Scheduled Maintenance: We are aware of an issue with Google, AOL, and Yahoo services as email providers which are blocking new registrations. We are trying to fix the issue and we have several internal and external support tickets in process to resolve the issue. Please see: viewtopic.php?t=158230

 

 

 

Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

Linux Kernel, Network, and Services configuration.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Doudou9
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-03-07 15:41
Has thanked: 1 time

Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#1 Post by Doudou9 »

Hello all,

I want to access to 2 networks with the same ethernet cable.
The first network is a standard one (no VLAN, DHCP).
The second one is using the VLAN 999 and a static address.

- I've disabled UFW (just in case).
- IPV6 is disabled

- I've setup /etc/network/interfaces.d/dock.conf as follow

Code: Select all

# VLAN 999
auto dock1.999
iface dock1.999 inet static
    address 192.168.99.41
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    vlan-raw-device dock1
- the IP A command seems to work great:

Code: Select all

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: dock1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ... brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.103/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global dynamic noprefixroute dock1
       valid_lft 84948sec preferred_lft 84948sec
3: enp2s0f0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ... brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
4: wwan0: <POINTOPOINT,NOARP> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 1000
    link/none 
5: wlp3s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN group default qlen 4096
    link/ether ... brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff permaddr 8c:3b:4a:41:89:6c
6: dock1.999@dock1: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc noqueue state UP group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ... brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.99.41/24 brd 192.168.99.255 scope global dock1.999
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
- The route seems to be OK also :

Code: Select all

ip route show
default via 192.168.1.1 dev dock1 proto dhcp src 192.168.1.103 metric 100 
169.254.0.0/16 dev dock1 scope link metric 1000 
192.168.1.0/24 dev dock1 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.1.103 metric 100 
192.168.99.0/24 dev dock1.999 proto kernel scope link src 192.168.99.41 
- Everything works great with the default network (no VLAN)

-> For VLAN 999, ping and curl works great when I'm trying to access 192.168.99.254
But on Librewolf, Chromium, Midori ... I can't access the host ! It's always searching and nothing happen :-(

Could you please help me understanding what I'm doing wrong please ?
Thanks in advance

Aki
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2979
Joined: 2014-07-20 18:12
Location: Europe
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#2 Post by Aki »

Hello,
Doudou9 wrote: 2024-03-07 15:54 [..]
-> For VLAN 999, ping and curl works great when I'm trying to access 192.168.99.254
But on Librewolf, Chromium, Midori ... I can't access the host ! It's always searching and nothing happen :-(
What is the content of the curl.log and lynx.log generated by the following commands (the lynx program need to be installed) ?

Code: Select all

curl -v --stderr curl.log 192.168.99.254
script -c "lynx -accept_all_cookies -verbose -trace -mime_header -dump 192.168.99.254" lynx.log
You can report logs in one the following ways:
  • attaching the logs to a follow-up forum message as a compressed zip or gz file
  • paste logs into the body of a follow-up message between code tags (if they fit the size of a forum message)
--
note: please, use code tags to include commands and/or their logs in the body of a message. I modified it for you in your previous post.
⢀⣴⠾⠻⢶⣦⠀
⣾⠁⢠⠒⠀⣿⡁ Debian - The universal operating system
⢿⡄⠘⠷⠚⠋⠀ https://www.debian.org
⠈⠳⣄⠀

Doudou9
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-03-07 15:41
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#3 Post by Doudou9 »

Thanks for your help and your advise.

Here is the curl.log

Code: Select all

*   Trying 192.168.99.254:80...
* Connected to 192.168.99.254 (192.168.99.254) port 80 (#0)
> GET / HTTP/1.1
> Host: 192.168.99.254
> User-Agent: curl/7.88.1
> Accept: */*
> 
< HTTP/1.1 200 OK
< Content-Type: text/html
< Accept-Ranges: bytes
< Last-Modified: Fri, 29 Sep 2023 16:42:53 GMT
< X-Frame-Options: SAMEORIGIN
< X-Content-Type-Options: nosniff
< Content-Security-Policy: default-src 'self';script-src 'self' 'unsafe-inline' 'unsafe-eval' *.netgear.com;font-src 'self' data:;style-src 'self' 'unsafe-inline'
< Strict-Transport-Security: max-age=86400; includeSubdomains
< Content-Length: 733
< Date: Sun, 01 Jan 2023 11:59:01 GMT
< 
{ [733 bytes data]
* Connection #0 to host 192.168.99.254 left intact
And here is the lynx.log

Code: Select all

Script démarré sur 2024-03-08 19:41:30+01:00 [COMMAND="lynx -accept_all_cookies -verbose -trace -mime_header -dump 192.168.99.254" TERM="xterm-256color" TTY="/dev/pts/1" COLUMNS="120" LINES="40"]
parse_arg(arg_name=-mime_header, mask=1, count=4)
parse_arg lookup(mime_header)
...skip (mask 1/4)
parse_arg(arg_name=-dump, mask=1, count=5)
parse_arg lookup(dump)
parse_arg(arg_name=192.168.99.254, mask=1, count=6)
parse_arg startfile:192.168.99.254
The '-mime_header' switch is for http URLs and cannot be used for
'192.168.99.254'.

Script terminé sur 2024-03-08 19:41:30+01:00 [COMMAND_EXIT_CODE="1"]

Aki
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2979
Joined: 2014-07-20 18:12
Location: Europe
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#4 Post by Aki »

Hello,

What about the following command ?

Code: Select all

lynx -accept_all_cookies -verbose -trace -dump 192.168.99.254
⢀⣴⠾⠻⢶⣦⠀
⣾⠁⢠⠒⠀⣿⡁ Debian - The universal operating system
⢿⡄⠘⠷⠚⠋⠀ https://www.debian.org
⠈⠳⣄⠀

Doudou9
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-03-07 15:41
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#5 Post by Doudou9 »

here it is :

Code: Select all

parse_arg(arg_name=-dump, mask=1, count=4)
parse_arg lookup(dump)
parse_arg(arg_name=192.168.99.254, mask=1, count=5)
parse_arg startfile:192.168.99.254

friendlysalmon88
Posts: 50
Joined: 2023-12-08 16:48
Location: Seattle,Wa USA
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#6 Post by friendlysalmon88 »

The OP could really avoid a lot of their problems by purchasing anot NIC preferable an inbtel as the Linux kernel developers and INTEL work in close concert with each other in a similar arrangement to the way that the AMD and Linux development teams work together on maintaining Open source video drivers for most if not all of AMD's GPUs.

Doudou9
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-03-07 15:41
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#7 Post by Doudou9 »

Yes, It's what I'm doing now. But the goal is to use these networks also this with the WIFI later, so I can access both "secure" and "public" network from everywhere in my house.

Doudou9
Posts: 5
Joined: 2024-03-07 15:41
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#8 Post by Doudou9 »

OK. I don't understand why but I got it working !
If I use the configuration with the ethernet port of my laptop (Lenovo P16S gen 2 with AMD proc). everything works !
But the same configuration using my Docking station (Lenovo USB A+C docking station), it doesn't work !
So I don't know if there is any hardware limitation ... but my config works.
So if anyone has an idea to explain why it doesn't work with the Docking station , you're welcome ! :-)

For your information, the docking station is connected to the laptop using only a USB-C cable.

Aki
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
Posts: 2979
Joined: 2014-07-20 18:12
Location: Europe
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 407 times

Re: Network and Route OK but Internet browser KO

#9 Post by Aki »

Hello,
Doudou9 wrote: 2024-03-09 14:19 OK. I don't understand why but I got it working !
If I use the configuration with the ethernet port of my laptop (Lenovo P16S gen 2 with AMD proc). everything works !
But the same configuration using my Docking station (Lenovo USB A+C docking station), it doesn't work !
So I don't know if there is any hardware limitation ... but my config works.
So if anyone has an idea to explain why it doesn't work with the Docking station , you're welcome ! :-)

For your information, the docking station is connected to the laptop using only a USB-C cable.
For both configurations (working and not working), it would be interesting to look at:
  • description of the service(s) available on the working/not working ip address / hostname
  • the different configurations files
  • the ip address (or the hostname) whose local http server you can/cannot access (I suppose you mean "working" and "not working")
  • the output of the following commands (SERVER is the ip address or hostname of the http server you want to test); the output will be stored in the file named script.log:

    Code: Select all

    script script.log
    ip address
    ip route
    curl -v  IP_ADDRESS 
    wget --debug IP_ADDRESS 
    exit
    
  • Is the SERVER ip address/ hostname referring to your same computer or is running on a different computer ?
  • manufacturer and model of the docking station
Hope this helps.
⢀⣴⠾⠻⢶⣦⠀
⣾⠁⢠⠒⠀⣿⡁ Debian - The universal operating system
⢿⡄⠘⠷⠚⠋⠀ https://www.debian.org
⠈⠳⣄⠀

Post Reply