[SOLVED] KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

Desktop Environments and Multimedia
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
quixote
Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-10-15 02:51
Location: Dreaming of alpacas

[SOLVED] KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#1 Post by quixote »

I upgraded, rather than doing a clean install, from buster to bullseye because I didn't want to re-do customizations. But it may well be that one of them is stopping normal function of the desktop.

Everything works okay, except right-click on the desktop. It does not bring up a context menu, so I can't easily change settings.

Anyone have an idea what I may have done and how to fix it? I've looked at ~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc but don't see anything obvious (to me).
Last edited by quixote on 2021-05-26 05:50, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
sunrat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3659
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#2 Post by sunrat »

Works here but my Bullseye is a fresh install. Have a look in ~/.xsessionerrors or maybe journalctl. You could create a new user to see if that's affected, it may narrow it down to an issue in user profile rather than system-wide.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

User avatar
Hallvor
Posts: 1179
Joined: 2009-04-16 18:35
Location: Kristiansand, Norway
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#3 Post by Hallvor »

A malfunctioning plasmoid took my whole desktop down when I upgraded, so consider yourself lucky. :wink:

As sunrat says, add a new user to isolate the problem.

This will show the latest entries first. Try right clicking the desktop and see if something turns up:

Code: Select all

# journalctl -r
Lenovo ThinkPad T440S, Intel Core i7-4600U CPU @ 2.10GHz, 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD, Debian Bullseye (KDE)
Lenovo ThinkPad X240, Intel Core i5-4300U CPU @ 2.90GHz, 8 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD, Debian Bullseye (KDE)

User avatar
NFT5
Posts: 440
Joined: 2014-10-10 11:38
Location: Canberra, Australia
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#4 Post by NFT5 »

Click on desktop to give it the focus.
Alt+DS
Mouse Actions
Set what you like.
Apply & Exit

User avatar
quixote
Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-10-15 02:51
Location: Dreaming of alpacas

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#5 Post by quixote »

Thanks for the suggestions.

Code: Select all

#journalctl -r
looks like it might have useful info, but I don't know enough to figure it out.

I'll try the new user idea. As you say, that'll narrow it down a bit.

Alt-DS gets a popup for Activities, which I've never used (seems like just an added layer of complication for a non-multitasker?), but I'll read up on it to learn more.

User avatar
quixote
Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-10-15 02:51
Location: Dreaming of alpacas

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#6 Post by quixote »

It's something somewhere in my user's config files.

A new user has all the usual right-click functionality.

So how might I go about fixing my setup? I'd really really really prefer not to have to re-do everything set up since dog's years ago. (I've been using Debian since 2007 or 2009. I did a clean install in 2017 (?). I remember it took days, *weeks*, to get everything set back up. Interferes with my workflow something awful when things aren't where they "belong." It's all muscle memory by now.

Anyway. I hope I can fix it! I need ideas where to start looking though. :?: :?: :?:

User avatar
quixote
Posts: 107
Joined: 2009-10-15 02:51
Location: Dreaming of alpacas

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#7 Post by quixote »

Turns out the answer is simple. Finding it was a bear though. Finally stumbled on it in a reddit thread.

My ~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc had somehow lost the following line right at the beginning of the file:

Code: Select all

[ActionPlugins][0]
RightButton;NoModifier=org.kde.contextmenu
After adding that back in and rebooting, the desktop right click works as expected again.

User avatar
sunrat
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 3659
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Bullseye, KDE plasma, Desktop right-click does nothing

#8 Post by sunrat »

quixote wrote:Turns out the answer is simple. Finding it was a bear though. Finally stumbled on it in a reddit thread.

My ~/.config/plasma-org.kde.plasma.desktop-appletsrc had somehow lost the following line right at the beginning of the file:

Code: Select all

[ActionPlugins][0]
RightButton;NoModifier=org.kde.contextmenu
After adding that back in and rebooting, the desktop right click works as expected again.
Good find! Please edit the title of your first post to prepend [Solved] so it will help anyone else searching for the same issue.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

Post Reply