Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Solved] [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

Programming languages, Coding, Executables, Package Creation, and Scripting.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

[Solved] [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#1 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

Hi There
I need GMP program for My own application , In the manual of GMP its making by GNU make is :

./configure
make

When I enter ./configure it works right and creates some files in the gmp folder in Home but when I enter make in Terminal it says there's no make file ; Here's the error :

Code: Select all

make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
And actually there's no make file in the folder ( cmake or GNU make specification file )

I will be very grateful if You guide Me to how to compile and make GMP
Last edited by Hadi_Lovelorn on 2024-02-24 03:34, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
ruwolf
Posts: 643
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Banovce nad Bebravou
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#2 Post by ruwolf »

Why do you not use Debian package of GMP?

Aki
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2979
Joined: 2014-07-20 18:12
Location: Europe
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#3 Post by Aki »

Moved to "Programming" sub-forum.
⢀⣴⠾⠻⢶⣦⠀
⣾⠁⢠⠒⠀⣿⡁ Debian - The universal operating system
⢿⡄⠘⠷⠚⠋⠀ https://www.debian.org
⠈⠳⣄⠀

Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#4 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

ruwolf wrote: 2024-02-20 18:38 Why do you not use Debian package of GMP?
Hello , libgmp10 is installed by default in Debian 12 Bookworm . But it's not available in GCC .... I tested GNU GMP's own example ( primes.c ) by :

Code: Select all

sudo gcc -o primes primes.c -lgmp
[sudo] password for lovelorn: 
primes.c:53:10: fatal error: gmp.h: No such file or directory
   53 | #include "gmp.h"
      |          ^~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
I tried by <gmp.h> as it's not true either , But same error happened and also I want to compile My application as Cross-Platform

User avatar
ruwolf
Posts: 643
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Banovce nad Bebravou
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#5 Post by ruwolf »

BTW: Do not use sudo for compiling.
Yes, libgmp10 is library of GMP installed by default, because it is used by other required packages.
For your own compiling, you also need header files for it, which are in libgmp-dev package.

Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#6 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

ruwolf wrote: 2024-02-21 01:09 BTW: Do not use sudo for compiling.
Yes, libgmp10 is library of GMP installed by default, because it is used by other required packages.
For your own compiling, you also need header files for it, which are in libgmp-dev package.
Yes , Now it recognize gmp.h ....... But what about if I want to compile as Cross-Platform ?

Thanks for Your help

User avatar
ruwolf
Posts: 643
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Banovce nad Bebravou
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#7 Post by ruwolf »

Which Cross-Platform? Debian with different CPU family or also another operating system?
Has configuration ended without any error?

Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#8 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

ruwolf wrote: 2024-02-21 03:18 Which Cross-Platform? Debian with different CPU family or also another operating system?
Has configuration ended without any error?
Yes , Other architectures and OSes

When I would compile and make GMP ; Yes , configuration ended without any error

User avatar
ruwolf
Posts: 643
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Banovce nad Bebravou
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#9 Post by ruwolf »

I have tried to build GMP from original sources, but I have got error, because missing command (m4 macro processor).
I recommend to install these packages (you probably have already installed some of them):

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install bison gcc m4 make
Then try to run configuration and make again.
Last edited by ruwolf on 2024-02-24 22:16, edited 1 time in total.

Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#10 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

I just get error of GNU make that : no make file found

User avatar
ruwolf
Posts: 643
Joined: 2008-02-18 05:04
Location: Banovce nad Bebravou
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 30 times

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#11 Post by ruwolf »

It is strange, because I cannot reproduce such error.
And again no error during configuration?
And no error during archive extraction?
Did you check it by GnuPG signature?

Hadi_Lovelorn
Posts: 54
Joined: 2022-05-02 23:12
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Software] GNU make can't make GMP

#12 Post by Hadi_Lovelorn »

ruwolf wrote: 2024-02-23 19:00 It is strange, because I cannot reproduce such error.
And again no error during configuration?
And no error during archive extraction?
Did you check it by GnuPG signature?
Thank You , Sir .... I installed "bison" and GNU make , made the program

Thank You

Post Reply