Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian 10.10 won't boot after auto-remove

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
colins2

Debian 10.10 won't boot after auto-remove

#1 Post by colins2 »

I've been using Debian for a couple of years and have applied updates when advertised without any problems.
Yesterday I was trying to update a library from a repo and after the update I got the message that x packages were updated and that I should run auto-remove to get rid of redundant packages.
I have never run auto-remove before and I really wish I hadn't done so now!
My Debian installation will now not boot. I get the message that it failed to load a kernel module.
I downloaded and put the live system on a usb stick and booted from there but couldn't really see why it wouldn't boot and I have a nasty suspicion that I may have to re-install.
Next I booted and selected the recovery mode and looked at the journal log end eventually found the line that the system copuld not load the nvidia module as the file was not present - thanks auto-remove!

My question is: how can I force Debian to boot in default mode (nouveau?) so that I can re-install the nvidia drivers? As it is now, I cannot boot the system at all.
I have other OSs, Windoze, Mint and Devuan so I still have a computer to work with but all my development tools are on the Debian setup so I really do not want to have to re-install everything.

Any assistance gratefully received......

Hallvor
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: Debian 10.10 won't boot after auto-remove

#2 Post by Hallvor »