Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[solved] GNOME doesn't display German menus

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Onsemeliot
Posts: 333
Joined: 2010-12-15 14:43
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 5 times

[solved] GNOME doesn't display German menus

#1 Post by Onsemeliot »

On a ThinkPad S440 I have installed Debian Buster and the person using it now wants to have a German desktop. Which I figure in principle shouldn't be a problem. In GNOME's "Region & Language" settings everything is set to German but the GNOME user interface still won't show up in German, which is reflected if I follow the Debian wiki:

Code: Select all

$ env | grep LANG
LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
GDM_LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
I can temporarily change the first variable by using: "export LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8". But when I run: "/usr/sbin/dpkg-reconfigure locales" everything seems already set properly. Nevertheless, I finish the routine and do a reboot as recommended in the wiki. But unfortunately the "LANGUAGE" variable always returns back to "en_GB:en". What am I missing?
Last edited by Onsemeliot on 2020-09-07 17:58, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sickpig
Posts: 592
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#2 Post by sickpig »

Use

Code: Select all

localectl
make language changes persistent

User avatar
Onsemeliot
Posts: 333
Joined: 2010-12-15 14:43
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#3 Post by Onsemeliot »

Thank you very much. Unfortunately, I still don't get it:

Code: Select all

$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
$ export LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8
$ env | grep LANG
LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8
GDM_LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
                  LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
$ localectl set-locale LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8
$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
$ localectl set-locale LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
user@debian:~$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
                  LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
$ localectl set-locale de_AT.UTF-8
$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
                  LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
$ localectl set-locale LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8
$ localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
Even after a reboot the LANGUAGE variable still won't change ... and of course the menus stay always English. Is it likely that I messed up the configuration somehow and that I should just make a clean install instead?

User avatar
sickpig
Posts: 592
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#4 Post by sickpig »

try as root

User avatar
Onsemeliot
Posts: 333
Joined: 2010-12-15 14:43
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#5 Post by Onsemeliot »

That doesn't seem to change anything:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password: 
# localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
                  LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
# localectl set-locale de_AT.UTF-8
# localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
                  LANGUAGE=en_GB:en
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
# localectl set-locale LANGUAGE=de_AT.UTF-8
# localectl
   System Locale: LANG=de_AT.UTF-8
       VC Keymap: n/a
      X11 Layout: de
       X11 Model: pc105
After a reboot it is exactly the same as at the beginning of this code snippet.

User avatar
sickpig
Posts: 592
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#6 Post by sickpig »

does https://wiki.debian.org/Locale#Manually help?
Maybe I am missing something which needs to be installed for it to work in gnome.
Onsemeliot wrote:Is it likely that I messed up the configuration somehow and that I should just make a clean install instead?
Or you can just purge gnome and then check if the de language persists? If yes then re-install gnome. Easier than complete re-install.

cuckooflew
Posts: 677
Joined: 2018-05-10 19:34
Location: Some where out west
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#7 Post by cuckooflew »

Seems like years ago I ran into the same problem, I had installed it using the English selection, and then later my son wanted it in Spanish, I never did figure out a way to change the entire system to Spanish, so I re-installed, using the Spanish install, and everything worked fine, it was all in spanish. But that does not mean there is not some way to change it, I just never figured out any way,
==== edit ====
BUT, I just noticed , in your code snippet:
That doesn't seem to change anything:

Code: Select all

$ su
Password:
# localectl ----
----snip---- 
After a reboot it is exactly the same as at the beginning of this code snippet.
You should be using:su -

Code: Select all

$ su -
Password:
# localectl ---- 
Not 'su' , it won't work the same, as expected. Maybe try with 'su -' and see.
Please Read What we expect you have already Done
Search Engines know a lot, and
"If God had wanted computers to work all the time, He wouldn't have invented RESET buttons"
and
Just say NO to help vampires!

User avatar
sickpig
Posts: 592
Joined: 2019-01-23 10:34
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#8 Post by sickpig »

cuckooflew wrote:You should be using:su -
Great catch cuckooflew!

User avatar
Onsemeliot
Posts: 333
Joined: 2010-12-15 14:43
Has thanked: 20 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: GNOME doesn't display German menus

#9 Post by Onsemeliot »

Unfortunately, the "-" didn't change anything. And purging "GNOME" didn't help either. So I just created a backup and did a fresh installation. Now everything works as intended.

Thank you for all your recommendations.

Post Reply