Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Pure Wayland anyone?

Off-Topic discussions about science, technology, and non Debian specific topics.
bedtime

Pure Wayland anyone?

#1 Post by bedtime »

Anyone just running Wayland and not X? I'm talking about running Wayland with no Xorg on the system, and no xwayland.

Currently, I have this installed:

sway window manager (a Wayland version of i3)
firefox (which can be run under pure Wayland)
mpv (to play videos)
aria2 (cli torrent)
foot (terminal)
iwd (internet)

I'm quite new to this experience, so I'd like to know what other people are doing with it and what one can run on it.

canci
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Pure Wayland anyone?

#2 Post by canci »

I'm planning on migrating soon.
Current showstoppers for me:
Gimp still being compiled with GTK2 plus some custom scripts using X tools for pasting into the clipboard.
Other than that, I'm good to go. It's probably going to be Sway.
Pitty the Waybox window manager is still early days. I'd love to continue using Openbox.
Image Stable / Asus VivoBook X421DA / AMD Ryzen 7 3700U / Radeon Vega Mobile Gfx (Picasso) / 8 GB RAM / 512GB NVMe

READ THIS:

* How to Post a Thread Here
* Other Tips and Great Resources

bedtime

#3 Post by bedtime »

canci wrote: 2021-11-30 11:28 I'm planning on migrating soon.
Current showstoppers for me:
Gimp still being compiled with GTK2 plus some custom scripts using X tools for pasting into the clipboard.
Other than that, I'm good to go. It's probably going to be Sway.
Pitty the Waybox window manager is still early days. I'd love to continue using Openbox.
One good thing is that I think almost all the new gnome apps are compatible with wayland.