Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[Feature] Inline code markup

Code of conduct, suggestions, and information on forums.debian.net.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
/usr/
Posts: 18
Joined: 2022-12-17 14:50
Been thanked: 1 time

[Feature] Inline code markup

#1 Post by /usr/ »

This BB-code creates a new line:

Code: Select all

[code]
Would be ace to have an inline alternative, e.g. [c], similar to `` in markdown.

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6479
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 474 times

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#2 Post by sunrat »

I don't understand what you are asking. Please explain more.

If you are asking for changes to the forum markup code, that would be a request for the phpBB forum software developers.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

User avatar
/usr/
Posts: 18
Joined: 2022-12-17 14:50
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#3 Post by /usr/ »

sunrat wrote: 2024-03-17 11:46 I don't understand what you are asking. Please explain more.

If you are asking for changes to the forum markup code, that would be a request for the phpBB forum software developers.
A way to delineate a code block without creating a new line. Say I want to include a short snippet here:

Code: Select all

echo "Hello World!"
[ code ] BB-code tag effectively adds \n before the code.

rotero
Posts: 4
Joined: 2024-04-01 18:46

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#4 Post by rotero »

I'm new to the forum and was just searching for the correct tags for inline code. Apparently, you need to add a customization to have an inline code tag in phpBB: Inline BBCode [c][/c]

Augie77
Posts: 49
Joined: 2024-03-23 04:05
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#5 Post by Augie77 »

Yep, I think this would be a good idea. It has always bugged me (on another site) that when mentioning a command, encased in the standard

Code: Select all

 command 
there was a new line added and the sentence continued on actually a third line.

When really all I wanted to do was to use the command in a contiguous sentence, encased so as not to cause a problem.

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6479
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 118 times
Been thanked: 474 times

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#6 Post by sunrat »

You got it! Send my fee to sunrat@theinternet.org . :mrgreen:

command here Voilà code inline.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

Augie77
Posts: 49
Joined: 2024-03-23 04:05
Has thanked: 14 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: [Feature] Inline code markup

#7 Post by Augie77 »

Thank you sir, that is appreciated.

Post Reply