Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Software] Screen Resolution issues

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Post Reply
Message
Author
aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

[Software] Screen Resolution issues

#1 Post by aboongm »

Hi,
I am using HP Prodesk 400 G4 SFF computer and a LG LED TV as a monitor. I am dual booting the system with Windows 10 and Debian 11. On Windows 10, I have recommended screen resolution of 1366x768 by default after installing Intel HD graphics 630 driver.

On Debian 11 display settings, I can only see two resolutions viz 1024x768 and 800x600. How do i enable 1366x768 resolution on Debian OS. The screen is also shifted right I guess by about 3/4".

User avatar
kent_dorfman766
Posts: 535
Joined: 2022-12-16 06:34
Location: socialist states of america
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#2 Post by kent_dorfman766 »

lookup mode timings under xorg.conf online documentation.

xserver config file is edited to contain a list of valid modes based on the dotclock of the gpu and the monitor capabilities: resolution and refresh rates.

I'm telling you the old-school methods...and what is done "under the hood". You'll learn more if you research and understand how/why it works this way.

aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#3 Post by aboongm »

kent_dorfman766 wrote: 2023-03-14 04:17 lookup mode timings under xorg.conf online documentation.

xserver config file is edited to contain a list of valid modes based on the dotclock of the gpu and the monitor capabilities: resolution and refresh rates.

I'm telling you the old-school methods...and what is done "under the hood". You'll learn more if you research and understand how/why it works this way.
I am looking at this discussion - https://askubuntu.com/questions/1023275 ... -conf-file

and now generated a xorg.conf.new file using 'Xorg -configure'. Here is the generated code along with some more addition for 1366x768 resolution -

Code: Select all

$ cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/xorg.conf.new 
[i][size=85]Section "ServerLayout"
	Identifier     "X.org Configured"
	Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
	InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
	InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
	ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
	FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
	FontPath     "built-ins"
EndSection

Section "Module"
	Load  "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Keyboard0"
	Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
	Identifier  "Mouse0"
	Driver      "mouse"
	Option	    "Protocol" "auto"
	Option	    "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
	Option	    "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
	Identifier   "Monitor0"
	VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
	ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
        ### <percent>: "<f>%"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "Accel"              	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "AccelMethod"        	# <str>
        #Option     "Backlight"          	# <str>
        #Option     "CustomEDID"         	# <str>
        #Option     "DRI"                	# <str>
        #Option     "Present"            	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "ColorKey"           	# <i>
        #Option     "VideoKey"           	# <i>
        #Option     "Tiling"             	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "LinearFramebuffer"  	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "HWRotation"         	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "VSync"              	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "PageFlip"           	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "SwapbuffersWait"    	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "TripleBuffer"       	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "XvPreferOverlay"    	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "HotPlug"            	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "ReprobeOutputs"     	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "XvMC"               	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "ZaphodHeads"        	# <str>
        #Option     "VirtualHeads"       	# <i>
        #Option     "TearFree"           	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "PerCrtcPixmaps"     	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "FallbackDebug"      	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "DebugFlushBatches"  	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "DebugFlushCaches"   	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "DebugWait"          	# [<bool>]
        #Option     "BufferCache"        	# [<bool>]
	Identifier  "Card0"
	Driver      "intel"
	BusID       "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
	Identifier "Screen0"
	Device     "Card0"
	Monitor    "Monitor0"
	SubSection "Display"
		Modes "1366x768"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth    24
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     1
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     4
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     8
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     15
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     16
	EndSubSection
	SubSection "Display"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth     24
	EndSubSection
EndSection[/size][/i]
I have add this portion -

Code: Select all

       [i][size=85] SubSection "Display"
		Modes "1366x768"
		Viewport   0 0
		Depth    24
	EndSubSection[/size][/i]
But sadly after 'service gdm restart', I didn't see any new resolution in the display settings.
Last edited by aboongm on 2023-03-23 10:57, edited 1 time in total.

CynicalDebian
Posts: 263
Joined: 2023-03-02 05:26
Location: USA
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#4 Post by CynicalDebian »

Xorg.conf is unnecessary, you should try to configure manually with xrandr first. In theory xorg.conf is deprecated, you should never need to use it.


Are you using an adapter? What type of display cable are you using? All of these things are important.

Code: Select all

$xrandr
Will give you a list of resolutions, if yours is not listed, we can try to add one manually.

OUTPUT is the output you are using, it will be something like HDMI-0 or DP-0

If it is listed, you can just run

Code: Select all

$xrandr --output OUTPUT --mode 1368x768 
If not listed, let's try to add one.
We can get the modeline for "1368x768"

Code: Select all

$cvt 1368 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

$xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

$xrandr --addmode OUTPUT 1368x768_60.00

$xrandr --output OUTPUT --mode "1368x768_60.00"
We may get errors on some of these steps. You should post them if necessary.
Be seeing you...

User avatar
kent_dorfman766
Posts: 535
Joined: 2022-12-16 06:34
Location: socialist states of america
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#5 Post by kent_dorfman766 »

CynicalDebian wrote: 2023-03-17 04:47 In theory xorg.conf is deprecated, you should never need to use it.
LOL!

And that attitude is why when you call a product support line you get some toad in asia who types your question into a knowledge search system instead of being capable of actually helping you.

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2638
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#6 Post by CwF »

kent_dorfman766 wrote: 2023-03-17 20:10 LOL!
No, no, no, cut that out.
the xorg.conf.new from 'Xorg -configure' is a reasonable way to query what xorg is seeing. An active xorg.conf (not.new) is generally not needed. Hint files at /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/ or /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/ can declare specifics without a verbose xorg.conf. Only flaws in detection and ambiguous choices need specifics. Auto detection is the goal and xorg.conf never needed.

@CynicalDebian advice using xrandr is a correct way to add the new Modeline needed.

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 462 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#7 Post by sunrat »

kent_dorfman766 wrote: 2023-03-17 20:10
CynicalDebian wrote: 2023-03-17 04:47 In theory xorg.conf is deprecated, you should never need to use it.
LOL!

And that attitude is why when you call a product support line you get some toad in asia who types your question into a knowledge search system instead of being capable of actually helping you.
This is the second unhelpful reply I have seen from you today. This is a support forum, not your personal soapbox.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

User avatar
kent_dorfman766
Posts: 535
Joined: 2022-12-16 06:34
Location: socialist states of america
Has thanked: 57 times
Been thanked: 70 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#8 Post by kent_dorfman766 »

This is the second unhelpful reply I have seen from you today.
Unhelpful to you maybe, but if I can steer one person into understanding that there is power in real knowledge and understanding of how things work...How many linux admin are working today who don't even know how to use a shell?

CynicalDebian
Posts: 263
Joined: 2023-03-02 05:26
Location: USA
Has thanked: 50 times
Been thanked: 60 times
Contact:

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#9 Post by CynicalDebian »

there is power in real knowledge and understanding of how things work...

From Xorg(1)
Xorg has a mechanism for automatically generating a built-in configuration at run-time when no xorg.conf file or xorg.conf.d files are present.
The current version of this automatic configuration mechanism works in two ways.

The first is via enhancements that have made many components of the xorg.conf file optional. This means that information that can be probed or
reasonably deduced doesn't need to be specified explicitly, greatly reducing the amount of built-in configuration information that needs to be generated at run-time.

The second is to have "safe" fallbacks for most configuration information. This maximises the likelihood that the Xorg server will start up in
some usable configuration even when information about the specific hardware is not available.
Be seeing you...

aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#10 Post by aboongm »

CynicalDebian wrote: 2023-03-17 04:47 Xorg.conf is unnecessary, you should try to configure manually with xrandr first. In theory xorg.conf is deprecated, you should never need to use it.


Are you using an adapter? What type of display cable are you using? All of these things are important.

Code: Select all

$xrandr
Will give you a list of resolutions, if yours is not listed, we can try to add one manually.

OUTPUT is the output you are using, it will be something like HDMI-0 or DP-0

If it is listed, you can just run

Code: Select all

$xrandr --output OUTPUT --mode 1368x768 
If not listed, let's try to add one.
We can get the modeline for "1368x768"

Code: Select all

$cvt 1368 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

$xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync

$xrandr --addmode OUTPUT 1368x768_60.00

$xrandr --output OUTPUT --mode "1368x768_60.00"
We may get errors on some of these steps. You should post them if necessary.
I have tried using xrandr earlier but it was not working.

Now, I m trying it again using the steps you give. Check this out -

Code: Select all

abgm@abgm:~$ cvt 1366 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
abgm@abgm:~$ xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
abgm@abgm:~$ xrandr --addmode OUTPUT 1368x768_60.00
xrandr: cannot find output "OUTPUT"
abgm@abgm:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 16 x 16, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
XWAYLAND0 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      59.92*+
  1368x768_60.00 (0x558) 85.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1368 start 1440 end 1576 total 1784 skew    0 clock  47.79KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  781 total  798           clock  59.88Hz
abgm@abgm:~$ xrandr --addmode XWAYLAND0 1368x768_60.00
abgm@abgm:~$ xrandr --output XWAYLAND0 --mode "1368x768_00.00"
xrandr: cannot find mode 1368x768_00.00
abgm@abgm:~$ 

CwF
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2638
Joined: 2018-06-20 15:16
Location: Colorado
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 192 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#11 Post by CwF »

aboongm wrote: 2023-03-18 15:40 Check this out -
close...
the cvt and -newmode are correct.
then we're off the rails..
include the name of the display as VGA-1, Virtual-0, DV-1 whatever, maybe XWAYLAND0 actually is the display name, I wouldn't know.
Do not include the refresh part in "1368x768_00.00" only 1368x768
...and you typed _00.00 and not _60.00

Code: Select all

$ xrandr --output XWAYLAND0 --mode 1368x768
I think...

aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#12 Post by aboongm »

CwF wrote: 2023-03-18 16:39 close...
the cvt and -newmode are correct.
then we're off the rails..
include the name of the display as VGA-1, Virtual-0, DV-1 whatever, maybe XWAYLAND0 actually is the display name, I wouldn't know.
Do not include the refresh part in "1368x768_00.00" only 1368x768
...and you typed _00.00 and not _60.00

Code: Select all

$ xrandr --output XWAYLAND0 --mode 1368x768
I think...
You are correct about the the xrandr --output mistake. I m trying it again.
here is the snapshot of what happens in terminal.

Code: Select all

$ cvt 1366 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
$ xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 16 x 16, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
XWAYLAND0 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      59.92*+
  1368x768_60.00 (0x558) 85.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1368 start 1440 end 1576 total 1784 skew    0 clock  47.79KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  781 total  798           clock  59.88Hz
$ xrandr --addmode XWAYLAND0 1368x768_60.00
$ xrandr --output XWAYLAND0 --mode 1368x768_60.00
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
abgmabngmabngm:~$ 
There are some more errors you might want to know probably. Its related with libdrm.

Code: Select all

$ sudo apt-get upgrade
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
Reading state information... Done
Calculating upgrade... Done
The following packages have been kept back:
  libdrm-amdgpu1 libdrm-intel1 libdrm-nouveau2 libdrm-radeon1 libdrm2 libegl-mesa0 libgbm1 libgl1-mesa-dri libglapi-mesa libglx-mesa0
  libxatracker2 mesa-va-drivers mesa-vdpau-drivers mesa-vulkan-drivers
The following packages will be upgraded:
  libdrm-common
1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 14 not upgraded.
Need to get 7,558 B of archives.
After this operation, 1,024 B disk space will be freed.
Do you want to continue? [Y/n] y
Get:1 http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu lunar/main amd64 libdrm-common all 2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l [7,558 B]
Fetched 7,558 B in 1s (10.4 kB/s)        
dpkg-deb: error: archive '/var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb' uses unknown compression for member 'control.tar.zst', giving up
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/share/apt-listchanges/DebianFiles.py", line 124, in readdeb
    output = subprocess.check_output(command)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/subprocess.py", line 424, in check_output
    return run(*popenargs, stdout=PIPE, timeout=timeout, check=True,
  File "/usr/lib/python3.9/subprocess.py", line 528, in run
    raise CalledProcessError(retcode, process.args,
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['dpkg-deb', '-f', '/var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb', 'Package', 'Source', 'Version', 'Architecture', 'Status']' returned non-zero exit status 2.

The above exception was the direct cause of the following exception:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/apt-listchanges", line 323, in <module>
    main(config)
  File "/usr/bin/apt-listchanges", line 104, in main
    pkg = DebianFiles.Package(deb)
  File "/usr/share/apt-listchanges/DebianFiles.py", line 358, in __init__
    parser.readdeb(self.path)
  File "/usr/share/apt-listchanges/DebianFiles.py", line 127, in readdeb
    raise RuntimeError(_("Error processing '%(what)s': %(errmsg)s") %
RuntimeError: Error processing '/var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb': Command '['dpkg-deb', '-f', '/var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb', 'Package', 'Source', 'Version', 'Architecture', 'Status']' returned non-zero exit status 2.
dpkg-deb: error: archive '/var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb' uses unknown compression for member 'control.tar.zst', giving up
dpkg: error processing archive /var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb (--unpack):
 dpkg-deb --control subprocess returned error exit status 2
Errors were encountered while processing:
 /var/cache/apt/archives/libdrm-common_2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l_all.deb
E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)


User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 462 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#13 Post by sunrat »

Why is this PPA active?

Code: Select all

Get:1 http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu lunar/main amd64 libdrm-common all 2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l [7,558 B]
There's no way it will be compatible with Debian Bullseye. Bullseye's dpkg doesn't even support the new zstd compression now used in Ubuntu. Even if it did, the package would not be compatible with other packages from Debian repos.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

User avatar
Bloom
df -h | grep > 90TiB
df -h | grep > 90TiB
Posts: 504
Joined: 2017-11-11 12:23
Been thanked: 26 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#14 Post by Bloom »

Code: Select all

sudo apt install zstd
This will install zstd in Debian and allow for zstd compressed packages to be processed correctly.
That being said, please do not install Ubuntu packages into Debian. Chances are it will not work and you end up with a so-called FrankenDebian system.

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6412
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 116 times
Been thanked: 462 times

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#15 Post by sunrat »

Bloom wrote: 2023-03-20 11:03

Code: Select all

sudo apt install zstd
This will install zstd in Debian and allow for zstd compressed packages to be processed correctly.
Nope. It's dpkg in Bullseye which doesn't support zstd, not the lack of zstd itself. Apparently it is supported in Bookworm and Sid. See - https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... 892664#144
That being said, please do not install Ubuntu packages into Debian. Chances are it will not work and you end up with a so-called FrankenDebian system.
Yes. Don't do it. Remove that PPA. libdrm-common is available from Debian repos.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#16 Post by aboongm »

sunrat wrote: 2023-03-20 10:53 Why is this PPA active?

Code: Select all

Get:1 http://ppa.launchpad.net/oibaf/graphics-drivers/ubuntu lunar/main amd64 libdrm-common all 2.4.115+git2303180500.d1681a~oibaf~l [7,558 B]
There's no way it will be compatible with Debian Bullseye. Bullseye's dpkg doesn't even support the new zstd compression now used in Ubuntu. Even if it did, the package would not be compatible with other packages from Debian repos.
I have intel HD Graphics 630. My understanding is with this graphics card, I should be having 1366x768 and other resolutions on the display setting like there are on the windows 10. My system is dual booted with debian 11 and windows 10.

As i didn't see the resolutions, i tried first using xrandr and it didn't work.

Code: Select all

$ cvt 1366 768
# 1368x768 59.88 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.79 kHz; pclk: 85.25 MHz
Modeline "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
$ xrandr --newmode "1368x768_60.00"   85.25  1368 1440 1576 1784  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 16 x 16, current 1024 x 768, maximum 32767 x 32767
XWAYLAND0 connected primary 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      59.92*+
  1368x768_60.00 (0x558) 85.250MHz -HSync +VSync
        h: width  1368 start 1440 end 1576 total 1784 skew    0 clock  47.79KHz
        v: height  768 start  771 end  781 total  798           clock  59.88Hz
$ xrandr --addmode XWAYLAND0 1368x768_60.00
$ xrandr --output XWAYLAND0 --mode 1368x768_60.00
xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed
looks like

Code: Select all

 xrandr: Configure crtc 0 failed 
is related with the graphics driver.

So i tried to install oibaf graphics drivers from some article but turns out its incompatible. Now I have removed it. Then I tried xorg conf as was discussed earlier. But that also didn't work.

here is what i get for graphics card.

Code: Select all

$ lspci -vnn | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation HD Graphics 630 [8086:5912] (rev 04) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])


aboongm
Posts: 6
Joined: 2023-03-14 03:16
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] Screen Resolution issues

#17 Post by aboongm »

Bloom wrote: 2023-03-20 11:03

Code: Select all

sudo apt install zstd
This will install zstd in Debian and allow for zstd compressed packages to be processed correctly.
That being said, please do not install Ubuntu packages into Debian. Chances are it will not work and you end up with a so-called FrankenDebian system.
Its been removed. I have intel HD Graphics 630. My suspicion is the error is related with the graphics drivers.

Post Reply