Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Issues during boot/reboot

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Issues during boot/reboot

#1 Post by debbie0513 »

Hi! I've been using Debian 11 for 2 weeks and am pretty satisfied.
A few days ago I did a normal reboot, this appeared:

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
failed to start raise network interfaces

[firmware bug]: TSC ADJUST differs within socket(s), fixing all errors
#2 #3 #4
MDS CPU bug present and SMT on, data leak possible
ENERGY_PERF_BIAS: Set to 'normal', was 'performance'

ACPI BIOS Error (bug): Failure creating named object [\_SB.IETM.GDDV], AE_ALREADY_EXISTS (20200925/dswload2-326)
ACPI Error: AE_ALREADY_EXISTS, During name lookup/catalog (20200925/psobject-220)
HXM: GUID detected in BIOS
ACPI Warning: \_SB.PCIO.GFXO._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requres [Package](20200925/nsarguments-61)
ACPI Warning: \_SB.PCIO.RPO1.PEGP._DSM: Argument #4 type mismatch - Found [Buffer], ACPI requres [Package](20200925/nsarguments-61)

Please update your service to use a safer Killmode, such as 'mixed' or 'control-group'
pcieport 0000:00:1c.5: PCIe Bs Error: severity=Corrected, type=Physical Layer 

ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: failed to load ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin (-2)
frimware_class: see debian. org/Firmware for missing firmware
ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: failed to load ath10k/cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin (-2)
I entered the instructions given and powered off my laptop. It worked fine after boot. However, this appeared again an hour ago during boot. I had to manually power it off. It seems fine now but I think this may occur soon. There seems to be more than one issue so I come to ask you guys first here.

During installation (non-free package), it said like 2 Atheros file need to be added (looks like the last three lines). I downloaded and updated after install (it said updated successfully). Not sure if I miss anything else.

My laptop Asus i5-8 (8gb RAM/ kernel 4.19/ 256gb SSD(/dev/sdb) + 1tb HDD(/dev/sda)). Below is some disk information:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1        2048 1031909375 1031907328 492.1G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda2  1031909376 1748721663  716812288 341.8G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda3  1748721664 1953523711  204802048  97.7G Linux filesystem

/dev/sdb1       2048   1050623   1048576   512M EFI System
/dev/sdb2    1050624  59643903  58593280  27.9G Linux filesystem
/dev/sdb3  109492224 500117503 390625280 186.3G Linux filesystem
/dev/sdb4   77264896 109492223  32227328  15.4G Linux swap
Tell me if any more info is needed. Thanks in advance!
Last edited by debbie0513 on 2021-10-26 15:05, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2082
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 225 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#2 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

Did you install firmware-atheros and intel-microcode?

Output of

Code: Select all

# dmesg | grep firmware
Please.

I'm guessing that these are not what caused your system to dump you into emergency mode, and that the file system error was.

You could check the /home partition (EDIT: ie /dev/sda1) after unmounting it:

https://www.tecmint.com/fsck-repair-fil ... -in-linux/

mm3100
Posts: 336
Joined: 2020-10-21 21:39
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 13 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#3 Post by mm3100 »

To check for missing firmware packages you can install isenkram
https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/ ... led-system
and just run
sudo isenkram-autoinstall-firmware

As for

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
failed to start raise network interfaces
That is caused by missing configuration file for ifupdown in
/etc/network/interfaces.d
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=989343

It isn't an error, just a warning, you don't have to worry about it. But if you really want to remove it one way to do it is to comment out
source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

In /etc/network/interfaces file. But then you have to keep in mind that any connection placed in interfaces.d directory won't be run and as such set up. It won't break anything as long you are aware of it.

If you only use connections managed by network manager you don't have to worry about it.

As for rest of ACPI warning and errors, they tend to be harmless and almost nothing you can do about it. If your device is working properly don't worry about it, you won't fix anything but removing those messages.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#4 Post by p.H »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-25 14:04 failed to start raise network interfaces
Did you check the output of

Code: Select all

systemctl status networking
to get more information about the failure ?
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-25 14:04 I entered the instructions given
Which instructions ?

The messages about missing Atheros firmwares are harmless and expected even when firmware-atheros is installed. These device-path specific firmware files normally do not exist.
mm3100 wrote: 2021-10-25 16:30

Code: Select all

failed to start raise network interfaces
That is caused by missing configuration file for ifupdown in/etc/network/interfaces.d
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=989343
It isn't an error, just a warning, you don't have to worry about it. But if you really want to remove it one way to do it is to comment out

Code: Select all

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*
In /etc/network/interfaces file.
You're all wrong.
"Failed to start [service]" is an error, not a warning.
It has nothing to do with the "bug" report you mention (which is related to NetworkManager, not ifupdown AFAICS). The messages are totally different.
In any case, removing "source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*" is never a proper solution, at best a mere workaround.

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2082
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 225 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#5 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

p.H wrote: 2021-10-26 10:04
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-25 14:04 failed to start raise network interfaces
Which instructions ?
I believe the OP was dumped into emergency mode which stops the boot and prints these instructions:
You are in emergency mode.
After logging in, type "journalctl -xb" to view system logs,
"systemctl reboot" to reboot, "systemctl default"
or ^D to try again to boot into default mode".
mm3100 wrote: 2021-10-25 16:30
As for

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
failed to start raise network interfaces
That is caused by missing configuration file for ifupdown in /etc/network/interfaces.d
These are separate issues. The network interfaces issue I don't think would cause the boot failure.

The first error message could indicate why the boot stalled, but is unrelated to the network interfaces config file

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
Could indicate that the partition is corrupted.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/1089913 ... em-startup

The other issues - network interfaces, firmware, microcode - are incidental, I think.

I would suggest that the first thing for the OP to do would be to check the partition, and then sort out the other things later on, just to clarify my own post as much as anything as I mentioned firmware, which is not going to be the cause of the boot failure.

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#6 Post by debbie0513 »

FreewheelinFrank wrote: 2021-10-25 16:27 Did you install firmware-atheros and intel-microcode?
I thought I installed firmware-atheros but not sure now. No memory of the Intel one
Output of dmesg | grep firmware

Code: Select all

[    3.057150] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/nvdec/scrubber.bin
[    3.057178] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/bl.bin
[    3.057201] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/ucode_load.bin
[    3.057227] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/unload_bl.bin
[    3.057244] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/ucode_unload.bin
[    3.057251] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: pmu: firmware unavailable
[    3.057345] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_bl.bin
[    3.057369] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_inst.bin
[    3.057386] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_data.bin
[    3.057403] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_sig.bin
[    3.057427] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_bl.bin
[    3.057445] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_inst.bin
[    3.057463] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_data.bin
[    3.057478] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_sig.bin
[    3.057499] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_nonctx.bin
[    3.057523] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_ctx.bin
[    3.057548] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_bundle_init.bin
[    3.057575] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_method_init.bin
[    3.057612] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/sig-1.bin
[    3.057661] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/image-1.bin
[    3.057705] nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/desc-1.bin
[    3.058699] i915 0000:00:02.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin
[    3.072129] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] Finished loading DMC firmware i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin (v1.4)
[    6.853931] platform regulatory.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db
[    6.854133] platform regulatory.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db.p7s
[    7.598046] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: failed to load ath10k/pre-cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin (-2)
[    7.598170] firmware_class: See https://wiki.debian.org/Firmware for information about missing firmware
[    7.598313] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: failed to load ath10k/cal-pci-0000:02:00.0.bin (-2)
[    7.601278] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware ath10k/QCA9377/hw1.0/firmware-6.bin
[    7.602216] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware ver WLAN.TF.2.1-00021-QCARMSWP-1 api 6 features wowlan,ignore-otp crc32 42e41877
[    7.666393] ath10k_pci 0000:02:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware ath10k/QCA9377/hw1.0/board-2.bin
[    7.815472] bluetooth hci0: firmware: direct-loading firmware qca/rampatch_usb_00000302.bin
[    7.815482] Bluetooth: hci0: QCA: patch rome 0x302 build 0x3e8, firmware rome 0x302 build 0x111
[    7.898228] bluetooth hci0: firmware: direct-loading firmware qca/nvm_usb_00000302.bin
[ 1668.973008] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware i915/kbl_dmc_ver1_04.bin
[ 1668.973068] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_ctx.bin
[ 1668.973087] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db
[ 1668.973104] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db.p7s
[ 1668.973118] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware qca/nvm_usb_00000302.bin
[ 1668.973153] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware qca/rampatch_usb_00000302.bin
[ 1668.973228] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_inst.bin
[ 1668.973235] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_data.bin
[ 1668.973237] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_data.bin
[ 1668.973252] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_bl.bin
[ 1668.973267] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_bl.bin
[ 1668.973592] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/gpccs_sig.bin
[ 1668.973604] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_nonctx.bin
[ 1668.973608] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_sig.bin
[ 1668.973634] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/fecs_inst.bin
[ 1668.974193] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/ucode_unload.bin
[ 1668.974195] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/unload_bl.bin
[ 1668.974211] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_bundle_init.bin
[ 1668.974244] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/desc-1.bin
[ 1668.974259] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/sig-1.bin
[ 1668.974260] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/nvdec/scrubber.bin
[ 1668.974677] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/sec2/image-1.bin
[ 1668.974679] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/ucode_load.bin
[ 1668.974699] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/gr/sw_method_init.bin
[ 1668.974705] (NULL device *): firmware: direct-loading firmware nvidia/gp107/acr/bl.bin
[ 1671.195802] Bluetooth: hci0: QCA: patch rome 0x302 build 0x3e8, firmware rome 0x302 build 0x111
Seems like "failed to load ath10k" appears again
You could check the /home partition (EDIT: ie /dev/sda1) after unmounting it
Just checked it:

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1: clean, 7715/32251904 files, 11356649/128988416 blocks

Code: Select all

   7715 inodes used (0.02%, out of 32251904)
         546 non-contiguous files (7.1%)
          23 non-contiguous directories (0.3%)
             # of inodes with ind/dind/tind blocks: 0/0/0
             Extent depth histogram: 7690/17
    11356649 blocks used (8.80%, out of 128988416)
           0 bad blocks
           2 large files

        7482 regular files
         224 directories
           0 character device files
           0 block device files
           0 fifos
           0 links
           0 symbolic links (0 fast symbolic links)
           0 sockets
Does clean mean it's not broken?
Last edited by debbie0513 on 2021-10-26 13:36, edited 1 time in total.

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#7 Post by debbie0513 »

p.H wrote: 2021-10-26 10:04
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-25 14:04 Did you check the output of

Code: Select all

systemctl status networking
to get more information about the failure ?
Over here. It said failed... but I can connect to WIFI (not sure what the codes mean)

Code: Select all

● networking.service - Raise network interfaces
     Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/networking.service; enabled; vendor pr>
     Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Tue 2021-10-26 15:45:18 CST; 5h 2>
       Docs: man:interfaces(5)
    Process: 848 ExecStart=/sbin/ifup -a --read-environment (code=exited, statu>
   Main PID: 848 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
        CPU: 167ms
Which instructions ?
"journalctl -xb" to view system logs,
"systemctl reboot" to reboot, "systemctl default"
or ^D to try again to boot into default mode"
I chose reboot but didn't work. Had to power it off manually...
The messages about missing Atheros firmwares are harmless and expected even when firmware-atheros is installed. These device-path specific firmware files normally do not exist.
Oh good to know that! Was pretty confused upon seeing the info
Last edited by debbie0513 on 2021-10-26 13:44, edited 1 time in total.

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#8 Post by debbie0513 »

mm3100 wrote: 2021-10-25 16:30 To check for missing firmware packages you can install isenkram
https://www.debian.org/releases/stable/ ... led-system
and just run
sudo isenkram-autoinstall-firmware
Does this work the same as isenkram? Sorry I'm a bit reluctant to install packages (still learning)

Code: Select all

# dmesg | grep firmware

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
failed to start raise network interfaces
It isn't an error, just a warning, you don't have to worry about it.
As long as it's fine, I guess I'll just leave it there. Thanks for the instructions!
As for rest of ACPI warning and errors, they tend to be harmless and almost nothing you can do about it. If your device is working properly don't worry about it, you won't fix anything but removing those messages.
Really good to hear that. I've seen others suggesting adding this. Does it have anything to do with that?

Code: Select all

nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=5500

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#9 Post by debbie0513 »

FreewheelinFrank wrote: 2021-10-26 11:23 I believe the OP was dumped into emergency mode which stops the boot and prints these instructions:
You are in emergency mode.
After logging in, type "journalctl -xb" to view system logs,
"systemctl reboot" to reboot, "systemctl default"
or ^D to try again to boot into default mode".
Yeah there they are. Thanks for the info!

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
Could indicate that the partition is corrupted.
I used fsck to check the partition. Does this mean it's fine?

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1: clean, 7715/32251904 files, 11356649/128988416 blocks

Code: Select all

7715 inodes used (0.02%, out of 32251904)
         546 non-contiguous files (7.1%)
          23 non-contiguous directories (0.3%)
             # of inodes with ind/dind/tind blocks: 0/0/0
             Extent depth histogram: 7690/17
    11356649 blocks used (8.80%, out of 128988416)
           0 bad blocks
           2 large files

        7482 regular files
         224 directories
           0 character device files
           0 block device files
           0 fifos
           0 links
           0 symbolic links (0 fast symbolic links)
           0 sockets

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2082
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 225 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#10 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 12:54
Does clean mean it's not broken?
Yes.

I presume sda is the HDD and sdb is the SSD. I wonder if the computer is booting from the SSD and there is an issue with mounting the HDD during boot?

I don't have an SSD drive so have no experience of this. Maybe somebody who does could comment.

I would check that the atheros firmware is installed, but it won't be the cause of boot failure.

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#11 Post by debbie0513 »

FreewheelinFrank wrote: 2021-10-26 13:42
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 12:54 Does clean mean it's not broken?
Yes.
Such good news!

Would issues occur if I mount my HDD on /home/... (my /home is on SSD)?
Btw, I don't quite understand mount point means. Seems a bit weird to mount a partition to another disk...
I presume sda is the HDD and sdb is the SSD. I wonder if the computer is booting from the SSD and there is an issue with mounting the HDD during boot?
Correct. I heard that the disk order may cause some issues during boot (?)
I would check that the atheros firmware is installed, but it won't be the cause of boot failure.
Nice. Thanks!

Ged296123
Posts: 6
Joined: 2021-08-11 17:52
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#12 Post by Ged296123 »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:33
It isn't an error, just a warning, you don't have to worry about it.
As long as it's fine, I guess I'll just leave it there. Thanks for the instructions!
If you wish, you could add "loglevel=3" in your kernel so it doesn't display non-critical errors.

Code: Select all

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

and make your

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="loglevel=3"
If you wish, you could have quiet and splash in the same line as well; in which case it would look like
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash loglevel=3"

After you save (ctrl+o) and close (ctrl+x) your file, don't forget to

Code: Select all

sudo update-grub
If you do this, you wont be receiving failed or problematic device recognitions or driver related issues. So I'd recommend adding it after you've created a stable system and checking your logs (maybe once in a while or after some updates).

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2082
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59
Has thanked: 38 times
Been thanked: 225 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#13 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51
Would issues occur if I mount my HDD on /home/... (my /home is on SSD)?
Btw, I don't quite understand mount point means. Seems a bit weird to mount a partition to another disk...
I presume sda is the HDD and sdb is the SSD. I wonder if the computer is booting from the SSD and there is an issue with mounting the HDD during boot?
Correct. I heard that the disk order may cause some issues during boot (?)
You said in your original post that /home was on sda1, which is the HDD.
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-25 14:04
A few days ago I did a normal reboot, this appeared:

Code: Select all

failed to mount /home/.../... (my /dev/sda1)
failed to start raise network interfaces

If it's actually on sdb (the SSD), you would have to check the partition it's on for errors. I think

Code: Select all

$ df -h .
will tell you where it actually is.

Find the partition and check it as you did for

Code: Select all

/dev/sda1
If home is in the root partition, you may need to schedule the check at boot.

https://www.tecmint.com/fsck-repair-fil ... -in-linux/
I heard that the disk order may cause some issues during boot (?)
No SSD I'm afraid, so not something I know about.

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#14 Post by p.H »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51 Would issues occur if I mount my HDD on /home/... (my /home is on SSD)?
Expect degraded performance. A hard disk is slower than a SSD.
What would you use a 256-GB SSD for if not for /home ?
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51 Btw, I don't quite understand mount point means. Seems a bit weird to mount a partition to another disk...
Not weirder than putting a directory inside another directory.
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51 I heard that the disk order may cause some issues during boot (?)
What do you mean exactly by "disk order" ?

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#15 Post by debbie0513 »

Ged296123 wrote: 2021-10-26 14:27 If you wish, you could have quiet and splash in the same line as well; in which case it would look like

Code: Select all

GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash loglevel=3" 
Ok I'll try.
What's the difference between adding that and this?

Code: Select all

nvme_core.default_ps_max_latency_us=5500
Last edited by debbie0513 on 2021-10-27 15:16, edited 1 time in total.

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#16 Post by debbie0513 »

FreewheelinFrank wrote: 2021-10-26 14:44 You said in your original post that /home was on sda1, which is the HDD.
Sorry just changed it. My /home is on /dev/sdb and on the SSD (and also my /boot and /)
If it's actually on sdb (the SSD), you would have to check the partition it's on for errors. I think

Code: Select all

$ df -h .
will tell you where it actually is.
Over here:

Code: Select all

udev            3.8G     0  3.8G    0% /dev
tmpfs           784M  1.5M  783M    1% /run
/dev/sdb2        28G   12G   15G   45% /
tmpfs           3.9G  103M  3.8G    3% /dev/shm
tmpfs           5.0M  4.0K  5.0M    1% /run/lock
/dev/sdb3       183G  1.2G  172G    1% /home
/dev/sdb1       511M  3.5M  508M    1% /boot/efi
/dev/sda1       484G   35G  425G    8% /home/debb/storage
/dev/sda3        96G   60M   91G    1% /home/debb/vault
/dev/sda2       336G   27M  319G    1% /home/debb/repository
tmpfs           784M  876K  784M    1% /run/user/1000
Find the partition and check it as you did for /dev/sda1
If home is in the root partition, you may need to schedule the check at boot.
Ok I'll post the result later. Thanks!

debbie0513
Posts: 22
Joined: 2021-10-25 13:56

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#17 Post by debbie0513 »

p.H wrote: 2021-10-26 18:42
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51 Would issues occur if I mount my HDD on /home/... (my /home is on SSD)?
Expect degraded performance. A hard disk is slower than a SSD.
What would you use a 256-GB SSD for if not for /home?
Oh my bad. /, /home and /boot are all on SSD. /home/... means /home/"my_id"
Not weirder than putting a directory inside another directory.
So I guess it's fine to mount my /dev/sda (HDD) on /home/"my_id"/"name" (/home on SSD)?
p.H wrote: 2021-10-26 18:42
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-26 13:51 I heard that the disk order may cause some issues during boot (?)
What do you mean exactly by "disk order" ?
I heard that the system might load /dev/sda first then /dev/sdb. However, my /boot is on /dev/sdb (my SSD), so it might not load SSD first? I'm not sure about this

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3049
Joined: 2017-09-17 07:12
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Issues during boot/reboot

#18 Post by p.H »

debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-27 15:16 /home/... means /home/"my_id"
My answer still stands.
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-27 15:16 So I guess it's fine to mount my /dev/sda (HDD) on /home/"my_id"/"name" (/home on SSD)?
Now is it home/"my_id" or /home/"my_id"/"name" ? What is "name" ?
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-27 15:16 I heard that the system might load /dev/sda first then /dev/sdb.
What do you mean exactly by "load" ?
debbie0513 wrote: 2021-10-27 15:16 However, my /boot is on /dev/sdb (my SSD)
Irrelevant.

Post Reply