HOWTO Requests

Share your own howto's etc. Not for support questions!
Message
Author
Drewlong
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-04-30 07:54
Location: Cambridge UK

Could use a How To for installing Internet Explorer

#81 Post by Drewlong »

I have just started designing web sites, nothing fancy, but I have already run into a bunch of CSS related problems with IE and would like to test my sites with IE, just as I do with Firefox, prior to publication.
I need to find a way to run IE on linux, I have no preference for virtual machines / emulators or wine type applications - NO Dual Boot... but do need something that works. From my reading so far I cant find a solid recommendation or preferred method. What I have found is a bunch of people who managed to get it wrong for some reason ... could really use your help so I get it right.

Thank you

paivakil
Posts: 434
Joined: 2009-02-15 11:57

Re: Could use a How To for installing Internet Explorer

#82 Post by paivakil »

Drewlong wrote:I need to find a way to run IE on linux, I have no preference for virtual machines / emulators or wine type applications - NO Dual Boot....
I do not see why you cannot use wine. It is a pure emulator - one application running within another. Oh well, your choice.

So, try this -

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/1419
It's not the software that's free; it's you.

Drewlong
Posts: 4
Joined: 2010-04-30 07:54
Location: Cambridge UK

Re: HOWTO Requests

#83 Post by Drewlong »

Thanks Palvakil, I will give wine a go. It wasn't a happy app on ubuntu but here's hoping it will be better on Debian.
FYI the mozilla plugin doesn't work on linux which is kind of disappointing as it looked interesting. :D

User avatar
craigevil
Posts: 5257
Joined: 2006-09-17 03:17
Location: Oz
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Could use a How To for installing Internet Explorer

#84 Post by craigevil »

Drewlong wrote:I have just started designing web sites, nothing fancy, but I have already run into a bunch of CSS related problems with IE and would like to test my sites with IE, just as I do with Firefox, prior to publication.
I need to find a way to run IE on linux, I have no preference for virtual machines / emulators or wine type applications - NO Dual Boot... but do need something that works. From my reading so far I cant find a solid recommendation or preferred method. What I have found is a bunch of people who managed to get it wrong for some reason ... could really use your help so I get it right.

Thank you
IEs4Linux - http://www.tatanka.com.br/ies4linux/page/Main_Page

IE is also a simple install if you are using Crossover Office.

IE in a virtual machine would be best, IE doesn't act the same on Linux as it does in windows.
Raspberry PI 400 Distro: Raspberry Pi OS (Unstable) Kernel: 5.10.52-v8+ aarch64 DE: MATE Ram 4GB
Debian - "If you can't apt install something, it isn't useful or doesn't exist"

User avatar
bugsbunny
Posts: 5355
Joined: 2008-07-06 17:04

Re: HOWTO Requests

#85 Post by bugsbunny »

If you want IE7/8 you really need a virtual machine solution at this point in time. IEs4linux works fine for IE6. Virtual machine I recommend Virtualbox.

mrucker967
Posts: 1
Joined: 2011-01-17 09:21

Re: HOWTO Requests

#86 Post by mrucker967 »

Looking for some advice on installing Debian to a Verotronics BKG1000 6.99" mini-Netbook. It currently has Windows CE embedded, ARM926-AK7 processor with USB and SD card.

Thanks in advance!

Mike

User avatar
canci
Posts: 1705
Joined: 2006-09-24 11:28
Location: Bosnia & Herzegovina

Re: HOWTO Requests

#87 Post by canci »

mrucker967 wrote:Looking for some advice on installing Debian to a Verotronics BKG1000 6.99" mini-Netbook. It currently has Windows CE embedded, ARM926-AK7 processor with USB and SD card.

Thanks in advance!

Mike
While you're waiting for a howto, you could also take a look at this.
I ken hez kinvulf beck? I ken hez riesnible modereyshn? Kthnxbai!

No need to discuss this topic? Offended by this signature? Remove it:
Mez wrote:You can easily just disable viewing signatures

Click here - and set "Display Signatures" to No

Green420thumB
Posts: 73
Joined: 2008-04-26 23:38

Re: HOWTO Requests

#88 Post by Green420thumB »

Im looking for a how-to to create a local apt repository, with all the available apt commands.

Ive been through the documentation, and it is telling me that it it an outdated document.
just a revision on the documentation would be great.

[Edit]
OK, ive found the new documentation in the wiki.
01000111011100100110010101100101011011100011010000110010001100000111010001101000011101010110110101000010
Registered Linux User #472115

axujen
Posts: 10
Joined: 2011-08-25 18:45

Re: HOWTO Requests

#89 Post by axujen »

anyone can make a howto setup a home network ? without a router just using a cat5 cable and connect two machines together to share files/connection.
i can setup my system without any problems but when it comes to networking i am a COMPLETE noob and i would really like to hook my desktop with laptop to sync files.

Ibidem
Posts: 160
Joined: 2010-12-24 18:28

Re: HOWTO Requests

#90 Post by Ibidem »

axujen wrote:anyone can make a howto setup a home network ? without a router just using a cat5 cable and connect two machines together to share files/connection.
i can setup my system without any problems but when it comes to networking i am a COMPLETE noob and i would really like to hook my desktop with laptop to sync files.
(Half-)done: http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=78866
This tells how to set up the laptop as a "wireless bridge", which is what I presume you mean by "share connection".
I did that a while back, took notes, and noticed that there is no single howto that puts everything together. I'd been looking for an excuse to put it online for some time.
After doing that, I used scp to copy files between the two, but there are other options.
Thinkpad X100e/Debian Squeeze (All reposiories enabled)/Linux 3.4.11:
1GB RAM/1.6GHz Neo X2/ATI HD 3200/RTL8191SEVA2 wlan0, RTL8169 eth0

Ibidem
Posts: 160
Joined: 2010-12-24 18:28

Re: HOWTO Requests

#91 Post by Ibidem »

canci wrote:
mrucker967 wrote:Looking for some advice on installing Debian to a Verotronics BKG1000 6.99" mini-Netbook. It currently has Windows CE embedded, ARM926-AK7 processor with USB and SD card.
While you're waiting for a howto, you could also take a look at this.
FTFY-the link was broken
Thinkpad X100e/Debian Squeeze (All reposiories enabled)/Linux 3.4.11:
1GB RAM/1.6GHz Neo X2/ATI HD 3200/RTL8191SEVA2 wlan0, RTL8169 eth0

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: HOWTO Requests

#92 Post by phenest »

How to create a Mixed Mode CD?

On second thoughts, don't. I discovered it's an out-dated non-standard idea. I can mount them, so that's enough.
Last edited by phenest on 2012-06-24 20:07, edited 1 time in total.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

User avatar
HungGarTiger
Posts: 92
Joined: 2011-12-29 07:20
Location: 广东,中国

Re: HOWTO Requests

#93 Post by HungGarTiger »

Please do a how to on getting Dvd's to work under squeeze

User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
Posts: 262
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: HOWTO Requests

#94 Post by PsySc0rpi0n »

I would appreciate very much one How To to install propiretary ATI drivers for Jessie where requirements and dependencies and all commands and possible errors were stated...
Cheers

User avatar
bw123
Posts: 3788
Joined: 2011-05-09 06:02

Re: HOWTO Requests

#95 Post by bw123 »

how to get them to not give up on free software

cynwulf
Posts: 2396
Joined: 2008-09-25 08:49

Re: HOWTO Requests

#96 Post by cynwulf »

PsySc0rpi0n wrote:I would appreciate very much one How To to install propiretary ATI drivers for Jessie where requirements and dependencies and all commands and possible errors were stated...
Cheers
https://wiki.debian.org/ATIProprietary

Though if you are in need of such a guide, you probably shouldn't be running testing...

User avatar
PsySc0rpi0n
Posts: 262
Joined: 2012-10-24 13:54
Location: Portugal

Re: HOWTO Requests

#97 Post by PsySc0rpi0n »

I have already see that one but there is no Jessie instructions. And i need instructions for hybrid graphics. I have an Intel and an ATI card...
I'm sorry, I didn't mentioned that my case was an hybrid graphics case!
In the meantime I've created a thread in the forum about my case...

I needed an How To on how to setup my Debian to be able to control both graphics or to switch on the ATI card whenever I want because i'm going to work with Bricscad that needs some serious power processing from gpu...

User avatar
phenest
Posts: 1704
Joined: 2010-03-09 09:38
Location: The Matrix

Re: HOWTO Requests

#98 Post by phenest »

Ignore this.
Last edited by phenest on 2016-09-13 16:37, edited 1 time in total.
ASRock H77 Pro4-M i7 3770K - 32GB RAM - Pioneer BDR-209D

Bulkley
Posts: 6146
Joined: 2006-02-11 18:35

Re: HOWTO Requests

#99 Post by Bulkley »

phenest wrote:I have a laptop with mobile broadband built-in. I have successfully shared the internet connection with a tower via ethernet but this means having ethernet cables trailing across the floor. Is it possible to share the internet to the tower via a router, so the laptop is connected to the router via wi-fi and the tower connected to the router via ethernet?
Start here.

ckilmer75
Posts: 3
Joined: 2017-02-01 18:32

Re: HOWTO Requests

#100 Post by ckilmer75 »

Hi,

If someone has the time, I'm trying to figure out how to write a script that will change my desktop background through a determined progression and NOT random. Every script I've come across in my search randomly selects the image. I'd also like to be able to set the time between changes, and for the image to be centered on the screen and unscaled.

My end goal is to have my background show a slowly aging portrait. I've taken numerous screenshots at different points of a video where the subject is aging rapidly, which is why I need the change to not be random. The images are numbered beginning with "1".

If it matters, I'm doing this in Raspbian via the Pixel desktop.

I appreciate the help.

Post Reply