Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

[Discussion] Debian Audio System

Here you can discuss every aspect of Debian. Note: not for support requests!
PlagueSpale

[Discussion] Debian Audio System

#1 Post by PlagueSpale »

Hello all, I'm fairly new to Debian (and Linux in whole) and I'm quite interested in "what makes a system", i.e how system works, how are processes connected in Linux systems...
I've been reading official debian.org documentation and noticed that it specifies that from Debian 8.0, PulseAudio is pre-installed on most installations, which in my case, in the last 3 different Debian installations was incorrect (had some issues with storage thus having to install system multiple times not including laptop device).

Now my question is why is the official documentation is not up to date?
I feel let down for exploring the manual outside of normal scope. Now I am doubting whether what I read is relevant or not. What other source is there that I can trust?

And I'm still left wondering what audio system is currently working on my system.

Installation image was downloaded from the official site

FreewheelinFrank
Global Moderator
Global Moderator

Re: [Discussion] Debian Audio System

#2 Post by FreewheelinFrank »

You are correct: the page needs updating. Pipewire is now the default with Gnome. I think this is the page you were referring to:

https://wiki.debian.org/PulseAudio?high ... und%5Cb%29

As a Debian user you can contribute to keeping the Wiki up to date by pointing out where it needs an update.
Your feedback is welcome:

Feel free to register an account, login and edit the wiki yourself.