Debian GNU/Hurd.

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
hack3rcon
Posts: 530
Joined: 2015-02-16 09:54

Re: Debian GNU/Hurd.

#16 Post by hack3rcon »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:See also https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=248330 — our OP started a thread there about Arch Hurd but it was quickly TGN'd and turned into a social thread, which was nice.

seL4 ftw!
I just want to know more. If the hurd kernel is old and useless then why Debian released a new of it!!

User avatar
Bloom
Posts: 365
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23

Re: Debian GNU/Hurd.

#17 Post by Bloom »

Debian doesn't release the hurd kernel, they just offer a Debian distribution based on it. Why? Because they can. Debian is a non-profit, so they don't have to look at what's commercial or not.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 13450
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: /dev/chair

Re: Debian GNU/Hurd.

#18 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

sunrat wrote:What's TGN?
The Arch forums have a section called Topics Going Nowhere which is used as a storage area for threads of little or no technical value, when a thread is sent there the moderators say it has been TGN'n. It is only accessible by members and so is out of reach of the search engines, which is why the link is dead for you.
hack3rcon wrote:the hurd kernel
GNU Hurd uses the Mach microkernel. Ask a search engine about it, looks like you could do with the practice :mrgreen:
Black Lives Matter

Debian buster-backports ISO image: for new hardware support

User avatar
pylkko
Posts: 1801
Joined: 2014-11-06 19:02

Re: Debian GNU/Hurd.

#19 Post by pylkko »

hack3rcon wrote: I just want to know more. If the hurd kernel is old and useless then why Debian released a new of it!!
Maybe because it is not useless?? You concluded from "it is not very useful to many users right now" that it is "useless". That's like if a farmer inquired how useful the rain outside might be for his crops... and someone told him that "well it is not raining that much now", and the farmer would conclude from that that "it is not raining at all/rain is useless". It just logically does not follow...

Also remember that it is 0.9, now, and presumably will be called 1.0 when it is "ready"

Post Reply