Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
ramack
Posts: 465
Joined: 2008-01-28 15:31
Location: Centennial, CO
Has thanked: 1 time

Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#1 Post by ramack »

Hi,

I'm having trouble scanning via WiFi with my Epson WF-3720 and need help troubleshooting. At home, I have three Epson multi-function printers. A WF-2750 I've had for several years and has worked fine. A WorkForrce 845 and WF-3720 I recently picked up, are used but new to me and I'm getting them set up. I'm having some trouble scanning with the WF-3720 over WiFi. All three are installed and seen in cups.

The printers:
WF 845 (print & scan over WiFi)
WF 2750 (print & scan over WiFi)
WF 3720 (print over WiFi, scan only via USB connection)

From Epson's site, I've DL'd and installed imagescan-bundle-debian-10-3.65.0.x64.deb without error. Xsane, simple-scan and imagescan do not detect the 3720, but do find the 845 & 2750 without issue. The 3720 will scan, but only when I connect to my desktop via USB. The scans are great, no issue with USB. If I have all three powered up and connected to WiFi, simple-scan finds the 845 and 2750, but not the 3720. The past couple of days I have since powered off the two and only the 3720 is powered on.

My desktop box:

Code: Select all

$ uname -a
Linux RDesktopDeb 4.19.0-17-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.19.194-2 (2021-06-21) x86_64 GNU/Linux

$ lsb_release -a
No LSB modules are available.
Distributor ID:	Debian
Description:	Debian GNU/Linux 10 (buster)
Release:	10
Codename:	buster
The commands below do not detect the WF-3720 unless it's connected via USB

Code: Select all

sudo -s lpinfo -v | grep -P '://'
sudo -s sane-find-scanner 
sudo -s scanimage -L
I've tried adding the printer's IP address to /etc/sane.d/saned.conf, /etc/sane.d/epson.conf and /etc/sane.d/epson2.conf. No change.

I'm guessing that it's something with sane not being able to find it for some reason over WiFi. I'm stumped...and don't know what else to look for. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rich
homemade AMD64, Acer AspireOne 150, Asus eeePC 900, i386; Testing
i386,Dell Vostro 1000 AMD64, Dell Inspiron 1100; Sid
XFCE on all.

arzgi
Posts: 853
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Been thanked: 6 times

Re: Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#2 Post by arzgi »

I have no experience of wifi scanning, but searched a bit, and seems you have to specify the ip address of your scanner in /etc/sane.d/net.conf.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/SANE/S ... c_problems

brian_p
Posts: 154
Joined: 2015-11-05 10:32

Re: Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#3 Post by brian_p »

ramack wrote: 2021-07-25 19:22 Hi,

I'm having trouble scanning via WiFi with my Epson WF-3720 ...
Hello ramack

Please provide

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _ipp._tcp

Code: Select all

avahi-browse -rt _uscan._tcp
avahi-browse is in the avahi-utils package.
Last edited by brian_p on 2021-07-30 14:25, edited 1 time in total.
--
Brian.

brian_p
Posts: 154
Joined: 2015-11-05 10:32

Re: Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#4 Post by brian_p »

arzgi wrote: 2021-07-26 14:35 I have no experience of wifi scanning, but searched a bit, and seems you have to specify the ip address of your scanner in /etc/sane.d/net.conf.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/SANE/S ... c_problems
Note that sane-net(5) has this in its DESCRIPTION:
This makes it possible to control devices attached to a remote host...
The emphasis is mine. The implication is that the device is USB-connected. In fact, the net backend is used to export a USB-attached device over the network. See https://wiki.debian.org/SaneOverNetwork.
--
Brian.

ramack
Posts: 465
Joined: 2008-01-28 15:31
Location: Centennial, CO
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#5 Post by ramack »

Bigger fish are in the pan, so I haven't had time to debug more since the weekend. Short story...since then I've purged the epson packages which ending up breaking something such that none of the printers are detected except the WF-2750 which I've been able to install in CUPS, but haven't tried to scan yet. This printer is now upstairs, so connecting via USB isn't an option.

Thanks for responding Brian.
Rich
homemade AMD64, Acer AspireOne 150, Asus eeePC 900, i386; Testing
i386,Dell Vostro 1000 AMD64, Dell Inspiron 1100; Sid
XFCE on all.

brian_p
Posts: 154
Joined: 2015-11-05 10:32

Re: Problem scanning with an Epson WF-3720

#6 Post by brian_p »

ramack wrote: 2021-07-31 02:06 Bigger fish are in the pan, so I haven't had time to debug more since the weekend. Short story...since then I've purged the epson packages which ending up breaking something such that none of the printers are detected except the WF-2750 which I've been able to install in CUPS, but haven't tried to scan yet. This printer is now upstairs, so connecting via USB isn't an option.

Thanks for responding Brian.
Rich
OK Rich,

The commands I gave were intended to be used with a wireless connection, which is what I thought you are using. Setting up via USB was not my intention.
--
Brian.

Post Reply