Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Message
Author
tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

[Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#1 Post by tired-owl »

Edit: I found the solution, but I don't know why it worked if anyone can explain why this solution worked, I would be grateful. I'm interested in learning. I'm going to be reading this forum post to figure out why it worked.

from https://unix.stackexchange.com/a/448291

Code: Select all

    Just putting a #

    in front of source /etc/network/interfaces.d/* in the /etc/network/interfaces file, so it doesn't reference the /interfaces.d/setup file solved it for me. Everything working fine. The solution is kinda logical.
--these commands are from my computer---

This is the output of cat /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup

Code: Select all

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
auto etho0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
This is the output of cat /etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

#this file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate the,/ for more information, see interfaces(5)
#sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

#the loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inter loopback
-----original post-------






I get this error while booting

Code: Select all

[Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.
see 'systemctl status networking.services' for details. 
When I run the above command (systemctl status networking.services) I get

Code: Select all

networking.service - Raise network interfaces
Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/networking.service; enabled; vendor preset; enabled)
Active: failed (result: exit-code) since Thus 2021  *the rest here is just the date*
Docs: man:interfaces(5)
Process:790 ExecStart=/sbin/ifup -a --read-environment (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
Main PID: 790(code=exited, status =1/FAILURE)


This is a fresh install of debian stable on a desktop pc. My guess is the networking module is failing to load.
My internet works with the Ethernet cable, If anyone knows how to fix this error, and could help me, it would be greatly appreacited, Thank you.


I don't know if this is helpful, but I did find someone with a similar error https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... interfaces

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#2 Post by p.H »

/etc/network/interfaces.d/setup is bogus. Just remove it instead of messing with defaults in /etc/network/interfaces.
I have seen several reports about this file but don't know yet what creates it. I have never seen it on any of my Debian installations.
Could you tell us how exactly you installed Debian ?
Which version and architecture did you install ?
What ISO image did you use ?
Did you use the classic Debian installer (from boot) or the Calamares installer (from a live session) ?
What options did you select in "select and install software" (tasksel) ? Which desktop environment did you install ?

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#3 Post by CwF »

p.H wrote: /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup is bogus.
This is a perfectly valid file, if the OP created it...!
Do remove the duplicate defaults, only mention additions.
No package I know of creates it. If it is chosen not to have any network manager type packages installed then this is the proper place for network configuration created by the user.

From interfaces(5)
" By default, on a freshly installed Debian system, the interfaces file includes a line to source files in the /etc/network/interfaces.d directory."

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#4 Post by p.H »

CwF wrote:This is a perfectly valid file, if the OP created it
No it is not valid as this system has no "eth0" interface, and the OP did not create it.
As I wrote, this file happens to be present with these exact name and contents on some systems after installation. I strongly doubt that multiple unrelated users had the same stupid idea and created the exact same file.
Last edited by p.H on 2021-10-09 10:17, edited 1 time in total.

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#5 Post by CwF »

tired-owl wrote:This is the output of cat /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup

Code: Select all
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
auto etho0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
There are errors there... Is there an "etho0", no. Is there an "eth0" maybe!
Check the actual interface name and edit correctly

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
crossposted edit, yes p.H. I saw that and didn't grab it, not on screen, argh, went back to quote..

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#6 Post by CwF »

p.H wrote: As I wrote, this file happens to be present with these exact name and contents on some systems after installation
I see, I did not know this. So there is an erroneous install script somewhere.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#7 Post by p.H »

I guess that "etho0" is a typo in the post.

tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#8 Post by tired-owl »

Sorry for the late response.
Could you tell us how exactly you installed Debian ?
debian live 10.7.0 xfce live image, I used graphical install. I checked the hash and gpg signature of the iso. It's an older image, I flashed it around february or march.
Which version and architecture did you install ?
debian stable. The architecture is amd64, a desktop pc.
What options did you select in "select and install software" (tasksel) ?
It didn't let me choose, this was from a xfce live debian image, so it installed xfce automatically.

I did not create /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup

I ran the command dpkg -S /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup and got

Code: Select all

dpkg-query: no path found matching pattern /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup
I guess that "etho0" is a typo in the post.
It is, I'm sorry for the typo I made, the output of cat /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup is

Code: Select all

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
Last edited by tired-owl on 2021-06-25 18:33, edited 3 times in total.

tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#9 Post by tired-owl »

Did you use the classic Debian installer (from boot) or the Calamares installer (from a live session) ?
classic graphical installer from boot. Although it's from a live image of debian.


I also installed firmware-linux-nonfree, I don't know if that package has anything to do with this.

I have a separate install of debian stable on this machine, from 2 years ago on a separate drive. I checked and the file /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup doesn't exist. The installer I used for that old debian install is a debian 10.0.0 iso.This file might be something created from the debian 10.7.0 xfce live installer.


What fix would you recommend? should I delete /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup

or
Check the actual interface name and edit correctly

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#10 Post by CwF »

tired-owl wrote: or

Check the actual interface name and edit correctly

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
the file could be setup.conf or eth0.conf, it does need the .conf part.
Substitute eth0 with it's actual name in both lines.
To check the name, renaming, ask as root, or sudo

Code: Select all

#  dmesg | grep eth
[    3.718939] igb 0000:06:00.0: added PHC on eth0
[    3.718943] igb 0000:06:00.0: eth0: (PCIe:5.0Gb/s:Width x4)
[    3.719017] igb 0000:06:00.0: eth0: PBA No: 050000-000
[    3.776221] igb 0000:06:00.1: added PHC on eth1
[    3.776227] igb 0000:06:00.1: eth1: (PCIe:5.0Gb/s:Width x4)
[    3.776304] igb 0000:06:00.1: eth1: PBA No: 050000-000
[    3.778356] igb 0000:06:00.1 Glan: renamed from eth1
[    3.883926] igb 0000:06:00.0 Wlan: renamed from eth0
The last is the name in use, in this case Wlan. There should be persistent naming in effect and a line renaming to enosp123 or whatever. Kernel naming in effect results in no changes, so eth0 is eth0. Or in my example a user rule in effect to rename.
So,

Code: Select all

:/etc/network/interfaces.d$ cat eth0.conf
# eth0  enp5s0f0 renamed
allow-hotplug Wlan
iface Wlan inet dhcp

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#11 Post by p.H »

tired-owl wrote:What fix would you recommend? should I delete /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup
Yes, delete it. If the network works, some other network manager is installed (usually NetworkManager or Wicd, depending on the installed destktop environment) and you don't need this file.
CwF wrote:To check the name, renaming, ask as root, or sudo

Code: Select all

#  dmesg | grep eth
Seriously ? Why not just run "ip link" (which unambigously show current interface names and does not require root privileges) ?
Last edited by p.H on 2021-06-26 16:22, edited 1 time in total.

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#12 Post by CwF »

p.H wrote:Seriously ?
Sure, I thought it would be nice to show any renaming sequence in a clean way.
ip link is a mess of extra junk.
Also, it's good to not be afraid of root, especially in xfce.
Oh well.

User avatar
Bloom
df -h | grep > 90TiB
df -h | grep > 90TiB
Posts: 505
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#13 Post by Bloom »

LAN or WLAN interface:

Code: Select all

ip link|grep -vE 'lo|virbr'|grep default|cut -d':' -f 2|sed 's/^ *//g'

tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#14 Post by tired-owl »

It works! Thank you very much for explaining the process, I deleted /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup, the bogus config file and created a new one with my device name.

setup.conf in the directory etc/network/interfaces.d/with

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug *my device name here* 
iface *my device name here* inet dhcp
reebooted, and the network module loads!

I also obviously removed the commented code

Code: Select all

#sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*
from /etc/network/interfaces

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#15 Post by CwF »

tired-owl wrote:
reebooted, and the network module loads!
.

Yah! kinda...

I'm not perfectly clear what you did, but ok...
/etc/network/interfaces should be unaltered. As a package file it may update and wipe out your settings, likely not.

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
the line: source /etc/network/interfaces.d/* will load *.conf files if present.
Your settings should go there in a file named
/etc/network/interfaces.d/whatever.conf

tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#16 Post by tired-owl »

Yes that's essentially what I did. In addition originally I had commented out a part of /etc/network/interfaces


Code: Select all

#this file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate the,/ for more information, see interfaces(5)
#sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

#the loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inter loopback
but now I removed it so it's

Code: Select all

#this file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate the,/ for more information, see interfaces(5)
sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

#the loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inter loopback

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#17 Post by p.H »

CwF wrote:/etc/network/interfaces should be unaltered. As a package file it may update and wipe out your settings
No, /etc/network/interfaces is not a package file, not even a conffile of the package "ifupdown" (which installs the "networking" service and uses /etc/network/interfaces), so user changes won't be wiped out by a package update. You can check with

Code: Select all

dpkg -S /etc/network/interfaces
dpkg -s ifupdown
So there is absolutely no valid reason to not use it for user-defined network settings. /etc/network/interfaces.d/ is provided mostly for packages so that they can add extra network settings without modifying /etc/network/interfaces.
CwF wrote:the line: source /etc/network/interfaces.d/* will load *.conf files if present.
No, it will load any file present in /etc/network/interfaces.d/*. As a proof, /etc/network/interfaces.d/setup (which does not end in .conf) was loaded and caused the error.
tired-owl wrote:

Code: Select all

#this file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate the,/ for more information, see interfaces(5)
sources /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

#the loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inter loopback
This quote contains multiple typo's (the,/, sources, inter). I cannot believe this is the original /etc/network/interfaces. Did you copy it by hand ?

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#18 Post by CwF »

p.H wrote:so user changes won't be wiped out by a package update
ya, said likely not...facility is there for a user file, I simply recommend using it. It is not a *user* file none the less. Without a way, sure, mod it all you want - be tidy and put all the mods in there, or clutter up the .d directory with eth99 rules all separate! I thought I have seen a *.conf preference somewhere, maybe just my preference to help me distinguish *.link files in me notes.
p.H wrote:Did you copy it by hand ?
I did not, amazing, not sure what happened? ...couple of distraction going on, sorry...this is a typo thread...sorry tired-owl, apparently me too!
Original dated 5/7/2016

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

hmmm, I obviously bumped some keys, it actually came though the spice channel from another computer! Let's see, 11/7/2016 on this computer, same contents, my bad!
Sorry to get your autochecker into overdrive! It does matter!

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2725
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 44 times
Been thanked: 204 times

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#19 Post by CwF »

Wow, I should slow down...the mistaken typo wasn't mine....I missed that...

tired-owl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2021-06-24 23:27
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Failed] failed to start Raise network interfaces.

#20 Post by tired-owl »

I did type it by hand, sorry for the typos in the config file....

for clearing things up my /etc/network/interfaces is

Code: Select all

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
Next time I'll make sure to copy it over instead of typing it by hand, I'm writing this from a separate computer. It's definitely important to have the correct information.

Post Reply