Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Can I move system disk to new hardware?

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
bdz

Can I move system disk to new hardware?

#1 Post by bdz »

I'm going to be assembling a new AMD Ryzen 5 5600X based system. I'm wondering if I can simply install my current system drive on the new system. I.e. not buy another ssd drive and not reinstall debian.

I'm currently running Debian 4.19.181-1 on an Intel Core i7-4790K system.

I would think that the kernel would install the correct drivers when the system is booted but I don't really know anything about how drivers are selected and loaded. I've never tried anything like this before.

Any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

thanks

wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Can I move system disk to new hardware?

#2 Post by wizard10000 »

bdz wrote:I would think that the kernel would install the correct drivers when the system is booted...
Depends on a lot of things. Debian will install the correct firmware and drivers if they're available so I think your biggest concern is gonna be getting the network up and running. Would be wise to insure that network firmware and drivers (and amd-ucode) for the new machine are on disk before you put the disk in the new machine. Worst case you can tether an Android device and install firmware and drivers that way.

If your video card is recent AMD you may also need firmware for that on disk.

Not positive but I think that 4.19 kernel may be a little old for a new Ryzen so I'd strongly recommend grabbing the 5.10 kernel from buster-backports.

Hope this helps -
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

bdz

#3 Post by bdz »