Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Block devices called loops

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Sadrax

Block devices called loops

#1 Post by Sadrax »

Hi,
I used the command "lsblk" on my Debian GNU/Linux in order to see my block devices, but I noticed that there are some devices called loops. What are they and what is the purpose to keep them on the OS? I'll put a link to Imgur so that you could see the Terminal with the output. I'll be grateful for every helpful comment. Have a nice day! :D

https://imgur.com/a/dJMn2lw

ticojohn

Re: Block devices called loops

#2 Post by ticojohn »

I'm not an expert, but those loop devices are files that have been mounted as devices. The following is quoted from a post at this url
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... n-mounting
Loop device is a device driver that allows you to mount a file that acts as a block device (a loop device is not actually a device type, it's an ordinary file).
So, all those snap packages have been mounted as block devices.
I am not irrational, I'm just quantum probabilistic.

Sadrax

#3 Post by Sadrax »

ticojohn wrote: 2021-09-24 14:35 I'm not an expert, but those loop devices are files that have been mounted as devices. The following is quoted from a post at this url
https://unix.stackexchange.com/question ... n-mounting
Loop device is a device driver that allows you to mount a file that acts as a block device (a loop device is not actually a device type, it's an ordinary file).
So, all those snap packages have been mounted as block devices.
Are these snap packages essential for system? I can't remember if I installed snap or if snap is installed automatically.

steve_v
df -h | grep > 20TiB