dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

Desktop Environments and Multimedia
Post Reply
Message
Author
maybeway36
Posts: 19
Joined: 2008-02-10 18:52

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

#1 Post by maybeway36 »

The command

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
never asks you for your resolution or driver anymore in lenny or sid (or Ubuntu hardy.) Now I really am lost as to how to get my screen to 1024x768.
Whose idea was it to change Xorg to behave this way? Will it be changed back anytime soon?

markharding557
Posts: 41
Joined: 2008-01-19 23:42
Location: england

#2 Post by markharding557 »

you can set your resolution by editing xorg.conf.
there will be a section which contains available resolutions,put your prefered one first in the list so this should load at start up.
the file to edit is here
/etc/X11/xorg.conf

Lou
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2006-05-08 02:15

#3 Post by Lou »

maybeway36: Hey, i'm with you pal!

There was a good thread discussing this, but i can't find it.

IIRC, you should try:

# xrandr -s 1024x768

PS: i found it:
http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?t=26577
Devuan Jessie - IceWM - vimperator - no DM
KISS - Keep It Simple, Stupid

glf2818
Posts: 193
Joined: 2005-11-21 01:54
Location: Portage, Indiana

#4 Post by glf2818 »

maybeway36
Install grandr. You can easily change resolution. X is ignoring your screen mode lines now.
George

vvokong
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-05-10 14:17

#5 Post by vvokong »

i also find this problem when i reinstall lenny today, but it was ok about one week ago, there must be something wrong, i think.

now "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg" can only configure keyboard, leaving other sections empty.

my xorg.conf looks like this:

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Bulkley
Posts: 6146
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

#6 Post by Bulkley »

Lou wrote:There was a good thread discussing this, but i can't find it.
Try http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? ... highlight=

Xorg has made some changes. Documentation hasn't kept up; at least, I haven't been able to find it.

User avatar
Issyer
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

Re: dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg

#7 Post by Issyer »

maybeway36 wrote:The command

Code: Select all

dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
never asks you for your resolution or driver anymore in lenny or sid (or Ubuntu hardy.) Now I really am lost as to how to get my screen to 1024x768.
Whose idea was it to change Xorg to behave this way? Will it be changed back anytime soon?
I think, it's a bug. It happened to me with amd64. I didn't try to fix anything but Lavene said that manual editing xorg.conf should be OK.

User avatar
rickh
Posts: 3473
Joined: 2006-06-29 02:13
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA

#8 Post by rickh »

It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.
Debian-Lenny/Sid 32/64
Desktop: Generic Core 2 Duo, EVGA 680i, Nvidia
Laptop: Generic Intel SIS/AC97

User avatar
Issyer
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

#9 Post by Issyer »

rickh wrote:It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.
How can it be a feature if the fields in the xorg.conf are blank, and there's no way to edit them except manually? If it is feature, it is a weird feature.

User avatar
swirling_vortex
Posts: 633
Joined: 2007-02-16 20:30
Location: Pennsylvania

#10 Post by swirling_vortex »

Issyer wrote:
rickh wrote:It's not a bug, it's a feature, and the most cursory look thru these forums will offer plenty of discussions about it.
How can it be a feature if the fields in the xorg.conf are blank, and there's no way to edit them except manually? If it is feature, it is a weird feature.
It's supposed to be a more automated setup so that you shouldn't have to touch the xorg.conf file. However, as we're finding out, this "feature" is having some growing pains. :)

If you use the latest fglrx or nvidia driver, their xorg.conf generating tools have been adjusted to accommodate the newest version of X.

User avatar
Issyer
Posts: 3054
Joined: 2007-05-23 02:59
Location: Khakassia

#11 Post by Issyer »

swirling_vortex wrote:If you use the latest fglrx or nvidia driver, their xorg.conf generating tools have been adjusted to accommodate the newest version of X.
Sure I am using. The trick is that nvidia is unsupported on Lenny at all.

imneo
Posts: 14
Joined: 2008-05-24 14:08

Here is what you need

#12 Post by imneo »

Here is your answer:

scripts-net.com

hope it will work for you.
:roll:

Post Reply