Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian 11 Bullseye dual monitor freezes after locking it and more...

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
linuxnewbie137

Debian 11 Bullseye dual monitor freezes after locking it and more...

#1 Post by linuxnewbie137 »

Hello everybody! This is my first post.

I just joined here as my last resort, after ~2 weeks of search, before I move to another distro. As you can see in my name I am new to linux, not entirely though, and run away it's not my type. So, here is the problem(s):

After a fresh net install of Debian 11 (Bullseye) -there is no dual boot or anything- I stared the customization of my desktop, during the lock screen customization I noticed that when I lock up my session the screen freezes, however it may be available again in a random future time, alt+f2 (connect into tty session - no GUI just terminal) works and I am able to hear a youtube sound, if there is any playing at the time. I found out two things here:

1) That freeze goes away if I remove the second monitor.

2) My system doesn't have a xorg.conf file. So, if I auto configure the xorg (Xorg -configure) and place the xorg.conf into /etc/X1/xorg.conf.d/ directory then the lock screen freeze goes away as well, BUT! glitches appear.

I am not sure about where should I look, but I have looked at dmesg, .xsession-errors and journalctl.

.xsession-errors doesn't seem to contain something relevant to this case, I am not an expert though.

The only clues I have on screen freeze or glitches, are:

1) "[TTM] Buffer eviction failed"

2) "nouveau 0000:01:00.0: firmware: failed to load nouveau/nv84_xuc00f (-2)"