Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio [solved]

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
jimbolaya
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-09-09 16:42

ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio [solved]

#1 Post by jimbolaya »

I'm running an updated Bullseye with kernel 5.10.0-3-amd64.

I have a ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US and I would like to know if I can get the HDMI audio to work. It works in W10, so I know it can be done.

ALSA doesn't even list it as a card.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0x90810000 irq 101
29 [ThinkPadEC     ]: ThinkPad EC - ThinkPad Console Audio Control
                      ThinkPad Console Audio Control at EC reg 0x30, fw N15HT35W
I tried finding and installing all the intel firmware I could find, but it didn't seem to make much difference.
Last edited by jimbolaya on 2021-05-08 15:24, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#2 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

jimbolaya wrote:I tried finding and installing all the intel firmware I could find
What does this mean, exactly? Which packages did you install? Have you tried the firmware-misc-nonfree or firmware-sof-signed packages?

EDIT: check

Code: Select all

# dmesg | grep firmware
deadbang

jimbolaya
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-09-09 16:42

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#3 Post by jimbolaya »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Which packages did you install?
I started out with firmware-intel-sound before I resorted to getting firmware from kernel.org.
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:What does this mean, exactly?
I was chasing down messages about missing firmware. I went to https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/ke ... /tree/i915 and downloaded the intel firmware and put it in /lib/firmware.
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:Have you tried the firmware-misc-nonfree or firmware-sof-signed packages?
I have firmware-misc-nonfree. I was unaware of firmware-sof-signed.

I installed firmware-sof-signed but that still didn't load the HDMI sound interface.

Code: Select all

dmesg | grep firmware
[    0.119420] Spectre V2 : Enabling Restricted Speculation for firmware calls
[    7.531996] platform regulatory.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db
[    7.532881] platform regulatory.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware regulatory.db.p7s
[    7.659584] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware iwlwifi-7260-17.ucode
[    7.660455] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: loaded firmware version 17.3216344376.0 7260-17.ucode op_mode iwlmvm
[    7.660527] iwlwifi 0000:04:00.0: firmware: failed to load iwl-debug-yoyo.bin (-2)
[    7.660614] firmware_class: See https://wiki.debian.org/Firmware for information about missing firmware
[    9.367848] r8169 0000:05:00.0: firmware: direct-loading firmware rtl_nic/rtl8168g-3.fw
Anything else I can provide?

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#4 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Use this to check the kernel driver in use:

Code: Select all

lspci -k
If it's the snd_hda_intel module then try applying the dmic_detect=1 parameter.

For the method see https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke ... le_options
deadbang

jimbolaya
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-09-09 16:42

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#5 Post by jimbolaya »

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:If it's the snd_hda_intel module then try applying the dmic_detect=1 parameter.
I tried that, but it didn't make any difference. In any case looking at the modinfo for snd_hda_intel, it states in part

Code: Select all

dmic_detect:Allow DSP driver selection (bypass this driver) (0=off, 1=on) (default=1); deprecated, use snd-intel-dspcfg.dsp_driver option instead (bool)
There's only one option for snd-intel-dspcfg:

Code: Select all

dsp_driver:Force the DSP driver for Intel DSP (0=auto, 1=legacy, 2=SST, 3=SOF) (int)
I set it to 1, but

Code: Select all

/sys/module/snd_intel_dspcfg/parameters/dsp_driver
still says 0. I might have to fuss with the initramfs to get it to load.

User avatar
Head_on_a_Stick
Posts: 14114
Joined: 2014-06-01 17:46
Location: London, England
Has thanked: 81 times
Been thanked: 133 times

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#6 Post by Head_on_a_Stick »

Add the option under /etc/modprobe.d/ then rebuild the initramfs to include it:

Code: Select all

# update-initramfs -u -k all
deadbang

jimbolaya
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-09-09 16:42

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio

#7 Post by jimbolaya »

I finally got a chance to sit down and go through some tests.

I went through and set

Code: Select all

options snd-intel-dspcfg dsp_driver=0
to all the values available (0,1,2,3) and the only thing that happened was the "HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH" card disappeared for any setting besides "0".

I'm open to what to try next.

Thank you for your help so far.

jimbolaya
Posts: 12
Joined: 2015-09-09 16:42

Re: ThinkPad 11e,Model:20D90020US hdmi audio [solved]

#8 Post by jimbolaya »

[Solved]

The sound system here is pretty complicated. There is only one card, but it has 2 outputs.

Code: Select all

cat /proc/asound/cards 
 0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0x90810000 irq 101
29 [ThinkPadEC     ]: ThinkPad EC - ThinkPad Console Audio Control
                      ThinkPad Console Audio Control at EC reg 0x30, fw N15HT35W
But to look at the inputs, you can use:

Code: Select all

aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC3239 Analog [ALC3239 Analog]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Setting things graphically is equally confusing. I'm using Mate, but other desktops should be similar.

I assumed that looking at the inputs would show what I need to change. Instead you have to look at the hardware tab and select the profile, but only after the HDMI cable is plugged in. If you look before the cable is plugged in it doesn't show.

I'll include screenshots once I figure out how to do that.

Post Reply