Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

New User, Setting up Debian (Suspend issue)

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
supersoup

New User, Setting up Debian (Suspend issue)

#1 Post by supersoup »

Hello,

I'm still somewhat new to the world of GNU/Linux, so I thought this might best fit in Beginners' Questions. Forgive me if it's not the right forum.

I set up Debian 11 last night, and have been having some issues since. The one I'm grappling with at the moment is that I'm seemingly unable to suspend. I've been following hacky rabbit trails to try and resolve it. I'll try to document the steps I've taken as well as any possibly useful info regarding my setup process. I'm hoping a more experienced user will also have comments unrelated to the Suspend issue on better practices.

lsb_release -a

Code: Select all

Distributor ID:	Debian
Description:	Debian GNU/Linux 11 (bullseye)
Release:	11
Codename:	bullseye
I'm using Cinnamon for the desktop environment
cinnamon --version

Cinnamon 4.8.6
First up, during installation I selected "Force UEFI Mode [...]: no", as it detected that I have "another OS in BIOS-compatibility mode" which is a Windows 10 installation. I confirmed via the BIOS that Windows 10 doesn't seem to be using UEFI. Note that I had to boot the Installation Media into UEFI for some reason or else I got garbled video output. I also did Guided partitioning with LVM, using the whole disk. This defaulted to 1GiB(?) of a swap partition and the rest of my 1TB Debian installation drive as the root partition.