What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

Need help with peripherals or devices?
Post Reply
Message
Author
sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#1 Post by sam71623 »

I intend to buy below for setting up Debian CLI server.

Intel i5-14500,
32GB DDR5 5600 MT/s (MHz) RAM,
Samsung 990 PRO NVMe SSD,
ASUS ROG Strix B760-I Gaming WiFi ITX motherboard with on-board Intel WiFi, Intel Ethernet and Intel video so it is all Intel parts and should have mature drivers?

https://linux-hardware.org/?id=board:as ... i-rev-1-xx

New to Linux but long time computer worker.

AI chat suggest these stress software. I know 2 and 5. Any advises for the others?

Should I setup the stress software, says run xxx minutes and idle for says, yyy minutes because cooling is 'normal' (instead of very good). I plan to get an Mini-ITX case of 4.2 litres size, Intel original CPU fan and one chassis fan.

1. **Stress-ng**: This is a versatile tool to stress test various system components such as CPU, memory, disk, and I/O. You can simulate high loads and detect potential hardware issues.

2. **MemTest86**: This program is commonly used to test memory for errors. It's effective in catching faulty RAM modules that could cause system instability.

3. **Prime95**: Originally a program for searching prime numbers, it's now widely used as a burn-in tool to test CPU stability under heavy workload.

4. **Phoronix Test Suite**: This is a comprehensive benchmarking platform that offers a wide range of tests for different hardware components, including CPU, memory, and storage devices.

5. **SMART Monitoring Tools**: These tools can help you monitor and analyze the health of your storage devices, providing warnings of potential failures before they happen through Self-Monitoring, Analysis, and Reporting Technology.

Many thanks

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#2 Post by arzgi »

You seem to have done your home work quite well. Your specs also are quite impressive.

smartd is good to have to any user.

My perhaps only concers would be the small case, so I would install lm-sensors, and run sensors to see tempetures.

Code: Select all

arto@dell:~$ sensors
coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Package id 0:  +50.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 0:        +49.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)
Core 1:        +49.0°C  (high = +100.0°C, crit = +100.0°C)

acpitz-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
temp1:        +25.0°C  (crit = +107.0°C)

dell_smm-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Processor Fan:    0 RPM  (min =    0 RPM, max = 5500 RPM)
CPU:            +50.0°C  
Ambient:        +39.0°C  
SODIMM:         +38.0°C  

BAT0-acpi-0
Adapter: ACPI interface
in0:           7.73 V  
curr1:       826.00 mA 

Maybe tie up cables to make the air flow better. If there is room, maybe another fan if needed.

jebez
Posts: 127
Joined: 2024-07-01 15:21
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#3 Post by jebez »

Code: Select all

apt search server stress
& Synaptic Package Manager, Search "server stress": I found netstress, packetsender, tsung & wbox (I don't tested them).
Retired of Debian, I'm on Arch Linux btw

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#4 Post by sam71623 »

arzgi wrote: 2025-01-13 16:50 concers would be the small case
Thanks. The machine is a bit on big size since I am starting new to Linux. Likely, a small one can do as Linux CLI server use far less CPU that Windows with GUI.

Thanks for good idea. I can take conservation step of not buying the case.

Have the kit assembled in cardboard box, run, test temperature, add fans and figure out how much fans needed before buying a suitable sized real case.

Text-book says generally 10 Celsius rise double failure rate.

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#5 Post by arzgi »

sam71623 wrote: 2025-01-14 12:36
Have the kit assembled in cardboard box, run, test temperature, add fans and figure out how much fans needed before buying a suitable sized real case.

Text-book says generally 10 Celsius rise double failure rate.
That of course depends on the load. pwm-guided processor fan should rotate faster in those situtiations, noise can be disturbing. I usually change the boxed processor fan to more capable.

Computer cases, depengin of the size, usually have one or two fans, and some idea how the air should flow.

You have not told what will you do with your server, does it really need heavy testing before?

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#6 Post by arzgi »

jebez wrote: 2025-01-13 17:05

Code: Select all

apt search server stress
& Synaptic Package Manager, Search "server stress": I found netstress, packetsender, tsung & wbox (I don't tested them).

Code: Select all

arto@dell:~$ aptitude search stress-ng
p   stress-ng                   - tool to load and stress a computer  
arto@dell:~$ aptitude search memtest
p   memtest86+                  - thorough real-mode memory tester    
p   memtester                   - Utility for testing the memory subsy
arto@dell:~$ 

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#7 Post by sam71623 »

arzgi wrote: 2025-01-14 12:43 does it really need heavy testing before?
Not really. It is my Linux learning computer. So, would like to learn step-by-step. It is self DIY assembly, instead of factory made and have been tested by factory, I would like to test it somewhat.

Mem test is in BIOS and it is there to use.

For CPU (calculation), may be I can use some as suggested, like calculating Prime number to nnn digits. Also, may pickup some from Computer Expalined youtuber on his many tests.

For NVMe IO, I am yet to pick a test software.

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#8 Post by arzgi »

I dont know any tests designed to measure nvme, my experience it is just faster. You could use just general linux disk test.

@Hallvor showed this:

Code: Select all

dd if=/dev/zero of=/tmp/output.img bs=8k count=256k conv=fdatasync; rm -rf /tmp/output.img

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#9 Post by sam71623 »

arzgi wrote: 2025-01-14 12:43 I usually change the boxed processor fan to more capable.
(Pin of CPU facing Earth's down/centre). Any idea of a better fan that is low profile and air flow in vertical axis, blowing air downward toward the CPU.

For big "standard sized" case, I have seen using fan that blow "horizontally" and they are great for i7, i9 high power cpu. Only i5 in small box in my present setup.

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#10 Post by arzgi »

Oh, there are many after market processor fan makers. when searching just use your processor family. I usually require ball/roll bearings, and the fan fits to my case. Those bearings them selves cut noise, but I check anyway the noise fans produce. If it is not told, change shop.

There are also low profile fans, which meat my requirements.

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#11 Post by sam71623 »

Sorry not on hardware forum. May be slightly off topic. Any idea on what size power supply I should get?

I checked Samsung SSD is 10 watts from their web. Crucial web says RAM generally 10 watts.

Intel CPU is 65 watts TDP and peak 150 watts. Any idea on motherboard? Fan may be 8 watts each.

Intel B760 is 6 watts https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en ... tions.html May be 20 watts for motherboard, plus 10 w ssd, plus 10 w RAM, plus 150w for CPU, plus 24 w for 3 fans. Total 220 watts.

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#12 Post by arzgi »

I don't think you find any PSU's ander 500 W.

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#13 Post by sam71623 »

yes, true. Those are for standard mainstream PC, ATX and M-ATX sizes.

The Flex size power supply is not mainstream, cannot buy from shops normally, and is smaller to fit the industry standard Mini-ITX small size casing

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#14 Post by arzgi »

https://www.mini-itx.com has also smaller PSUs. 250 W was the highest I found at glance.

sam71623
Posts: 52
Joined: 2024-11-10 15:31
Has thanked: 32 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#15 Post by sam71623 »

This case is 7 litres. Apparently easier to cool than my previous eyed 4 litres. SilverStone-ML06B-Mini-ITX

Seem it is "commonly" recommended to use power supply of double wattage (550 watts) of the actual hardware (2xx watts).

arzgi
Posts: 1775
Joined: 2008-02-21 17:03
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 103 times

Re: What software to exercise new server to see if it runs without error

#16 Post by arzgi »

Don't know where do you get these assumptions, for example cpus nowadays use less power than decade ago.

Gpus go to other way :o

In history, when athlon processors came, many had to replace their PSUs. But that have not been an issue recent years. Good to have to some reserve still, your usecase my change.

Post Reply