Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

New to debian. I would like to use timeshift with a btrfs /

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
Post Reply
Message
Author
slayd
Posts: 5
Joined: 2022-09-25 01:19
Been thanked: 1 time

New to debian. I would like to use timeshift with a btrfs /

#1 Post by slayd »

I could not find a way to create a @ subvolume to use timeshift with btrfs. The installation creates @rootfs instead.

Is there a way to change @rootfs to @?

If not, is there a way to specify creating @ instead of @rootfs in the installation process?

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: New to debian. I would like to use timeshift with a btrfs /

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Code: Select all

# mount /dev/sdXY /mnt
# mv /mnt/{@rootfs,@}
# umount /mnt
# sed -i 's/@rootfs/@/g' /etc/fstab
# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
# reboot
Replace X & Y with the drive letter & partition number assigned to your btrfs system.

To install to /@ directly during installation use debootstrap.

EDIT: actually I'm not sure if grub-mkconfig will pick up the new subvolume name correctly so check grub.cfg afterwards; you may have to run the sed command on that file as well if it doesn't list the correct identifiers.
deadbang

mjdtjm
Posts: 4
Joined: 2012-03-26 12:14

Re: New to debian. I would like to use timeshift with a btrfs /

#3 Post by mjdtjm »

After doing these steps:

Code: Select all

# mount /dev/sdXY /mnt
# mv /mnt/{@rootfs,@}
# umount /mnt
# sed -i 's/@rootfs/@/g' /etc/fstab
# grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
do this:

Code: Select all

# grub-install
# reboot
if forget 'grub-install' (as Head_on_a_Stick did at above) you give the damn grub> prompt on reboot!

Post Reply