Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[Solved] Stuck at GRUB command line

New to Debian (Or Linux in general)? Ask your questions here!
DebianNewbie

[Solved] Stuck at GRUB command line

#1 Post by DebianNewbie »

I'm stuck at GRUB command line - GNU GRUB version 2.06-3~deb11u2.

Several days ago I installed Ubuntu 22.04 on my hp2000 (AMD processor). Prior to that I installed Debian (Lxqt), then thought I needed Ubuntu. However, I'm realizing I was mistaken and Debian will work just fine. Anyway, no my computer is getting stuck at the "GNU GRUB version 2.06-3~deb11u2" screen. I've spent quite a few hours over the last several days trying to resolve this, but as a newbie I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed with all the information and "help" articles. Any advice would be much appreciated.
Last edited by DebianNewbie on 2022-11-29 10:35, edited 1 time in total.

sunrat
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Stuck at GRUB command line

#2 Post by sunrat »

@DebianNewbie I moved this post to a new topic for you. To create a new topic, go to the appropriate subforum and click on the "New Topic" box.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

DebianNewbie

#3 Post by DebianNewbie »

@sunrat Many thanks!

p.H
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

#4 Post by p.H »

Please describe precisely what you did.
When you installed Ubuntu, did you use all the disk space and overwrite Debian ?
Then did you reinstall Debian ?
How do you boot ? Do you let the BIOS/UEFI firmware boot with the default option or do you select Debian in the boot menu ?

DebianNewbie

#5 Post by DebianNewbie »