Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#1 Post by maximus1978 »

I am trying to get the sound working out of the second audio card.

Code: Select all

inxi -Ax
Audio:     Card-1 Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Card-2 NVIDIA GK208 HDMI/DP Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 01:00.1
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-8-amd64
I want /dev/dsp to use the second audio card.

maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#2 Post by maximus1978 »

Code: Select all

modprobe snd-pcm-oss
I noticed that when I remove this with
rmmod snd-pcm-oss
It removes /dev/dsp and some other directories in

/proc/asound/card1/pcm7p/oss

oss directory specifically

When modprobe kernel module back....

modpobe snd-pcm-oss

/dev/dsp is back

I want to map this to the second audio card to use /dev/dsp which is what Wolfenstein Enemy Territory uses.
Last edited by maximus1978 on 2020-04-10 17:39, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 132 times

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#3 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ad ... sound_card?

Or use pavucontrol if you're running PulseAudio.

Your super-secret, mystery desktop environment may also have it's own tool to set the audio output device.
deadbang

maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#4 Post by maximus1978 »

Code: Select all

rmmod -v snd-pcm-oss

Code: Select all

modprobe -v snd-pcm-oss adsp_map=0,7
I checked for the /dev/adsp

There were 2.

Code: Select all

ls /dev/adsp
adsp   adsp1  

Code: Select all

rm /dev/dsp 
ln -s /dev/adsp1 /dev/dsp
file /dev/dsp
/dev/dsp: symbolic link to /dev/adsp1

Code: Select all

echo "et.x86 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card1/pcm7p/oss
Last edited by maximus1978 on 2020-04-10 17:18, edited 2 times in total.

maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#5 Post by maximus1978 »

https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... lation.rst

You can change this device mapping via the module options of
snd-pcm-oss and snd-rawmidi. In the case of PCM, the following
options are available for snd-pcm-oss:

dsp_map
PCM device number assigned to /dev/dspX
(default = 0)
adsp_map
PCM device number assigned to /dev/adspX
(default = 1)

This worked for me.

Code: Select all

modprobe -v snd-pcm-oss adsp_map=0,7

maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#6 Post by maximus1978 »

Summary

Code: Select all

rmmod snd-pcm-oss
modprobe -v snd-pcm-oss adsp_map=0,7
rm /dev/dsp
ln -s /dev/adsp1 /dev/dsp
echo "et.x86 0 0 direct" > /proc/asound/card1/pcm7p/oss
I fluked this and it is working.
I strongly suggest reading...

https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentatio ... lation.rst

Anybody out here who wants to explain what all these steps are doing. Please welcome!!!!
I did find the url listed here very helpful.
Still confused but I got it working after 2 days.

maximus1978
Posts: 93
Joined: 2015-03-19 12:49

Re: Wolfenstein Enemy Territory - second audio card

#7 Post by maximus1978 »

Well after all this.

I tried this. :)

https://www.etlegacy.com/

and it works without having to screw around with the sound. :)

I found this all super interesting thou. :)

Post Reply