Debian buster: are you testing?

Discussion about development of the Debian OS itself
Message
Author
User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Debian buster: are you testing?

#1 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

The freeze for Debian 10 is due to start early in the new year[1] so I have installed a new Debian buster system to help out testing stuff, I was wondering if anybody else is doing the same?

For anyone who wants to join in, I installed buster using this guide (all my spare USB sticks are broken):

https://www.debian.org/releases/stretch ... 03.html.en

There is an alpha3 version of the buster installer available:

https://www.debian.org/devel/debian-installer/

Debian have requested artwork for the buster relase:

https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-a ... 00003.html

Note: the current version of xserver-xorg-core in buster (v2:1.20.1-5) is vulnerable to the X hole, the version in sid is fixed so to install that add this stanza to /etc/apt/preferences (or in a file under /etc/apt/preferences.d/):

Code: Select all

Package: *
Pin: release a=unstable
Pin-Priority: 100
^ This assigns a pin priority of 100 to all sid packages which means they are treated just like backports in the stable release :)

Once that is done, add the sid repositories (I prefer to use `apt edit-sources` to do this):

Code: Select all

deb https://cdn-aws.deb.debian.org/debian sid main
Then update APT's database and install the fixed package from sid:

Code: Select all

# apt update
# apt install -t sid xserver-xorg-core
I will bump the thread when the buster version is fixed, at which point the package can be uninstalled and re-installed from buster instead.

The Debian Security Tracker page is here: https://security-tracker.debian.org/tra ... 2018-14665

To keep track of which sid packages are on the system, install the apt-show-versions package and run

Code: Select all

apt-show-versions | grep /sid
The output from my system:

Code: Select all

empty@buster:~ $ apt-show-versions | grep /sid                                     
xserver-common:all/sid 2:1.20.3-1 uptodate
xserver-xorg-core:amd64/sid 2:1.20.3-1 uptodate
empty@buster:~ $
8)

Happy testing!

[1] https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-a ... 00006.html
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Just had an update for the iptables package and it seems that Debian is moving over to nftables for the buster release:
/usr/share/doc/iptables/README.Debian wrote:nftables is the replacement of iptables by the Netfilter project.
You are encouraged to migrate now to nftables.
There are some new alternatives to allow people to continue using the old `iptables` framework:

Code: Select all

empty@buster:~ $ ls -l /etc/alternatives/iptables*                                 
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 22 Oct 30 17:51 /etc/alternatives/iptables -> /usr/sbin/iptables-nft
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 30 Oct 30 17:51 /etc/alternatives/iptables-restore -> /usr/sbin/iptables-nft-restore
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 Oct 30 17:51 /etc/alternatives/iptables-save -> /usr/sbin/iptables-nft-save
empty@buster:~ $
EDIT: note also the location of the binaries — the /usr merge continues...
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

Bulkley
Posts: 6173
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#3 Post by Bulkley »

Good idea. When I get time I'll clone my hard drive (for total backup), change sources and dist-upgrade the old fashioned way.

Yes, testing is important. It's time to test.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Yay! Thanks Bulkley!

Feel free to use this thread to post about any problems or issues, I was thinking of using this as triage area so that we can figure out if stuff is worth making a proper bug report or if it's just local misconfiguration.

This is my first time using testing so if anybody has any corrections, improvements or insults please do post them, thanks!
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#5 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

The fixed xserver-xorg-core package has now been moved to buster.

To track that version instead of the sid package installed earlier run

Code: Select all

# apt update && apt upgrade
# aptitude reinstall -t buster xserver-xorg-core
Then check the version installed with:

Code: Select all

empty@buster:~ $ apt-show-versions xserver-xorg-core                               
xserver-xorg-core:amd64/buster 2:1.20.3-1 uptodate
empty@buster:~ $
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
pawRoot
Posts: 584
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#6 Post by pawRoot »

Tried testing and sid, everything was working perfect except pip3 which was broken on both versions (can't remember the error though), so i went back to Stretch for now.

EDIT:

This is the error.
PC: i5-9600k @ 4.9GHz / RTX 2080 Ti / 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz / MSI Z390-E

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#7 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

pawRoot wrote:everything was working perfect except pip3
When did you test it?

It works for me now:

Code: Select all

empty@buster:~ $ pip3 install world                                       
Collecting world
  Downloading https://files.pythonhosted.org/packages/c3/f6/369da6782ac505a0d6666d4d506bcf56f65c5242c441f6e64616aeba2da1/world-4.0.tar.gz
Collecting atpublic (from world)
  Downloading https://files.pythonhosted.org/packages/1d/71/125eefdde54cf640eb2c22f868158fb0595fce1512c6c51201b105c44e63/atpublic-1.0.tar.gz
Collecting setuptools (from world)
  Downloading https://files.pythonhosted.org/packages/82/a1/ba6fb41367b375f5cb653d1317d8ca263c636cff6566e2da1b0da716069d/setuptools-40.5.0-py2.py3-none-any.whl (569kB)
    100% |████████████████████████████████| 573kB 1.3MB/s 
Building wheels for collected packages: world, atpublic
  Running setup.py bdist_wheel for world ... done
  Stored in directory: /home/empty/.cache/pip/wheels/d2/3a/b5/dbd026ee64b640c89a82a91a929e2589c4200a895853be9f9b
  Running setup.py bdist_wheel for atpublic ... done
  Stored in directory: /home/empty/.cache/pip/wheels/e1/26/5d/fb4b06bb9bb028e49b117b9bdb93c9875e751ff52f6b08aa27
Successfully built world atpublic
Installing collected packages: atpublic, setuptools, world
Successfully installed atpublic-1.0 setuptools-40.5.0 world-4.0
empty@buster:~ $ pip3 --version                                           
pip 9.0.1 from /usr/lib/python3/dist-packages (python 3.6)
empty@buster:~ $
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
pawRoot
Posts: 584
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#8 Post by pawRoot »

Like a week ago or so.
PC: i5-9600k @ 4.9GHz / RTX 2080 Ti / 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz / MSI Z390-E

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#9 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

^ The last update for the python3-pip package was back in May :?

https://xkcd.com/1987/?
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
pawRoot
Posts: 584
Joined: 2016-12-28 18:26
Location: Poland

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#10 Post by pawRoot »

I didn't modify/update pip so i have no idea why that happened, i only use it to install pipenv.
PC: i5-9600k @ 4.9GHz / RTX 2080 Ti / 32 GB DDR4 3200 MHz / MSI Z390-E

Bulkley
Posts: 6173
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#11 Post by Bulkley »

My first attempt at an upgrade didn't work. I had to quit when it couldn't find network/interfaces. There were a mess of problems including failed port scan and missing components. This is on an older machine (10+ years) which may or may not be an issue. Fortunately I have my full backup clone which I used to reinstall my Stretch so no loss. :D

Of note: I tried this with apt. Next time I'll use apt-get.

I'll try again in a couple of weeks.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13446
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#12 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Bulkley wrote:I tried this with apt. Next time I'll use apt-get.
^ Probably a good idea — the upgrade guide for stretch recommended

Code: Select all

# apt-get dist-upgrade
I think apt(8) uses similar algorithms as aptitude(8) and it is not recommended to use the latter tool when upgrading between releases.

Anyway, there is an alpha3 version of the installer (link in the OP) and `debootstrap` can be used to install testing/unstable directly.
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

Bulkley
Posts: 6173
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#13 Post by Bulkley »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote: . . . the upgrade guide for stretch recommended
Yeah, I knew that but I had a grey moment and habit took over. :roll:

Yes, I could install fresh but I want try the upgrade route at least once more just to test it. The forum has had lots of posts about upgrades causing problems.

Bulkley
Posts: 6173
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#14 Post by Bulkley »

Just to test, I installed the Buster kernel (4.18.0-2-amd64) on my Stretch system. So far, the only program that does not work is Thunderbird which kicks up the error message "Couldn't load XPCOM." This is a Mozilla message which is often associated with upgrades in either Linux or Windows. The usual advise is to re-install Thunderbird (or Firefox). Stretch uses version 1:60.2.1-2~deb9u1. Buster uses 1:52.9.1-1 which is an earlier version. Sid has a newer 1:60.3.0-1 which has not yet come down to Testing. Rather than messing with it I'll wait (I can still use the Stretch kernel).

The reason I'm posting this is that the same problem may surface when anyone does an upgrade to Buster.

Edited to add: there's an easy work-around for this. I downloaded the Thunderbird tarball and opened it in my user space. It runs quite well there and even uses all my previous settings. :D

Bulkley
Posts: 6173
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#15 Post by Bulkley »

Well, another afternoon wasted. I tried another upgrade to Buster using apt-get this time to no avail. It did the same thing as apt did. Why it can't find my Internet I don't know. Thankfully I had my Stretch clone and I'm back. I'll stay with Stretch for a while.

RichardWurth
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-11-20 01:15

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#16 Post by RichardWurth »

I'm testing on the alpha 3 iso, default desktop, some config is messed up somehow - my root account isn't set up right. I didn't do anything. I go in a terminal and do 'su' to switch to root, and it doesn't update my path to include sbin directory. I get output like this when trying apt upgrade:

After this operation, 262 MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
Reading changelogs... Done
Preconfiguring packages ...
dpkg: warning: 'ldconfig' not found in PATH or not executable
dpkg: warning: 'start-stop-daemon' not found in PATH or not executable
dpkg: error: 2 expected programs not found in PATH or not executable
Note: root's PATH should usually contain /usr/local/sbin, /usr/sbin and /sbin
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (2)

Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this

User avatar
4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 2683
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09
Been thanked: 18 times

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#17 Post by 4D696B65 »

RichardWurth wrote: Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this
This has been talked about for weeks.

User avatar
GarryRicketson
Posts: 5871
Joined: 2015-01-20 22:16
Location: Durango, Mexico

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#18 Post by GarryRicketson »

Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this
Yes, it is kind of old news, all though it had been submitted as a bug, it is not a bug, it is a feature :
Tue, 31 Jul 2018 09:18:06 +0200
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=904988
I thought I (or something) had hosed my system, but it turns out this
change is by design. After reading more closely the changelog I read

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=90483

and

https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... bug=833256

> To me this mostly seems like a(nother) case of "always use 'su -',
> never su".


Feel free to close this bug, sorry for the noise.
=====

I think you need to use

Code: Select all

su -
now, have you tried that ?
Last edited by GarryRicketson on 2018-11-20 02:24, edited 1 time in total.

RichardWurth
Posts: 2
Joined: 2018-11-20 01:15

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#19 Post by RichardWurth »

4D696B65 wrote:
RichardWurth wrote: Works ok if I do 'su -l' instead. I wonder if anyone else encounters this
This has been talked about for weeks.
first post on this forum. tx admin

@Garry - Interesting, thanks

jnhollow
Posts: 1
Joined: 2018-12-02 17:55

Re: Debian buster: are you testing?

#20 Post by jnhollow »

Had the same problem with "su -". Took awhile to figure that out.
I've been running Buster for more than a year and everything has been very smooth for me, except when I personally killed it and had to restore. That's when that "su -" caused problems. I did a minimal installation with only the system utilities and then proceeded to install only what I needed. Using the Mate desktop, LibreOffice, 2 network printers (32 bit) etc. I am now using it for my everyday system.
It's fast and clean.

Post Reply