Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Trouble installing snaps

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
quartztz

Trouble installing snaps

#1 Post by quartztz »

hey there! sorry if this is a dumb question/i'm not following proper forum etiquette, this is my first time on here. i'm running debian 11 on my chromebook through crostini, and i wanted to install snap packages. so i ran

Code: Select all

sudo apt install snapd
which ran without issue, and then as a test, i tried installing firefox. however, i got this message:

$ sudo snap install firefox
error: cannot perform the following tasks:
- Setup snap "firefox" (863) security profiles (cannot setup udev for snap "firefox": cannot run udev triggers: exit status 1
udev output:
Failed to write 'change' to '/sys/devices/LNXSYSTM:00/uevent': Permission denied
)
- Setup snap "firefox" (863) security profiles (cannot run udev triggers: exit status 1
udev output:
Failed to write 'change' to '/sys/devices/LNXSYSTM:00/uevent': Permission denied
)
- Setup snap "firefox" (863) security profiles for auto-connections (cannot run udev triggers: exit status 1
udev output:
)
does anybody know what's causing this? is it the fact i'm running through crostini?

thanks in advance for any and all kinds of help!! :3

kedaha

Re: Trouble installing snaps

#2 Post by kedaha »

DebianStable

$ vrms

No non-free or contrib packages installed on debian!  rms would be proud.

quartztz

#3 Post by quartztz »

thanks for the suggestion! unfortunately, i tried all the suggested steps and it seems nothing has changed, i get the same errors as before :(

Shamak

#4 Post by Shamak »