Grub2 EFI with Windows 7 dual boot

If none of the more specific forums is the right place to ask
Alexqw

Grub2 EFI with Windows 7 dual boot

#1 Post by Alexqw »

I was hoping for a little help with this one, as I am pretty new to EFI.

I have a laptop with Windows 7 on it which I intend to add Wheezy to for dual-booting. The BIOS is set to use EFI, and Windows 7 was installed using EFI.

When I installed Debian, I chose "Guided, using largest freely available space." The installed got confused about the EFI (no EFI boot partition). The partition is already there, from Windows, so I re-assigned the EFI partition as an EFI boot partition, and the installer merrily went on its way.

Installation success, except I can't seem to boot into Debian. I've used the Debian Live dvd to poke around. The Debian partition is there and in post-install condition. /etc/fstab for the Debian partition correctly lists sda1 for /boot/efi/. The EFI partition itself does contain the Debian folder and its *.efi file (and the Boot and microsoft folders). I chrooted into the Debian partition, and found that grub-efi was installed properly. I ran grub-install /dev/sda and update-grub. Upon reboot, I still went straight into Windows. :-/

In a last-ditch effort, I (after making a backup of the EFI partition) copied Debian's .efi image over the Boot/bootx64.efi file, assuming that the Boot/bootx64.efi was executed by default. This, apparently, is not the case, as I still ended up in Windows. Argh!

Does anyone have any suggestions about where I should go from here?

---Alex

kiyop
Location: Where persons without desire to improve themselves fear to tread, in Japan

Re: Grub2 EFI with Windows 7 dual boot

#2 Post by kiyop »

I am not familiar with EFI. So, I may be wrong.

Grub4dos may solve your problem. Place grldr and/or grldr.mbr on Windows system partition directly and configure /menu.lst so that it can correctly boot the installed debian.