HOWTO: Install X Window System and a Desktop Environment

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!
Message
Author
User avatar
AgenT
Posts: 500
Joined: 2007-01-21 01:25

#41 Post by AgenT »

aptitude update just updates your repository listing so that aptitude (and apt-get) will know what packages are available for download and upgrading.

You *must* have a valid sources.list which means having valid entries. If the installer commented them out it was because you did not have access to the internet.

The minimum sources.list is this:

Code: Select all

deb http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ etch main
deb-src http://ftp.debian.org/debian/ etch main

deb http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main
deb-src http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main

TechKnow
Posts: 3
Joined: 2007-06-06 13:30
Location: Indianapolis, IN

Onward Linux!

#42 Post by TechKnow »

Thanks for the help AgenT! After troubleshooting for awhile I finally found out that my router was not working properly which was causing most of my problems; now that I have replaced it, everything is downloading and installing great!
Also, I found a great book last night that also helped clue me in to your solution and has been great for pointing me in the right direction, Linux Administration Handbook, 2nd Ed. It also gave me the official mirror list URL http://www.debian.org/mirror/list so I have now added several mirrors close to me as well! Onward Linux! :D

Still a little foggy on the correct way to get and install OS patches and also why dig, nslookup, and host don't work; are they just not in the path by default?

I can't wait to replace my Winblows at home and probably here at work eventually! :D Thanks again!

User avatar
AgenT
Posts: 500
Joined: 2007-01-21 01:25

#43 Post by AgenT »

Debian.org has a LOT of documentation which includes 300 page manuals, most of which have packages available so that you can have copies on your hard drive.

dig, nslookup and host are all in /usr/bin/ which should be in your path by default. You may have done a "minimal" install which did not install these programs. See if nslookup is in /usr/bin/ by running:

Code: Select all

ls /usr/bin/ | grep nslookup

User avatar
Kathera Lockharte
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007-06-24 03:14

#44 Post by Kathera Lockharte »

I have burned debian onto a disc, and when I try to boot from it, it goes well untill I get to DR DOS A:\> is that normal, or is that an error that I am getting, if it does mean that it is installed, then I will do this first i will write the commandlines down so I can finish installing the desk top enviroment, so thanks for helping me out, since I am a linux newby and want to wrench control of my computer back from my virus raveged windows, since this is my main reason I am switching to linux.

User avatar
sinical
Posts: 1022
Joined: 2007-03-25 11:52

#45 Post by sinical »

DR-DOS? Something isnt right.. Which image did you download?

Try using this one. Alternatively you can use this tool to install Debian
Last edited by sinical on 2008-10-30 17:41, edited 1 time in total.
Every cloud has a silver lining, except for the mushroom shaped ones, which have a lining of Strontium 90.
---------------------------------------------
umop apisdn

User avatar
Kathera Lockharte
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007-06-24 03:14

#46 Post by Kathera Lockharte »

sinical wrote:DR-DOS? Something isnt right.. Which image did you download?

Try using this one. Alternatively you can use this tool to install Debian
wow thanks, I didn't even know you could install debian linux this way, I will write down the codes in this thread to finish downloading the desktop environment, then back everything that I want to keep up, since I already have several gnu programs so I will beable to get them for shure, then i will delete my windows for now then reinstall it if I choose to.

User avatar
Kathera Lockharte
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007-06-24 03:14

#47 Post by Kathera Lockharte »

I am wondering, has all the code that is needed been covered, or is there more, I am sure yet unsure that is all I need to get started.

User avatar
sinical
Posts: 1022
Joined: 2007-03-25 11:52

#48 Post by sinical »

Before you format, write down what video card, network card and sound card you have. Also, how do you connect to the internet?
Every cloud has a silver lining, except for the mushroom shaped ones, which have a lining of Strontium 90.
---------------------------------------------
umop apisdn

User avatar
Kathera Lockharte
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007-06-24 03:14

#49 Post by Kathera Lockharte »

sinical wrote:Before you format, write down what video card, network card and sound card you have. Also, how do you connect to the internet?
I use navidia Gforce for my video card, my audio card I think is by gigabyte, I can't remember what it is though. I will have to find the cd first because the reason for switching is also due to a few dirty installs that I made, the second one was to do a repair so I could use my mouse since I downloaded the wrong service pack by accident trying to fix my computer. oh and iff you are asking what kind of internet service I have its through bellnet, if you are asking if I am connected to a router then yes I am. If not then I don't know what you meant by how do I connect to the internet?

User avatar
sinical
Posts: 1022
Joined: 2007-03-25 11:52

#50 Post by sinical »

so long as it isnt wireless you should be fine
Every cloud has a silver lining, except for the mushroom shaped ones, which have a lining of Strontium 90.
---------------------------------------------
umop apisdn

User avatar
Kathera Lockharte
Posts: 21
Joined: 2007-06-24 03:14

#51 Post by Kathera Lockharte »

sinical wrote:so long as it isnt wireless you should be fine
thats good, we have a router that does have WiFi, but the only device I would use on it is my Nintendo DS so I can play online with it.

kasperl
Posts: 9
Joined: 2007-09-01 09:24

Re: HOWTO: Install X Window System and a Desktop Environment

#52 Post by kasperl »

Scotti wrote: 1. Install The X Window System

First, install the base X Window System GUI environment by issuing this command as root:

Code: Select all

# apt-get install xorg
i have always been using

Code: Select all

# apt-get install x-window-system-core
instead
is there any difference?

User avatar
MeanDean
Posts: 3953
Joined: 2007-09-01 01:14

#53 Post by MeanDean »

is there any difference?
less typing...

The real package now is called xorg, the other is a fake package that installs the real package.

Lou
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

#54 Post by Lou »

x-window-system-core is obsolete since the Sarge days:

luigi@debian:~$ apt-cache show x-window-system-core

Description: transitional package for Debian etch
This package is provided to smooth upgrades from Debian 3.1 ("sarge") to
Debian etch. It may be safely removed from your system. It depends on the
xorg package which is the new metapackage for installing the X Window
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid

willi23
Posts: 30
Joined: 2008-02-17 05:18
Location: w7ryt1@msn.com

Installing "X.Org"

#55 Post by willi23 »

Thanks for the reminder to be in root. I wasn't even able to log out, although I knew I always used "shutdown -h now". In root it worked again. The rest of the answer was not so sucessful. The "aptitude update" seemed to work, but the "aptitude install xorg" produced "no file". I then went to the link you included "HOW TO: Install X Window System". Anything with "xorg" in it pnoduced "no file". Other responses to other combinations were "broken package, dependent packages missing, etc,. Nothing produced any list of these packages so that I might try to correct them. Is there a way to uninstall Debian and start fresh. I have the 15 disks that came with this computer "Debian 3.1 r0a Sarge", and were supposed to be installed. Cheers. Willi

User avatar
bluesdog
Posts: 2082
Joined: 2006-02-01 09:02
Location: Similkameen, British Columbia, Canada

Re: Installing "X.Org"

#56 Post by bluesdog »

willi23 wrote:Thanks for the reminder to be in root. I wasn't even able to log out, although I knew I always used "shutdown -h now". In root it worked again. The rest of the answer was not so sucessful. The "aptitude update" seemed to work, but the "aptitude install xorg" produced "no file". I then went to the link you included "HOW TO: Install X Window System". Anything with "xorg" in it pnoduced "no file". Other responses to other combinations were "broken package, dependent packages missing, etc,. Nothing produced any list of these packages so that I might try to correct them. Is there a way to uninstall Debian and start fresh. I have the 15 disks that came with this computer "Debian 3.1 r0a Sarge", and were supposed to be installed. Cheers. Willi
Unless you have a compelling reason to install Sarge, and/or don't have a fast internet connection, it's better to install the current Etch/stable.
Even better, imo, if you have no need for absolute, rock solid stability, you could install Lenny/testing -- better for desktops, again imo.

It is possible to update your system from Sarge/oldstable to Etch/stable, and I think there's a guide somewhere on the forum, but if you're starting afresh, and have broadband, it's probably better to d/l a netinstall image of Etch, (or Lenny) and start over.

btw, if apt/aptitude isn't showing you an installation candidate for xorg, it means your /etc/apt/sources.list probably does not include appropriate repositories.
Tips & Tricks

Something more to read while waiting

If you obviously have not read THIS, don't expect too much...




*winter bluesdog....*

CoolRabbit
Posts: 10
Joined: 2008-04-03 00:09
Location: Brasil

Backed up

#57 Post by CoolRabbit »

I back it up!

Debian is a GREAT, GREAT distro, but you have to fuss too much into the manuals to get things going, it shoud of course have the full manuals, but a Newbies-HOWTO project would be AWESOME!!!

wpurcell
Posts: 8
Joined: 2008-04-05 03:05

#58 Post by wpurcell »

Good Morning! I cannot for the life of me get x started. I followed all the instructions to no avail. My message:
Fatal server error:
no screens found
XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0
after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

Any ideas? The monitor is correctly identified as an Acer AL 2423W.
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
bommeli
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-05-12 11:53
Location: Zurich - Switzerland

#59 Post by bommeli »

thx.
Last edited by bommeli on 2012-11-25 22:05, edited 1 time in total.

Barnicoate
Posts: 1
Joined: 2008-05-12 12:30

How??

#60 Post by Barnicoate »

Laptop: Compaq V6000, 1G ram, Nvidia graphics, 64AMD cpu..

Debian 4 on net install...

Install went fine.. Rebooted.. Then no nothing on screen,

Have read through forum, but I cannot see how I am to enter one or more of the suggestions if I can't see what I am typing..

Do I need to do something at boot time ????? :?:

Post Reply