Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

GRUB boot loader fails to install with a RAID1 partition

Ask for help with issues regarding the Installations of the Debian O/S.
GratefulBird

GRUB boot loader fails to install with a RAID1 partition

#1 Post by GratefulBird »

Thank you for taking the time to look at this issue. I'm new to Debian and want to install it on a desktop machine with two Samsung SSDs, each 2T, which I want to have mirrored, RAID1.

I have followed the tutorial steps in this video: 'Debian 11 on mdadm Raid1 with Recovering.' https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e7jdxRat-qs

The instruction in the video around 11:00 shows that the boot partition should be an EXT4 file system. However, if I don't make the RAID partition for booting an EFI partition, I get this error: "No EFI partition found. Go back to the menu and resume partitioning?" So I went back and made the boot partition EFI.

Now I get a different error message on a red background: "Installation step failed. You can try to run the failing item again from the menu or skip it and choose something else. The failing step is: Install the GRUB boot loader.

Something that may be relevant: I didn't have this EFI error or GRUB boot install failure while I still had a third SSD installed that had Windows on it. That was the SSD that came with this machine. I installed the two larger identical 2T SSDs in addition to that original one. I removed that smaller SSD with Windows to simplify the boot process in case one of the SSDs fails.

Please view the attached image to see the partition and RAID setup that causes this GRUB boot loader error.