Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!
Message
Author
User avatar
canci
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2006-09-24 11:28
Location: Bosnia & Herzegovina

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#61 Post by canci »

Is it this bug?
http://bugreports.qt.nokia.com/browse/QTBUG-4932

That has been recently solved in QT 4.7. I can confirm it works on Arch with the latest Flash Square.
I ken hez kinvulf beck? I ken hez riesnible modereyshn? Kthnxbai!

No need to discuss this topic? Offended by this signature? Remove it:
Mez wrote:You can easily just disable viewing signatures

Click here - and set "Display Signatures" to No

User avatar
dbbolton
Posts: 2133
Joined: 2007-06-20 08:17
Location: Iapetus

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#62 Post by dbbolton »

Did Adobe remove the 64 bit version again or am I missing something? http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html

All I see is
Download plug-in for 32-bit Linux (TAR.GZ, 4.7 MB)
Download plug-in debug for 32-bit Linux (TAR.GZ, 5.1 MB)

Also, some of the packages mentioned in the OP don't seem to exist anymore:

Code: Select all

No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libnss3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libcurl3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libnss3
No candidate version found for ia32-libs-libcurl3
I'm pretty sure my sources are right, and I've updated

Code: Select all

deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main non-free contrib
deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ squeeze main non-free contrib

deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
#deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib

deb ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ experimental main non-free contrib
#deb-src ftp://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ experimental main non-free contrib

# unofficial stuff

deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org squeeze main non-free
deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main non-free

deb http://liquorix.net/debian sid main
GitHub | zsh docs in Letter PDF
Telemachus wrote:Put down the CGI.

eric1959
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#63 Post by eric1959 »

Last edited by eric1959 on 2011-02-14 11:25, edited 2 times in total.
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330

User avatar
dbbolton
Posts: 2133
Joined: 2007-06-20 08:17
Location: Iapetus

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#64 Post by dbbolton »

Thanks
GitHub | zsh docs in Letter PDF
Telemachus wrote:Put down the CGI.

danny0085
Posts: 2
Joined: 2008-04-04 05:30

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#65 Post by danny0085 »

I use this stand-alone flash player for linux . It worked for me. It has advanced features such as full screen mode and playlists

geazzy
Posts: 27
Joined: 2011-07-02 05:39

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#66 Post by geazzy »

danny0085 wrote:I use this stand-alone flash player for linux . It worked for me. It has advanced features such as full screen mode and playlists
congratulations bro :)

se7en11
Posts: 14
Joined: 2011-04-04 07:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#67 Post by se7en11 »

Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.

sej7278
Posts: 225
Joined: 2011-06-11 17:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#68 Post by sej7278 »

se7en11 wrote:Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.
download it, copy libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/

eric1959
Posts: 1299
Joined: 2008-12-15 13:17
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#69 Post by eric1959 »

When using flashplugin-nonfree just do the following as root :

Code: Select all

/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install
http://debian-bits-and-snips.blogspot.c ... -beta.html
Debian Bits And Snips
Squeeze, Gnome, amd64, Intel Core i3-530, Geforce GT330

se7en11
Posts: 14
Joined: 2011-04-04 07:03

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#70 Post by se7en11 »

update-flashplugin-nonfree --install worked fine.
Thanks

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#71 Post by phenest »

sej7278 wrote:
se7en11 wrote:Today, Adobe Releases Flash Player 11 Beta (64bit Too)

Is there a way to get the new version in debian? all I found was a howto for *buntu.
download it, copy libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib/flashplugin-nonfree/
Follow my signature, and add my repository. Flashplayer 11 RC1 is in there. That is, if you want it all packaged up.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12408
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#72 Post by stevepusser »

Caisyy wrote:Hi,

This links reports a method to get Flash to work in 64 bit browsers.

How to Get Adobe Flash for 64 bit Browsers
http://www.ehow.com/how_4670030_adobe-f ... wsers.html

-------------------------------------------
Flash Player support on 64-bit operating systems 10-21-2009 none present
http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/000/6b3af6c9.html

Generally you need to run 32 bit IE to use Flash Player.

Hope this helps and Happy Holidays!
Run IE-32 bit on my 64-bit Linux? Ain't gonna happen, "Caisyy"--plus what's up with the Happy Holidays crap? You sure behave like a spambot!
MX Linux packager and developer

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#73 Post by phenest »

As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
Tadeas
Posts: 1017
Joined: 2008-09-22 09:11
Location: Prague
Contact:

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#74 Post by Tadeas »

phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.
Wow, a whole day without a crash!! Pretty good by Adobe standards.

Anyway, I've tried it and haven't noticed any problems.. ( Pretty good by Adobe standards. :) )
Because let’s face it, the unfortunate aspect of software development is that it involves humans. Mewling, disorganized, miserably analog humans. Sometimes they smell bad.

User avatar
stevepusser
Posts: 12408
Joined: 2009-10-06 05:53
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#75 Post by stevepusser »

Currently 64-bit updates to " LNX 11,0,1,152" using the Debian flashplugin-nonfree package and the updater command:

Code: Select all

su -c  '/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install --verbose'
MX Linux packager and developer

mauserrifle
Posts: 7
Joined: 2009-09-04 16:56

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#76 Post by mauserrifle »

phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.
Installed it and so far no issues. With 10 my whole system lost its sound after a while... Thanks for this package!

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#77 Post by phenest »

stevepusser wrote:Currently 64-bit updates to " LNX 11,0,1,152" using the Debian flashplugin-nonfree package and the updater command:

Code: Select all

su -c  '/usr/sbin/update-flashplugin-nonfree --install --verbose'
Interestingly, version 11 has a preferences applet for Gnome (& KDE I think) with an update feature which simply opens a browser to their site. Not sure what happens if a new version is available. Probably just downloads another tarball I suppose.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#78 Post by phenest »

mauserrifle wrote:
phenest wrote:As of 3rd October, Adobe released version 11 of Flash Player, with improved 64bit support. I'm using it successfully in Chrome and have not seen it crash yet.

Again, this is available in my repo (follow the link in my signature). Any problems PM me.
Installed it and so far no issues. With 10 my whole system lost its sound after a while... Thanks for this package!
You're welcome.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

Nlock
Posts: 5
Joined: 2011-10-13 14:37

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#79 Post by Nlock »

I could only get flash working when I moved the libflashplayer.so to /usr/lib64/iceweasel/plugins

mv libflashplayer.so /usr/lib64/iceweasel/plugins

milomak
Posts: 2085
Joined: 2009-06-09 22:20

Re: Howto get Adobe Flash working in 64bit

#80 Post by milomak »

the latest flashplugin-nonfree has a tendency to crash on youtube on my computer (sid)
Desktop: A320M-A PRO MAX, AMD Ryzen 5 3600, GALAX GeForce RTX™ 2060 Super EX (1-Click OC) - Sid, Win10, Arch Linux, Gentoo, Solus
Laptop: Lenovo ideapad Y700-15ISK - Sid, Win10, Solus
Kodi: AMD Athlon 5150 APU w/Radeon HD 8400 - Sid

Post Reply