Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

"Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
LloydLynx
Posts: 19
Joined: 2021-06-10 18:26
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

"Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#1 Post by LloydLynx »

I'm getting a few "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software, but if I close and ignore them, Gnome Software seems fully functional otherwise. This happens after I suspend my laptop for any significant amount of time, then resume and open Gnome Software. These are the errors:

Code: Select all

Unable to download updates from "extensions.gnome.org":
failed to download https://extensions.gnome.org//static/extensions.json:
Cannot resolve hostname

Unable to download updates: internet access was required but wasn't available <link to Network Settings>

Unable to download firmware updates  from "fwupd":
failed to download https://cdn.fwupd.org/downloads/firmware.xml.gz.asc:
Cannot resolve hostname

Unable to download updates from "odrs.gnome.org":
failed to download https://odrs.gnome.org/1.0/reviews/api/ratings:
Cannot resolve hostname
I also screen captured the errors. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iC4s_F3kmi4

I can ping all of these domains without issues. I'm the one who manages the network and internet connection in the house so there shouldn't be any firewall blocking these addresses.

Apt is fully functional and doesn't report errors. Flatpak is fully functional and doesn't report errors. It's only an issue with Gnome Software, and it seems like these are false error messages because I can close these messages and Gnome Software is fully functional.

I posted about this on linuxquestions.org a few weeks ago and didn't really get much helpful info. A couple people had me try pinging these domains, and another person told me that it's because the network device gets shut off during suspend(obviously) and that I should set my laptop to not suspend when the lid closes(not a good solution).

I'm using Debian 10 Buster with the flatpak plugin for Gnome Software installed. This issue has been happening for the past few months as far as I can remember. All I want is for these messages to disappear, whether by hiding them or treating the root cause. It's really annoying having to keep closing them.

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2109
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#2 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

Try

Code: Select all

apt-get update
And

Code: Select all

apt-get upgrade
Why?

Web search suggests people have solved this with an update.

User avatar
LloydLynx
Posts: 19
Joined: 2021-06-10 18:26
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#3 Post by LloydLynx »

https://pastebin.com/jhS8uMDk

Apt seems fully functional.

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2109
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#4 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

Yes, but if you run Gnome Software after the Apt update, does it still have the same issue?

If it doesn't, that suggests Gnome Software is not getting the message that the internet connection is up after a suspend, and that something that Apt resets - its cache maybe?

When Apt update runs 20packagekit causes PackageKit to be notified of the cache update. Gnome Software is a front end for PackageKit, so that could explain why doing an Apt updates causes Gnome Software to work again.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1030370 ... e-hostname

I believe Ubuntu Software Centre is a rebranded Gnome Software.

This seems to be a gnown ( :roll: ) issue in Gnome Software.

https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gnome-so ... issues/694

Maybe

Code: Select all

# apt-get update
before using Gnome Software would be enough to fix the issue? (Not a permanent fix, I know).

User avatar
LloydLynx
Posts: 19
Joined: 2021-06-10 18:26
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#5 Post by LloydLynx »

FreewheelinFrank wrote:Yes, but if you run Gnome Software after the Apt update, does it still have the same issue?

If it doesn't, that suggests Gnome Software is not getting the message that the internet connection is up after a suspend, and that something that Apt resets - its cache maybe?

When Apt update runs 20packagekit causes PackageKit to be notified of the cache update. Gnome Software is a front end for PackageKit, so that could explain why doing an Apt updates causes Gnome Software to work again.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1030370 ... e-hostname

I believe Ubuntu Software Centre is a rebranded Gnome Software.

This seems to be a gnown ( :roll: ) issue in Gnome Software.

https://gitlab.gnome.org/GNOME/gnome-so ... issues/694

Maybe

Code: Select all

# apt-get update
before using Gnome Software would be enough to fix the issue? (Not a permanent fix, I know).
Running apt-get update after resuming suspend didn't seem to change anything.

Reading through that gitlab issue, someone mentioned that shell extensions support ended in Gnome Software so maybe that's related? I don't know how I would test it though. The only extension use is GSConnect, all the other ones are installed (but deactivated) by default.

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2109
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 230 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#6 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

I don't think so, as fwupd is not a Gnome extension, it's a daemon that Software manages.

Does

Code: Select all

# fwupdmgr refresh --verbose
help?

See link:

https://github.com/fwupd/fwupd/issues/967

User avatar
LloydLynx
Posts: 19
Joined: 2021-06-10 18:26
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#7 Post by LloydLynx »

FreewheelinFrank wrote:I don't think so, as fwupd is not a Gnome extension, it's a daemon that Software manages.

Does

Code: Select all

# fwupdmgr refresh --verbose
help?

See link:

https://github.com/fwupd/fwupd/issues/967
Ok, now we're getting somewhere. Waking from suspend, running that command as root, then opening Gnome Software showed no errors. I'll leave my laptop in suspend overnight and see if it's still fixed tomorrow. I'll also take a closer look at that github issue when I'm not so tired. Here's the output. https://pastebin.com/0FC2b7rD

User avatar
LloydLynx
Posts: 19
Joined: 2021-06-10 18:26
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: "Cannot resolve hostname" errors in Gnome Software

#8 Post by LloydLynx »

So this morning I woke my laptop and opened Gnome Software without running that command first, it showed errors. It looks like that command needs to be run every time it is resumed from suspend to avoid the errors.

Post Reply