Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

[SID - Unstable] nvidia 340.108+Qt 5.15.8 = Segmentation fault

- - ALL UNSTABLE / TESTING THREADS SHOULD BE POSTED HERE - -
This sub-forum is the dedicated area for the ongoing Unstable/Testing releases of Debian. Advanced, or Experienced User support only. Use the software, give, and take advice with caution.
Message
Author
deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

[SID - Unstable] nvidia 340.108+Qt 5.15.8 = Segmentation fault

#1 Post by deepforest »

Hello Free People! :)
Here very strange situation.

Fresh install Debian Sid, XFCE4, nvidia proprietary driver 340.108 from Sid repo(maybe this proprietary driver have bug?)
c2d, gf9800gtx, 4gb ram, hdd

after installing qtbase5-dev, qtmultimedia5-dev, qttools5-dev i have segfault at all Qt software

Now when i try start any Qt software almost all give here Segmentation fault

Example Doomseeker, it crashes at start, BUT! working good through

Code: Select all

gdb ./doomseeker
strace ./doomseeker
Same is with Qbittorrent
https://imgur.com/a/SYgqHZD

and 2048-Qt
https://imgur.com/SUefK7P

Only one Qt application starting normally - CMake GUI

Segmentation fault

Code: Select all

#include <QApplication>
int main(int argc, char **argv)
{
  QApplication app(argc, argv);
  return 0;
}
Please, can you give answer why it happens? :roll:
And if its possible solve this?

UPD
nvidia leagacy 340.108 drive broke Qt
viewtopic.php?p=767606#p767606
UPD2
bug report and Fedora
viewtopic.php?p=768912#p768912
UPD3
temporary fix
viewtopic.php?p=769302#p769302
Last edited by deepforest on 2023-03-08 18:29, edited 13 times in total.

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6382
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 115 times
Been thanked: 456 times

Re: [Software] Debian Sid, all Qt software give Segmentation fault at launch

#2 Post by sunrat »

Moved to Sid/Testing subforum.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#3 Post by deepforest »

any ideas?

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#4 Post by wizard10000 »

The screenshots you posted aren't visible right now so kinda hard to diagnose.
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#5 Post by deepforest »

new links at first post

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#6 Post by wizard10000 »

Are you using a Qt theme that's not available in Debian? The reason I ask is that the non-Debian theme may not support newer Qt headers.

edit: If you are using a non-Debian theme can you try temporarily switching to a supported theme and see if the problem goes away?
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#7 Post by deepforest »

what themes? i am do not install any special qt software, except depencies needed for doomseeker.

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#8 Post by wizard10000 »

I think it's doomseeker dependencies that are causing the issue. doomseeker depends on qt5-qttools-devel and qt5-qtmultimedia-devel and I think these development libraries may be causing issues.

Can you *temporarily* remove those two packages (this will break doomseeker but they can be reinstalled) and see if the problem goes away? If this resolves the issue then we've found the problem.

edit: Proper troubleshooting would probably be to remove the packages one at a time and test between removals to determine which package is causing the issue - and then it'd be pretty amazing for you to file a bug report against the package causing the issues.

Hope this helps -
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#9 Post by deepforest »

Thanks you. Cant now check. Sorry.
But doomseeker developer reported that all working good at his PC with Debian Sid it also have installed all Qt dev tools. I am ask him.

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#10 Post by wizard10000 »

Sounds like a plan. Good luck!
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#11 Post by wizard10000 »

@deepforest - the two packages we mentioned - qt5-qttools-devel and qt5-qtmultimedia-devel are no longer available in Sid.
i looked for them this morning after an update and they're not in Sid repos any more - my guess is there was a problem since I saw both of them in Sid yesterday.

Your doomseeker dev is maintaining an app for three different platforms and since Qt was updated fairly recently maybe you and the dev aren't running the same version of these dev libraries. Might be worth checking.

cheers -
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#12 Post by deepforest »

update first post

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#13 Post by deepforest »

I see here no true specialists that can say what that and how solve that?

User avatar
wizard10000
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 551
Joined: 2019-04-16 23:15
Location: southeastern us
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 85 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#14 Post by wizard10000 »

deepforest wrote: 2023-02-05 22:33I see here no true specialists that can say what that and how solve that?
Did you test either of the dev libraries as suggested?
we see things not as they are, but as we are.
-- anais nin

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#15 Post by deepforest »

Reinstall Sid.

Before i am install deps needed for building Doomseeker, all Qt soft works fine. But after installing qtbase5-dev, qtmultimedia5-dev, qttools5-dev again have segfault.

https://pastebin.com/raw/KtzYvmJA

Now i remove and purge qtbase5-dev, qtmultimedia5-dev, qttools5-dev but all Qt soft still give me SegFault

How restore my Sid?

Why qtbase5-dev, qtmultimedia5-dev, qttools5-dev broke system?

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#16 Post by deepforest »

Found source of problem SegFault with Qt

Problem is in legacy nvidia driver 340.108 for my videocard

Install fresh Debian Sid

install qtbase5-dev qtmultimedia5-dev qttools5-dev and 2048-qt on NOUVEAU
ALL Qt soft Works and 2048-qt too!

But!
after installing legacy nvidia driver 340.108 - 2048-qt gives SegFault

BUT!
After purging nvidia driver 340.108 - 2048-qt and others Qt software WORKING AGAIN! :)

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#17 Post by deepforest »

bug report
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... ug=1031489

Fedora 37 + 340.108 + Qt 5.15.8 = ALL QT WORKING GOOD
https://i.imgur.com/8Sma9pM.png
So its Debian issue?

User avatar
sunrat
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 6382
Joined: 2006-08-29 09:12
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Has thanked: 115 times
Been thanked: 456 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] All Qt GUI software give Segmentation fault at launch

#18 Post by sunrat »

deepforest wrote: 2023-03-02 19:50 bug report
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo ... ug=1031489
...
So its Debian issue?
Bug is marked upstream, wontfix which means the maintainers believe it's not a Debian issue.
You said it happened after you installed doomseeker which is also not a Debian package, so that makes it lower priority also.
I can't see it getting fixed for Debian especially as you are the only person reporting the bug.
“ computer users can be divided into 2 categories:
Those who have lost data
...and those who have not lost data YET ”
Remember to BACKUP!

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] nvidia 340.108+Qt 5.15.8 = Segmentation fault

#19 Post by deepforest »

but why all working at Fedora at same soft combination?
qt devs says that is not their issue.
if its eol nvidia driver issue, why debian devs cant make a patch?

deepforest
Posts: 32
Joined: 2022-03-18 20:16
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: [SID - Unstable] nvidia 340.108+Qt 5.15.8 = Segmentation fault

#20 Post by deepforest »

deepforest wrote: 2023-03-03 04:52 but why all working at Fedora at same soft combination?
qt devs says that is not their issue.
if its eol nvidia driver issue, why debian devs cant make a patch?
i see here no specialists about this question?
why debian devs do not whant fix that?

Post Reply