Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Debian 11 Bullseye 8m30 secs to boot up (old BIOS)

If none of the specific sub-forums seem right for your thread, ask here.
TW8

Debian 11 Bullseye 8m30 secs to boot up (old BIOS)

#1 Post by TW8 »

This is my first post and sorry to say I've come begging bowl in hand. I have been running Debian 8 on a Tranquil PC SQA-5H for several years without problem but decided it was *well* overdue an OS update so I installed Debian 11 as a fresh install.
The Tranquil is an old machine with an old BIOS :
Sil 3124 SATALink BIOS version 6.6.00 by Silicon Image Inc
Atom 330 (2×1.6GHz) Dual Core processor
Slow by modern standards but still good enough to function as a backup device.

Booting from Debian 8 takes 1m47s :
00s Power on
10s BIOS message
20s GRUB select menu
22s Loading Linux 3.16.0-11-amd64
23s Loading initial RAMDISK
47s .. and it starts load systemd stuff after that, ready to go about a minute after.

When i first tried Deb 11 it took 17 minutes to boot, but I followed the instructions I found here :
https://www.linuxquestions.org/question ... 175658085/
to reduce the size of initrd.img-5.10.0-18-amd64. That brought boot time down to 8m30s with a reduction in file size from 45Mb to 15Mb :

0m00s Power on
0m10s BIOS message
0m15s Grub loading / Welcome to GRUB!
0m57s Blank screen
1m05s GRUB select menu splash
1m18s Splash + Loading Linux 5.10.0-18-amd64
3m12s Splash + Loading initial RAMDISK
7m30s then it starts to load system file and takes around a minute

As you see, the majority of the time is shared between loading GRUB, the Linux image and RAMDISK so I presume (perhaps wrongly) this is something to to with BIOS?