Debian12 + PipeWire + ALSA + PulseAudio + A/V Receiver = lol wut?

Graphical Environments, Managers, Multimedia & Desktop questions.
Psycho_Punk

Debian12 + PipeWire + ALSA + PulseAudio + A/V Receiver = lol wut?

#1 Post by Psycho_Punk »

ello world, it is I, Psycho_Punk. This time with you will be beautiful.

I'm not new to the penguin. The penguin and I go back more than a decade. That said, I also don't think I'm a greybeard by any stretch of the imagination.

I'm hoping to attact "bodacious penguins". Those that wouldn't mind addressing Linux issues, Linux-based surround system issues (uh huh- I'm willing to bet the firmware on a majority of A/V Receivers is Linux), and general computing issues.

It's a long one, but I want you to have too much information, than too little. I respect your time!

I am a musician. I make music. I use a Behringer USB DAC for my studio-side of things.

I am a music enthusiast. I listen to lots of music. I play my playlists through VLC and occassionally Clementine.

The Behringer DAC has a nice set of studio-quality headphones jacked in.

The PC we're talking about is cabled via HDMI to the TV. The HDMI port on the TV that the PC uses is HDMI1.

The signal chain for is as follows:
HDMI_cable_a goes from PC's GFX (Graphics) --> Panny A/V 5.1 Receiver on jack "BD/DVD Player IN".
HDMI_cable_b goes from Panny A/V 5.1 Receiver on jack "Out" --> TV (HDMI1 port on the back of the TV). So, we have 2x "good quality, but absolutely not the best quality" HDMI cables in this setup.

I have, indeed, a 5.1 surround sound system. It worked fine with Deb12LTS until a few weeks ago. Then, with all the issues and strange happenings with my Debian12 system (the one we're talking about), I decided it was time to wipe everything, and give btrfs subvolumes a try, in a multi-boot system. That was last Sunday. Welp... I can't even get things right with Debian12, so I haven't gone further with the multi-boot.