Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!
Message
Author
User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#1 Post by craigevil »

As most people are aware Adobe has stopped support for Flash on 64bit, no one knows for how long. Do not use the 64bit flash beta, it has major security problems.
Adobe Labs - Downloads: Flash Player 10 for 64-bit Linux
We have temporarily closed the Labs program of Flash Player 10 for 64-bit Linux, as we are making significant architectural changes to the 64-bit Linux Flash Player and additional security enhancements. We are fully committed to bringing native 64-bit Flash Player for the desktop by providing native support for Windows, Macintosh, and Linux 64-bit platforms in an upcoming major release of Flash Player. We intend to provide more regular update information on our progress as we continue our work on 64-bit versions of Flash Player. Thank you for your continued help and support.
http://wiki.debian.org/FlashPlayer#A64bitor32bitonamd64
64 bit or 32 bit on amd64
Lenny (stable), Squeeze (testing), Sid (unstable): The 32 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 is installed on i386. The 64 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 (still in Adobe labs) is installed on amd64. Users of amd64 who prefer to use the 32 bit version of Adobe Flash Player 10 can install a browser and the 32 bit plugin in an i386 chroot as well described in the AMD64 HOWTO

Security considerations
Users of Adobe Flash Player should follow security bulletins and advisories published at http://www.adobe.com/support/security/ .

Recent news: http://www.adobe.com/support/security/b ... 10-14.html

Are OK now:
* 32 bit player of flash player 10 on i386 systems : 10.1.53.64
* 32 bit player of flash player 10 on amd64 systems via chroot : 10.1.53.64
* 32 bit player of flash player 9 on i386 systems : 9.0.277.0
* 32 bit player of flash player 9 on amd64 systems via nspluginwrapper : 9.0.277.0

Are not yet OK:
* 64 bit player on amd64 systems : 10.0.45.2

Users of the 64 bit player on amd64 systems are advised to switch to the 32 bit player, at least until Adobe has released a fixed 64 bit player.
At this point flashpugin-nonfree is useless on amd64. Adobe no longer supports the 64 bit player. See this bug report http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=586273

So for now we are back to either using nspluginwrapper or using 32bit flash in chroot. For the 32bit chroot follow the steps in the AMD64 HOWTO from the wiki above.

Howto get flash working in 64bit using nspluginwrapper:
First add the debian-multimedia.org repo to your sources.list, as root do

Code: Select all

echo "deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
Note: Use the proper repo for the debian release you are running.
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org lenny main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free
You can also use one of the mirrors: http://debian-multimedia.org/debian-m.php
Note: Make sure you have 'contrib' in your Debian line it should be something like:
deb http://http.us.debian.org/debian/ lenny main contrib non-free
This is needed in order to be able to install nspluginwrapper.

Download the gpg key for apt

Code: Select all

wget http://www.debian-multimedia.org/pool/main/d/debian-multimedia-keyring/debian-multimedia-keyring_2008.10.16_all.deb
Install the keyring

Code: Select all

dpkg -i debian-multimedia-keyring_2008.10.16_all.deb
Update aptitude or apt-get if you prefer

Code: Select all

aptitude update
Install the 32bit libs

Code: Select all

aptitude install ia32-libs ia32-libs-libnss3 ia32-libs-libcurl3 libcurl3 nspluginwrapper
Install flashplayer-mozilla

Code: Select all

aptitude install flashplayer-mozilla

Restart any browsers you had open and you are good to go.
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
praka123
Posts: 188
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#2 Post by praka123 »

This was how I was using Flash during early 64-bit days.and Now We are back there! :roll:
After nspluginwrapper,32-bit flash ,and tested with youtube.

Later , I tried to play some Music with Exaile/Rhythmbox ,the slider showed song is playing ,but sound was actually muted;When I opened browser with Youtube Video ,Sound Returned!
I have Pulseaudio also in the System(but not set as default for gstreamer-it's set as autodetect).I will have to see if Sound gets again Muted.

OT:This Means, there will be no more flash support for 64-bit Linux ?

Thanks.
Debian (Testing/Unstable)

User avatar
praka123
Posts: 188
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Pulseaudio

#3 Post by praka123 »

Had issues with Sound in browsers for Flash Video(Youtube for example) with Pulseaudio ,after installing 32-bit flash on My 64-bit Debian System.
Explained Here:

64-bit Debian with Pulseaudio and 32-bit flashplugin :
Debian (Testing/Unstable)

User avatar
praka123
Posts: 188
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

How to Pulseaudio and 32-bit libflashplugin in Debian Squeez

#4 Post by praka123 »

How to Pulseaudio and 32-bit libflashplugin in Debian Squeeze 64-bit System:
Important:There is a bug Reported Here:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour ... bug/592492
^I have explained it at the end of this Post.
--
Caveat:Below is what I did to have Sound Working For Flash in My System.YMMV :
To Have Pulseaudio(sound) Working With Your Browser For Flash Videos and Other Interactive Sites.

Install Flash 32 on 64-bit Systems as @craigevil's First Post.

I am having Gnome Desktop Environment.Here's How I configured flash for Pulseaudio:
[*]Install pulseaudio

Code: Select all

apt-get install pulseaudio pulseaudio-esound-compat pulseaudio-module-gconf  pulseaudio-module-x11  pulseaudio-utils lib32asound2 lib32asound2-plugins  ia32-libs-gtk 
add a new entry "Pulseaudio" to your Gnome Desktop Startup using System>Preferences>Start Up Applications(gnome-session-properties)
with below lines as the Command :

Code: Select all

start-pulseaudio-x11 -D
pulseaudio startup -found in System>Preferences>Startup Applications on Gnome Menu.
pulseaudio startup -found in System>Preferences>Startup Applications on Gnome Menu.
Screenshot-Edit Startup Program.png (15.06 KiB) Viewed 72061 times
Have a basic /etc/asound.conf for Pulseaudio.Here's Mine:

Code: Select all

pcm.pulse {
    type pulse
}
ctl.pulse {
    type pulse
}
pcm.!default {
    type pulse
}
ctl.!default {
    type pulse
}
Use "gksu gedit /etc/asound.conf" and add above lines , If You are Not Sure .

Add "pulse","pulse-access" to your Secondary groups.
as root/Admin:

Code: Select all

gpasswd -a username pulse

Code: Select all

gpasswd -a username pulse-access
^Note:'username' is the local login id you use.
--
I experienced No Sound With Flash under Pulseaudio.Two Depdencies were missing.
You can download,extract and add them to below libraries.
Explained Here as well:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... 30#p305805
--
The Needed Dependencies are:
libwrap0 and libgdbm3 both i386:
For Debian Squeeze the Versions to Download(as of Now):
http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/ma ... 9_i386.deb
http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/pool/ma ... 9_i386.deb
Copy these Files to a new Directory ~/Desktop/files :

Code: Select all

mkdir -p ~/Desktop/files/wrap0 

Code: Select all

mkdir -p ~/Desktop/files/gdbm3
copy the download *.debs to the Respective directories.
Extract each .deb :

Code: Select all

dpkg-deb -x ~/Desktop/files/libwrap0_7.6.q-19_i386.deb    wrap0/

Code: Select all

dpkg-deb -x ~/Desktop/files/libgdbm3_1.8.3-9_i386.deb   gdbm3/ 
Now ,in a root terminal copy to respective library directories:

Code: Select all

cp ~/Desktop/files/wrap0/lib/*.*    /lib32/
and:

Code: Select all

cp ~/Desktop/files/gdbm3/usr/lib/*.* /usr/lib32/
*Note:If you find above confusing ,Open Nautilus File Manager as root using

Code: Select all

gksu nautilus

^...and copy the files extracted to respective directories as shown earlier.
--
*Note:It May be a Nice Idea If You Keep a Log of above packages extracted and copied to the /lib32 and /usr/lib32 .
The Files in lib32 for libwrap0 are:
libwrap.so.0 libwrap.so.0.7.6
The Files in /usr/lib32 for libgdbm3 are:
libgdbm_compat.so.3 libgdbm_compat.so.3.0.0 libgdbm.so.3 libgdbm.so.3.0.0
--
Now ,May be Restart the System and Make Sure Pulse Audio is Working:

Code: Select all

aplay -Dpulse /usr/share/sounds/alsa/Front_Right.wav
Make Sure ,If Youtube Video's Have Sound available.
--
Issues:
Although I extracted and copied libcanberra-gtk-module_0.24-1_i386.deb,gtk2-engines-aurora_1.5.1-1_i386.deb to respective lib32 directories ,It does not seem to work!See below:
I face some errors with iceweasel if ran from terminal like..

Code: Select all

Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module": /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/modules/libcanberra-gtk-module.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
*** NSPlugin Viewer  *** WARNING: unhandled variable 18 (<unknown variable>) in NPN_GetValue()
*** NSPlugin Viewer  *** WARNING: unhandled variable 18 (<unknown variable>) in NPN_GetValue()
and In Some Links like for eg:
http://www.india.ford.com/servlet/Conte ... &site=FIPL
^If I Right Click Mouse ,The Browser Freezes and *sometimes need to force quit. :oops: related to My Gtk Themes it seems:

Code: Select all

(npviewer.bin:19069): Gtk-WARNING **: /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/2.10.0/engines/libaurora.so: wrong ELF class: ELFCLASS64
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPP_HandleEvent() wait for reply: Message timeout
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** WARNING:(/tmp/n/nspluginwrapper-1.3.0/src/npw-wrapper.c:1977):invoke_NPP_GetValue: assertion failed: (rpc_method_invoke_possible(plugin->connection))
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
*** NSPlugin Wrapper *** ERROR: NPObject 0x7f904a8d6050 is no longer valid!
^Yet to Figure Out ,What to do with nspluginwrapper or any ld errors.
You can overcome the Browser Freeze after a Right Click with Mouse as in above ,by opening a terminal and :

Code: Select all

killall  npviewer.bin
ldconfig throws out some warning as well:

Code: Select all

:~# ldconfig 
ldconfig: /lib32/libwrap.so.0 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libtdb.so.1 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libgdbm.so.3 is not a symbolic link

ldconfig: /usr/lib32/libgdbm_compat.so.3 is not a symbolic link
Regards,
pk
Debian (Testing/Unstable)

User avatar
praka123
Posts: 188
Joined: 2007-06-23 08:11
Location: Cochin,India

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#5 Post by praka123 »

UPDATE:
The Browser Crashes/Freezes with 32-bit flash plugin and nspluginwrapper is solved under latest Firefox-3.6.4build7.
I just Compiled above version of Firefox and the Freezing problem Disappeared when Right Clicked with Mouse on Some Flash Pages.
As Suggested in Launchpad nspluginwrapper page, You've to enable:

Code: Select all

dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true 
in about:config

I know ,nspluginwrapper(and Iceweasel?) needs to be updated to contain latest flashplayer plugin 10.1 ,Which Hopefully will be fixed? :|

For Me ,With 3.6.4buld7 version of Firefox fixed this Issue.(I know, it is Plain BS to ask to Shift to Firefox,especially beta builds. :roll: )
EDIT:
Firefox 3.6.4 has released and using it with

Code: Select all

dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true 
in about:config can solve the Issue.
http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html
Hope Iceweasel team will be aware of this problem.

Regards,
pk
Last edited by praka123 on 2010-06-25 07:43, edited 1 time in total.
Debian (Testing/Unstable)

User avatar
Hadret
Posts: 354
Joined: 2007-07-19 13:04
Location: Berlin

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#6 Post by Hadret »

praka123 wrote:For Me ,With 3.6.4buld7 version of Firefox fixed this Issue.(I know, it is Plain BS to ask to Shift to Firefox,especially beta builds. :roll:
Actually in experimental branch there is Iceweasel 3.6.4 build2, so, I guess, there will be time when they provide build7 (:

User avatar
sqlpython
Posts: 214
Joined: 2008-09-05 01:36
Location: USA

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#7 Post by sqlpython »

As most people are aware Adobe has stopped support for Flash on 64bit,
THanks for the reminder. I don't fall into the most people category as I thought we were finally past the 32bit vs 64bit Flash availability. The 64bit Flash is Something we petitioned for along with a FreeBSD Flash. A backwards step.
Well I ran nspluginwrapper before and I will have have to do it again.. :x
Criticism accepted for solutions that work! ;^)

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#8 Post by craigevil »

The Debian wiki has a couple of other ways.

FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian 5.0 'Lenny' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... 3-lenny.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... _amd64.deb
FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian Testing 'Squeeze' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... squeeze.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+squeeze1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... _amd64.deb
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
sqlpython
Posts: 214
Joined: 2008-09-05 01:36
Location: USA

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#9 Post by sqlpython »

Thanks for that craig.......
Criticism accepted for solutions that work! ;^)

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#10 Post by craigevil »

If you still have issues after following praka123's advice you can do:

Edit /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/i386/linux/npviewer
and change:
export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=1
to
export GDK_NATIVE_WINDOWS=true firefox
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

Lns
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-07-15 20:25

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#11 Post by Lns »

craigevil wrote:The Debian wiki has a couple of other ways.

FlashPlayer - Debian Wiki
Debian 5.0 'Lenny' amd64

Currently not supported by Adobe. See the announcement by Adobe and bug #586273.

However, there is a workaround:

1. apt-get install fakeroot binutils nspluginwrapper ia32-libs
2. Download and run this script: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... 3-lenny.sh
3. dpkg -i ia32-libs-workaround-499043_0.0.1+lenny1_amd64.deb
4. Install this package: http://people.debian.org/~bartm/flashpl ... _amd64.deb
I am running a Debian Lenny (backported) LTSP terminal, which uses PA.. I've gone through this a couple of times with no avail. Flash video works fine, other sound works fine but no Flash audio. Any clues for this corner case? Things worked fine until Adobe ripped out support. :(

User avatar
bmc5311
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#12 Post by bmc5311 »

Did the work around - all is working except the live stream from MLB.com (mlbtv.com).
- is there a way to go back to the old plugin?
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#13 Post by craigevil »

Just a note about praka123's Pulse Audio howto: dom.ipc.plugins.enabled true
What it is:
Plugin-container and out-of-process plugins http://kb.mozillazine.org/Plugin-contai ... ss_plugins
In Firefox 3.6.4 and above, a plugin hang detector determines when an out-of-process plugin or plugin script has stopped responding, so that Firefox can terminate the plugin. The time period that must pass before the plugin is assumed to be locked up is set in the preference dom.ipc.plugins.timeoutSecs (the default is 45 seconds in Firefox 3.6.6). [12] When Firefox terminates a plugin that is no longer responding, you will see the "plugin has crashed" error dialog shown above. To prevent Firefox from terminating plugins it considers non-responsive, set dom.ipc.plugins.timeoutSecs to -1 in about:config. This disables the plugin hang detector but does not disable OOPP or stop "plugin-container" from running; to do that, you must set the dom.ipc.plugins.enabled.* preferences to "false"

My suggestion run Firefox, or Iceweasel from experimental, even sid only has 3.5.10. Since the plugin-container is only in Iceweasel/Firefox from 3.6.4 and up.


apt-cache policy iceweasel
iceweasel:
Installed: 4.0~b1-0
Candidate: 4.0~b1-0
Version table:
*** 4.0~b1-0 0
500 http://mozilla.debian.net ./ Packages
100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
3.6.4-1 0
101 http://ftp.debian.org experimental/main Packages
3.5.10-1 0
500 http://mirrors.kernel.org sid/main Packages
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
bmc5311
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#14 Post by bmc5311 »

anyone see any distinct disadvantages of running an older version of the 64bit plugin (other then adobe's security issues)? :?: :?:

i found a copy here: http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Internet ... 2958.shtml and have installed it (the old fashioned way, i put the libflashplayer.so file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins) and all appears to be working as it was before.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#15 Post by craigevil »

bmc5311 wrote:anyone see any distinct disadvantages of running an older version of the 64bit plugin (other then adobe's security issues)? :?: :?:

i found a copy here: http://linux.softpedia.com/get/Internet ... 2958.shtml and have installed it (the old fashioned way, i put the libflashplayer.so file in /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins) and all appears to be working as it was before.
You mean other than the big gaping security hole?

Adobe - Security Bulletins: APSB10-14 Security update available for Adobe Flash Player
Critical vulnerabilities have been identified in Adobe Flash Player version 10.0.45.2 and earlier. These vulnerabilities could cause the application to crash and could potentially allow an attacker to take control of the affected system.
Use a 32bit browser in chroot with the 32bit flash.
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
bmc5311
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#16 Post by bmc5311 »

craigevil wrote:Use a 32bit browser in chroot with the 32bit flash.
if i do it that (the chroot thing) - does it eliminate the need for nspluginwrapper? the problem i have is not being able to watch the mlb live streams (life long red sox fan, shoot me :) ...), when using the nsplugingwrapper i suspect that it (mlb) is looking for the file libflashplayer.so and it's finding npwrapper.libflashplayer.so and the mlb media player isn't smart enough to figure it out.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5251
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#17 Post by craigevil »

yes using chroot you are using a 32bit browser and the 32bit flash plugin.

Take a look at "Using an IA32 chroot to run 32bit applications"
http://alioth.debian.org/docman/view.ph ... l#id292205
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
bmc5311
Posts: 539
Joined: 2008-11-16 15:21
Location: lost in the vast machine

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#18 Post by bmc5311 »

thanks for the info and the advice - i'll look into it.
macbook air /stable amd64/openbox

http://www.debianuserforums.org/ - By the community. For the community.

milomak
Posts: 2085
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#19 Post by milomak »

good to know there's a reason for loss of flash
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid

cinch
Posts: 4
Joined: 2009-10-15 12:36

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#20 Post by cinch »

for setting up a 32bit chroot on amd64 or i386:
i just wrote this guide: http://sicnarf.com/articles/secure-flas ... debian.txt

the guide is still in a early version, but it should be enough for daily browsing. enjoy :)
i'm going to update it and try to streamline it for general usage.

Post Reply