systemd ACPI Error

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask
Post Reply
Message
Author
abukva
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-02-20 18:26

systemd ACPI Error

#1 Post by abukva »

I have Debian 9 with kernel 4.9.0-1-amd64, and after the update to this kernel I've noticed this error during systemd boot:

Code: Select all

[    0.599941] ACPI Error: [_PPC] Namespace lookup failure, AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20160831/dswload-378)
[    0.599948] ACPI Exception: AE_ALREADY_EXISTS, During name lookup/catalog (20160831/psobject-227)
I've googled it but I could only find topic related to the dedicated GPU, I have integrated with i5-6440HQ.

User avatar
None1975
Posts: 1019
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#2 Post by None1975 »

abukva wrote:[ 0.599948] ACPI Exception: AE_ALREADY_EXISTS, During name lookup/catalog (20160831/psobject-227)
Hello. You can read this https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-8 ... 2de342db80
[ 0.599941] ACPI Error: [_PPC] Namespace lookup failure, AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20160831/dswload-378)
and this https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1413342
OS: Debian 10.3 Buster / WM: xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github

abukva
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-02-20 18:26

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#3 Post by abukva »

Sorry for the late response, I've updated the bios (as suggested in gentoo forum) from Lenovo website but the messages still persist. I've read the bug report on bugzilla.kernel and I also did not notice any problems while I was using my system. Maybe for the now, the best solution would be to leave it as it is, or revert to the older kernel.

floreado
Posts: 69
Joined: 2016-01-26 18:15

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#4 Post by floreado »

I face the same bug, it was suggested that there is nothing to do by Debian developers regarding it.
I doubt it will be solved even when Stretch will be a stable version.

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=853893

abukva
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-02-20 18:26

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#5 Post by abukva »

I've updated my BIOS to the newest version but the problem is still there.

floreado
Posts: 69
Joined: 2016-01-26 18:15

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#6 Post by floreado »

Yes, I've noticed it.
It's clear that the problem is with the kernel.
It's present in every distro, you can find mentions in the net.
The question is: is it harmfull or not?
It's possible to find comments that no, it's only an information,
but I, like you, don't want to see red lines during booting.
When I see them I come to conclusions that something serious is broken.

abukva
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-02-20 18:26

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#7 Post by abukva »

I've read on one forum that maybe the problem was there for a long time but only now started to show errors. I did not notice any deterioration in a system performance or any glitches, so I will keep it like this for now. :|

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#8 Post by phenest »

And why not on all computers? Of the 3 I own (all running Stretch), only two gives this ACPI error. My DELL laptop does not. Weird.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

abukva
Posts: 9
Joined: 2017-02-20 18:26

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#9 Post by abukva »

I have ThinkPad T460p, maybe there is something with the newer hardware.

User avatar
None1975
Posts: 1019
Joined: 2015-11-29 18:23
Location: Lithuania, Vilnius

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#10 Post by None1975 »

floreado wrote:Yes, I've noticed it.
The question is: is it harmfull or not?
No. By the way, i don't see this message in

Code: Select all

dmesg
.
OS: Debian 10.3 Buster / WM: xmonad
Debian Wiki | DontBreakDebian, My config files on github

tro
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-03-06 08:45

Re: systemd ACPI Error

#11 Post by tro »

Hi there! I'm facing the same error on T460p.

Here is journal log: https://launchpadlibrarian.net/30979074 ... Errors.txt.

Post Reply