Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

Should I contribute?

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
MiracleDinner

Should I contribute?

#1 Post by MiracleDinner »

I've been using Debian for a few months now and noticed that there are some software, including some FOSS software, that are unavailable in Debian repositories. I have been thinking, what if I could save other people the hassle I had to go through, by making the software readily available in the repositories? But I'm unsure how much of a commitment that would be, because I am at university and I could not afford several hours a week to be maintaining packages. What things should I consider if I am deciding whether or not I should contribute? Are there any particular skills I need to have? How many hours per week would it require from me?

cds60601
df -h | participant
df -h | participant

Re: Should I contribute?

#2 Post by cds60601 »

If you are interested in maintaining packages or adding new ones, this is a perfect place to begin the understanding of what it takes and some guidelines to follow: https://www.debian.org/devel/

And particularly this one: https://www.debian.org/doc/manuals/debmake-doc/

And for a list of packages to consider adopting and or helping with: https://www.debian.org/devel/wnpp/

Years ago, I was much the same boat as you. I went through the process of adopting some small packages and gaining a Mentor.
The short of it is this, depending on your programming knowledge, start off by adopting small packages to get the feel on how the process flow is.