Creating BTRFS subvolumes on top of already setup BTFRS filesystems

Kernels, Network, and Services configuration
4joeyirosh1

Creating BTRFS subvolumes on top of already setup BTFRS filesystems

#1 Post by 4joeyirosh1 »

Hi!I have Debian 11 64 bit installed on my machine.Just to mention in advance,I am no Debian expert so maybe I havent framed my question correctly thus forgive and correct me if I am asking my questions below from a point of ignorance.I am here to learn.

I have BTRFS linux partitions and also Windows partitions as I have a dual boot Windows 10 Debian 11 machine.My partitions are as shown below from gparted.

Thus I have BTRFS filesystems.When I did my Debian installation,I never created BTFRS subvolumes and this is giving me problems doing timeshift restores especially if I have stored backup on external drive and needed to restore this or if I have corrupted my boot or root partitions and I need to restore from a live CD.When I try the live CD restore option I get error below

Thus I assume I need to create BTRFS subvolumes to enable the restores to take place but I already have data in my linux partitions like root,boot and home and I assume that if I tried to create BTRFS sub-volumes it might compromise my current files in these BTRFS filesystems rendering my debian unusable.Is this the case?

Hence what I am asking is if I can create BTRFS subvolumes on top of my BTFRS filesystems and still retain exact files and file structures of my root,boot,home partitions and have my Debian remain usable as before and still achive Timeshift restores and how do I go about this?

I hope I have framed my question properly and if it looks like a weird question to ask recall I am no linux expert.

bester69

Re: Creating BTRFS subvolumes on top of already setup BTFRS filesystems

#2 Post by bester69 »

think of subvolumes as if they were regular folders that works like logical btrfs partitions..