Linux thomas 2.6.26-2-486 #1 Thu Mar 26 00:13:41 UTC 2009 i686 GNU/Linux

Code: Select all

lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep snd
snd_seq_dummy           2692  0 
snd_seq_oss            26112  0 
snd_seq_midi            5664  0 
snd_rawmidi            18848  1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event      6528  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq                41168  6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          6540  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            33056  0 
snd_mixer_oss          12800  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_hda_intel          22344  2 
snd_hda_codec_analog    55424  1 
snd_hda_codec          59008  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_analog
snd_hwdep               6276  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                61448  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              17796  3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    46628  15 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_analog,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               6112  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          7816  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm

Code: Select all

dpkg -l alsa*
Desejado=U=Desconhecido/Instalar/Remover/exPurgar/H=Reter
| Estado=Não/Inst/arqs-Cfg/U=Descomp/Falhou-cfg/H=semi-inst/W=trig-adiado/Trig-pend
|/ Erro?=(nenhum)/H=Ret/precisa-Reinst/X=ambos-problemas (Est,Err: maiúsculas=ruim)
||/ Nome           Versão        Descrição
+++-==============-==============-============================================
un  alsa           <nenhuma>      (nenhuma descrição disponível)
ii  alsa-base      1.0.19.dfsg-3  ALSA driver configuration files
ii  alsa-modules-2 1.0.19.dfsg-3+ ALSA modules for kernel 2.6.26-2-486
ii  alsa-oss       1.0.17-1       ALSA wrapper for OSS applications
ii  alsa-source    1.0.19.dfsg-3  ALSA driver sources
pn  alsa-tools     <nenhuma>      (nenhuma descrição disponível)
ii  alsa-utils     1.0.19-2       ALSA utilities
Someone can help me? Thanks

User avatar
sunrat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3794
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 16 times

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#2 Post by sunrat »

First make sure your volumes are up and unmuted in mixer app.
Next you can run alsaconf as root.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

User avatar
widz
Posts: 206
Joined: 2008-01-03 16:44
Location: Currently Scotland, Bulgaria

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#3 Post by widz »

alsaconf is no more in alsa-utils, so yep, its gonna be hard one :)
you have to laugh at the things that hurt you just to keep the world from running you plumb crazy

proveyourselfthom
Posts: 67
Joined: 2009-05-15 00:45

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#4 Post by proveyourselfthom »

All volumes are up and there isn't alsaconf :(

mlundblad
Posts: 84
Joined: 2007-02-02 09:51
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#5 Post by mlundblad »

I seem to have the same problem, quite similar h/w

sagittarius$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)

I manually re-set sound devices in Gnome's sound settings.
Now sound works in Rhythmbox and other Gstreamer applications, it seems.
But still no sound in Totem (using xine backend) or VLC.

Did you find a solution?
I'm not quite sure which package to file a bug report against in the BTS

proveyourselfthom
Posts: 67
Joined: 2009-05-15 00:45

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#6 Post by proveyourselfthom »

My sound still not working. :(

contredire
Posts: 188
Joined: 2009-01-10 23:12
Location: Linköping, sweden

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#7 Post by contredire »

I am having this problem myself in the last update of squeeze. I don't know how to solve it without starting gnome though. and it has to be done after every boot:
double klick the speaker icon 'volume' and select the previously deselected 'front'. now the sound will work.

I suppose this error will be gone after updating.....
Debian Lenny

Penguin Skinner
Posts: 709
Joined: 2005-09-15 20:37
Location: North by Northwest

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#8 Post by Penguin Skinner »

Try running 'alsactl init' (and BTW don't be surprised if it returns some kind of error message saying it can't identify your card and is guessing at the settings; it guess pretty good. :) )

proveyourselfthom
Posts: 67
Joined: 2009-05-15 00:45

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#9 Post by proveyourselfthom »

Code: Select all

alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "Analog Devices AD1986A" "HDA:11d41986" "0x1043" "0x81b3"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
Nothing. No sound :(
Thank u.

User avatar
kevin01123
Posts: 97
Joined: 2009-05-18 02:19

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#10 Post by kevin01123 »

This is a bug with alsa .19 and snd-hda-intel cards. .20 fixed the majority of these regressions, but that probably doesn't help you out too much. Had this same problem when I was running sid.

http://en.opensuse.org/SDB:Intel-HDA_sound_problems
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=69178

Hope those help. They did me, but my laptop wouldn't recognize when my headphones were plugged in, so sound played out of both the speakers and the headphones.

st.steele
Posts: 7
Joined: 2009-05-05 23:23

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#11 Post by st.steele »

After rebooting I had lost all sound today. Fixed it, somewhat randomly, by unmuting the microphone in the volume control (double click on volume applet). I don't know what the issue was, but hopefully that will help someone.

EDIT - I think booting the computer with my USB webcam plugged in caused the problem. It's a Hercules Dualpix Exchange, and if it's not plugged in at boot, no problems. If it is plugged in, you have to unmute mic in volume control.

Murz
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-07-22 14:33

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#12 Post by Murz »

Same problem on Debian Squeeze & alsa:

Code: Select all

# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "VIA VIA VT1708B 8-Ch" "HDA:1106e721" "0x1043" "0x82ea"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
But in KDE (4.2) I hear the startup sound!

What is the number of bug in the tracker for subscribe?
Last edited by Murz on 2009-07-23 05:26, edited 1 time in total.

milomak
Posts: 2085
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#13 Post by milomak »

Same problem on Sid

Code: Select all

root ~ # dpkg -l *alsa*
Desired=Unknown/Install/Remove/Purge/Hold
| Status=Not/Inst/Cfg-files/Unpacked/Failed-cfg/Half-inst/trig-aWait/Trig-pend
|/ Err?=(none)/Hold/Reinst-required/X=both-problems (Status,Err: uppercase=bad)
||/ Name                                   Version                                Description
+++-======================================-======================================-============================================================================================
un  alsa                                   <none>                                 (no description available)
ii  alsa-base                              1.0.20+dfsg-1                          ALSA driver configuration files
un  alsa-oss                               <none>                                 (no description available)
ii  alsa-tools-gui                         1.0.20-1                               GUI based ALSA utilities for specific hardware
ii  alsa-utils                             1.0.20-2                               ALSA utilities
ii  alsamixergui                           0.9.0rc2-1-9                           graphical soundcard mixer for ALSA soundcard driver
ii  gnome-alsamixer                        0.9.7~cvs.20060916.ds.1-2              ALSA sound mixer for GNOME
ii  gstreamer0.10-alsa                     0.10.23-3                              GStreamer plugin for ALSA
un  libarts-alsa                           <none>                                 (no description available)
ii  libesd-alsa0                           0.2.41-5                               Enlightened Sound Daemon (ALSA) - Shared libraries
ii  libsdl1.2debian-alsa                   1.2.13-4+b1                            Simple DirectMedia Layer (with X11 and ALSA options)
root ~ # lspci | grep -i Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid

User avatar
anarchyinc666
Posts: 303
Joined: 2008-10-22 13:44

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#14 Post by anarchyinc666 »

Funny, Debian Wiki linked to this thread for the solution but no one has figured it out yet....

# edit

I forgot that I was also testing out new kernels, ran alsactl init under one.... then booted into another. Everything is working again under the 2.6.30 kernel.
-----BEGIN GEEK CODE BLOCK-----
Version: 3.12
GIT d- s: a- C++++ UL++++ P+ L+++ E-- W+++ N- o-- K- w++
O- M-- V-- PS+++ PE+++ Y PGP+++ t-- 5-- X+++ R* tv+++ b DI++++ D
G e+ h---- r+++ y++++
------END GEEK CODE BLOCK------

Debian-SID Xfce

rplantz
Posts: 36
Joined: 2006-11-29 05:26

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#15 Post by rplantz »

The sound in my Debian sid is also broken. I have discovered that if I do:

Code: Select all

bob@debian:~$ speaker-test -Dplug:surround51 -c6 -twave
both my stereo speakers are working correctly. I take this to mean that my sound driver is loaded and working.

Next, when I do:

Code: Select all

  bob@debian:~$aplay -D front:CARD=CK8S,DEV=0 ring.wav
it works fine. (aplay -L will give you the data for the argument to -D.)

But if I don't explicitly specify the card I get an error:

Code: Select all

  bob@debian:~$ aplay ring.wav
  ALSA lib pulse.c:272:(pulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect:
  Connection refused

  aplay: main:608: audio open error: Connection refused
When I become root:

Code: Select all

debian:/home/bob# aplay ring.wav
Playing WAVE 'ring.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 44100 Hz, Stereo
aplay works fine.

There must be a file someplace that has incorrect permissions.

Also, I wonder if my dist-upgrade from lenny to sid left a file behind that conflicts with the newer changes to alsa. In particular, I wonder about the change from alsaconf to alsactl init.
Given how each of us started life, our similarities are much more remarkable than our differences.

milomak
Posts: 2085
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#16 Post by milomak »

i'm now on 2.6.30.x on my laptop (which had the problem). problem fixed.
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid

User avatar
jackdaws
Posts: 160
Joined: 2006-04-17 16:01
Location: The Glens of Antrim

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#17 Post by jackdaws »

I also seem to have no sound, using Squeeze AMD-64. When I type in as user or as root:

Code: Select all

aplay ring.wav
I get

Code: Select all

ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1008:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
aplay: main:608: audio open error: Device or resource busy
When I type in:

Code: Select all

alsactl init
I get

Code: Select all

alsactl: parse:1639: Unable to open file '/usr/share/alsa/init/ca0106': No such file or directory
And when I type in as user:

Code: Select all

dcop kded mediamanager fullList
I get

Code: Select all

call failed
I'm using a soundblaster audigy 24bit, which worked fine using lenny when it was in testing phase.
Perfectionism is an imperfection

pendrachken
Posts: 1394
Joined: 2007-03-04 21:10
Location: U.S.A. - WI.

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#18 Post by pendrachken »

Murz wrote:Same problem on Debian Squeeze & alsa:

Code: Select all

# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "VIA VIA VT1708B 8-Ch" "HDA:1106e721" "0x1043" "0x82ea"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method
But in KDE (4.2) I hear the startup sound!

What is the number of bug in the tracker for subscribe?
If this is an UPGRADE from KDE3.5 it is a know bug that system sounds work but normal app sounds don't, it is because of a missing dependency package. I filed a bug like 2 months ago and it has been ignored so far.... see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....
fortune -o
Your love life will be... interesting.
:twisted: How did it know?

The U.S. uses the metric system too, we have tenths, hundredths and thousandths of inches :-P

Murz
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-07-22 14:33

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#19 Post by Murz »

pendrachken wrote:see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....
Thank's for link to this bug! After installing gstreamer0.10-alsa package kde sound goes to work (amarok and other kde applications).
But alsa is still broken:

Code: Select all

# alsactl init
Unknown hardware: "HDA-Intel" "VIA VIA VT1708B 8-Ch" "HDA:1106e721" "0x1043" "0x82ea"
Hardware is initialized using a guess method

wd0bqm
Posts: 12
Joined: 2008-10-17 01:30
Location: Mitchell, NE

Re: Debian Squeeze: No Sound

#20 Post by wd0bqm »

Murz wrote:
pendrachken wrote:see here for the workaround that should work for you since you hear the system sounds....
Thank's for link to this bug! After installing gstreamer0.10-alsa package kde sound goes to work (amarok and other kde applications).

I had to do the same thing. Sound worked great for months, but for the past couple of weeks, every time I upgrade I lose sound again and have to remove and reinstall gstreamer0.10-alsa package to get it back.
Debian Squeeze 32-bit, Pentum 4 2.4 GHz.
IRLP Node 3942

Post Reply