Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

Desktop Environments and Multimedia
Post Reply
Message
Author
fenestren
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-05-14 20:40

Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#1 Post by fenestren »

Hi everybody.

Audio on my pc works without problems with Ubuntu 20.04 LTS.
If I install Debian 10 (GNOME) my audio works just after the first reboot post installation then stops working after the first apt update/upgrade.

Since I strongly need to use Debian 10 can you please help me?

Thank you.

Code: Select all

root@imedia:~# lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller (rev 05)

root@imedia:~# cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xfe520000 irq 35

root@imedia:~# cat /proc/asound/modules
 0 snd_hda_intel

root@imedia:~# arecord -l
**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
No protocol specified
xcb_connection_has_error() ha restituito VERO
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC892 Analog [ALC892 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 2: ALC892 Alt Analog [ALC892 Alt Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
root@imedia:~# arecord -L
No protocol specified
xcb_connection_has_error() ha restituito VERO
No protocol specified
xcb_connection_has_error() ha restituito VERO
null
    Discard all samples (playback) or generate zero samples (capture)
jack
    JACK Audio Connection Kit
pulse
    PulseAudio Sound Server
default:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Default Audio Device
sysdefault:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Default Audio Device
front:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Front speakers
dmix:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dmix:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Alt Analog
    Direct sample mixing device
dsnoop:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
dsnoop:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Alt Analog
    Direct sample snooping device
hw:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
hw:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Alt Analog
    Direct hardware device without any conversions
plughw:CARD=PCH,DEV=0
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
plughw:CARD=PCH,DEV=2
    HDA Intel PCH, ALC892 Alt Analog
    Hardware device with all software conversions
usbstream:CARD=PCH
    HDA Intel PCH
    USB Stream Output

root@imedia:~# sudo lsmod | grep "snd"
snd_hda_codec_realtek   122880  1
snd_hda_codec_generic    86016  1 snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_intel          49152  6
snd_hda_codec         151552  3 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hda_core           94208  4 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek
snd_hwdep              16384  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm               114688  4 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_core
snd_timer              36864  1 snd_pcm
snd                    94208  18 snd_hda_codec_generic,snd_hwdep,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_timer,snd_pcm
soundcore              16384  1 snd

root@imedia:~# dpkg -l pulseaudio | grep ii 
ii  pulseaudio     12.2-4+deb10u1 amd64        PulseAudio sound server

root@imedia:~# dpkg -l alsa | grep ii
dpkg-query: nessun pacchetto corrispondente a alsa

root@imedia:~# ps aux | grep [p]ulseaudio
luca      1893  0.1  0.2 2493792 28760 ?       S<sl 18:53   0:34 /usr/bin/pulseaudio --daemonize=no
root      3292  0.0  0.0    200     4 ?        S    18:53   0:00 s6-supervise pulseaudio
root      3294  0.0  0.2  93096 21380 ?        S<sl 18:53   0:06 pulseaudio --system -vvv --disallow-exit --exit-idle-time=-1 --disable-shm

root@imedia:~# ps aus | grep [a]lsa
error: conflicting format options

Usage:
 ps [options]

 Try 'ps --help <simple|list|output|threads|misc|all>'
  or 'ps --help <s|l|o|t|m|a>'
 for additional help text.

For more details see ps(1).






User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Posts: 385
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#2 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

Have you checked in Gnome audio settings that the right source is selected? Also try alsamixer and check the output is not muted. Have you rebooted after the update? Maybe pulseaudio just needs a restart? What does

Code: Select all

$ amixer
say?

fenestren
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-05-14 20:40

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#3 Post by fenestren »

Hi!
I reinstalled Debian 10 and, before updating/upgrading everything, I cheched the audio and everything works fine.
Then I repeated the same controls as before (same commands via terminal) and I found these differences (see picture inside the link).

https://imgur.com/p3mIaL0

User avatar
4D696B65
Site admin
Site admin
Posts: 2623
Joined: 2009-06-28 06:09
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#4 Post by 4D696B65 »

fenestren wrote:Hi!
I reinstalled Debian 10 and, before updating/upgrading everything, I cheched the audio and everything works fine.
Then I repeated the same controls as before (same commands via terminal) and I found these differences (see picture inside the link).

https://imgur.com/p3mIaL0
What exactly got upgraded?
check /var/log/apt/history.log

User avatar
FreewheelinFrank
Posts: 385
Joined: 2010-06-07 16:59

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#5 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

fenestren wrote:Hi!
I reinstalled Debian 10 and, before updating/upgrading everything, I cheched the audio and everything works fine.
Then I repeated the same controls as before (same commands via terminal) and I found these differences (see picture inside the link).

https://imgur.com/p3mIaL0
Some entries seem to have appeared under root for pulseaudio.

Did you update logged in as root by any chance?

aus9
Posts: 6
Joined: 2012-05-07 04:21

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#6 Post by aus9 »

I have alc892. In this post pulseaudio=PA

In addition to the questions already asked....you appear to have some commands not quite right try

Code: Select all

dpkg -l | grep alsa

# most people need sound out so try
aplay -l
1 It appears you have no HDMI outputs. Did you use pavucontrol to disable HDMI?
2 Which device do you want sound out....and how
eg laptop speakers....would be analog
eg monitor speakers ....most likely hdmi
eg surround sound, using 3.5 mm jacks....would be analog

3) If you are not using PA because you want analog out, its safe to disable PA but do not uninstall it....it makes a mess.

4) But if you want to see a GUI and GUI panel volume applet you may need to re-look at PA I suggest the following
....as FreewheelinFrank has already pointed out....we do this as local user not as root please

Code: Select all

pulseaudio -vvv
# wait.....report any errors....if none
pavucontrol....go to config tab and ensure your analog is not disabled and output tabs for volume level
# alternatively terminal command...should bring up your analog device
alsamixer -c0 
There is more to be done to save mixer levels using alsa...but lets just see if any are muted or too low?

Note that pavucontrol has....inferior icon support to show muted sound....that icon top left hand corner of output devices says "mute"
clicking it....should grey out your volumes levels if NOT muted....and make volumes levels non-grey if they were muted
Good Luck

fenestren
Posts: 4
Joined: 2021-05-14 20:40

Re: Audio doesn't work on Buster but on Ubuntu

#7 Post by fenestren »

Hi everybody!
I have the same problem also on another: this time it's a laptop (HP Elitebook).
This time I noticed that the problem occurs at every restart of the machine.
Please have a look on this viewtopic.php?f=6&t=149812
I'm starting to think to a problem into the installation/updating/upgrading procedure...

Thank you so much.

Post Reply